We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ozcan Hotel Turunc, Turkey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oz-can Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oz-can Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oz-can Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Cad.No:30, Turunc 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Turunc
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ozcan Hotel Turunc, Turkey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The resort was lovely, not too crowded or busy & lots to do if you wanted to. Beach small but great, views of the bay & surrounding area was spectacular!! Locals very friendly & nice generally. BUT OUR HOTEL the Ozcan Hotel ... we were booked into the main hotel as per the booking photos but we were put into the annexe first, which was very basic in every way. Our balcony was not only at the back but the whole of the space was filled with the top of a huge tree which hung over onto our balcony. We complained & then they tried to move us to sum apartment which were even worse - very tatty & in a back street by refuse area. Our arrival day was Fri & so we contacted our rep & he came & got a promise that we would be moved to the main hotel Mon as there was no space. On Sat I cut my toe badly in the pool Jacuzzi & we were instantly moved into the main hotel - amazing. The food was average but the seating area was overcrowded with guest from all three accommodations: Main hotel, annexe & apartments. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must go to this Hotel you want the hotel by the pool & sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    35
    29
    57
See reviews for
40
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Just came back on the 28th of May ,great location hotel what a joke main hotel looked realy nice but we were taken out of the main building and dragged around the village at 3.30 in the morning and dumped in to what they called self contained suits well all I can say is never ever let them take you out of the main hotel the only thing that our so called suit had going for it that the cleaner was very good clean towels and bedding when asked for and they were cleaned every day as long as you remembered to put your card on the door we where all inclusive only tried the food once and the drink was realy bad but don't let the ozcan put you off turunc is a great place find a different hotel and you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIRN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been to Turkey 28 times, inclusing my trip to OZ CAN in Turunc. We laughed from start to finish... many folk moaned but were ALWAYS at Breakfast/Lunch /Dinner. The meals and hotel got better the longer we were there... gearing up for the season. We were there from 19-31 May and everything was good. Yes folk moaned about the drink... but some always ended up drunk so alcohol must have been in the so called 'watered drinks' :) Food is ... suprise suprise TURKISH!!!!.... and a majority is mezzee therefore... served COLD. We has a good relaxing holiday, we also just went and got clean towels every few days from the cupboard.. the bedding was changed weekly.. SAME as home.. I DO NOT change my sheets 3 times a week at home and never every day? Yes the rooms were dated, bit shabby and could be cleaner, Charlotte and I used a dirty towel and dusted the 4 pieces of furniture down and cleaned over our bathroom using wipes in just 10 minutes... sorted! It was a cheap holiday, could not fault what we got for the money, £485 for 2 weeks AI from Aberdeen with 25 kgs + 5kgs hand luggage and transfers; We got room 112 just off to the right of main hotel block with Reception but after speaking to Murat got moved to the Restaurant/beach side the following days. Just be nice, don't argue and shout abuse, as some did; IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT... you don't have to stay there - there are loads of alternatives in the village to stay at, eat and drink. We had a couple of cheap n cheerful meals out and one night we brought in Kebabs for us all.. oh yes and apple pie from the local bakers, at back of resort; Nice staff, polite and helpful management and GREAT FELLOW TRAVELLERS FOR COMPANY!! Yes I would go back to Turunc, and to the Oz Can but fancy giving the new Thomas Cooks 4* apartments a try... all in all I GOT WHAT I PAID FOR and it was getting much better when we left, the season had kicked in!!! MURAT is a STAR and his female assistant...BOTH VERY HELPFUL Just sleep on it your first night/day then sort stuff out when you are not tired/hungry and cranky!! :)

Room Tip: The rooms are best on top floors, front, in Main block.. all seemed OK in Apartment Blocks, about 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We arrived at 01.30 hours - thanks to the inefficient TaxiTransfers.co.uk - stopped after 40 mins at roadside cafe (obviously driver gets commission) then took 1/2 hour to drop people off round Marmaris, then we were transferred to a taxi for rest of journey. Don't use them!

We were taken up the road, but said we had booked a beachside hotel, so taken back down - big mistake! Shown into a ground floor room beside reception - you couldn't have swung a cat! Supposed to be for disabled - but how someone with a disability could navigate round this room, squeeze past a rusting old fridge with TV on top to wardrobe. In addition, the bathroom had leaking pipes, so floor was constantly flooded, the shower tray (no curtain) had a seat which wouldn't stay up, no hot water, which I believe is common and if you like sleeping on a lumpy plank with lumpy pillow - fine!
Next morning, we asked to be moved and while waiting, checked out other apartment blocks - £20 per night seemed to be the norm. We asked to be shown a room back up the road and took it! It was an apartment which backed onto a Turkish family's garden, complete with orange trees. It faced west, so got the evening sun. Clean towels and sheets every few days, but that was it! Very tatty, but at least we didn't run out of hot water! The bed was very firm, but reasonably comfortable. Also it was lovely and quiet, not a sound at night. The main hotel did have boom boom music, but did turn it down on request!

The food was OK, tho' always lukewarm, and we cheered when we got our first piece of meat for dinner on the 3rd day! The only thing was that you got the same food for lunch and dinner - every day - with occasional escallopes, chicken nuggets! Chicken served one night, leftovers made into a chicken salad and served for the next 2 days! No fish which was really disappointing! One dish looked like vomit! The waiters were very quick to clear things away, so if you wanted a later meal, you could miss out! Bread was nice! Some very greedy people - taking 6 oranges/4 apples at once! We ate out at the Green Garden and Surinda (left hand side of hotel on beach) Both very good.

Drinks - dire! Undrinkable red wine, 1 1/2 glasses of white wine with ice - couldn't drink any more. Had a G & T - couldn't taste the gin, tonic flat! Beer was OK. Main barman was nice when he got to know you, but I saw one of the waiters drinking from a cup, giving it a brief swill, then put it back amongst the clean ones - ugh! The glasses were dirty, as was the cutlery! We ended up buying our own wine and taking it into the restaurant!!

The beach was OK, but very coarse sand and when we spotted a cat pooing and someone being sick - her husband just covered it up - plus broken glass, we didn't walk barefoot! The sunbeds and umbrellas are packed in - like sardines. Views to sea and around bay were lovely. I did see the staff cleaning the beach a number of times, but the same staff who waited!

Turunc itself is lovely and the local people are very friendly, so would certainly recommend it. I don't blame the hotel owner for not caring - apparently, he only gets £5 a night for the room, so food, cleaning, etc has to be economised on! With a bit of TLC, it could be a good hotel as the location is great! And to give them credit - we had a late flight, so were given a courtesy room to shower and change.
We didn't pay a lot so our expectations weren't high, but we do expect basic standards of hygiene.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

we are just back from the ozcan hotel. we arrived there at 3am - were shown threw a dimly lite hotel to a room where the furniture would have been better placed in the 1990's. there was no offer of a refreshment and were not given times of breakfast the next morning so missed it arriving at 9.35am.
the staff only cleaned the rooms 3 times during our stay and even at that it was done to a poor standard. i actually had to ask for clean towels on the friday after having used the same ones since monday.
the food, well, was very average, very repetative, served cool or even too cold to eat. we had to eat out to get a warm meal.
it was supposed to be all inclusive but there were no snacks available between meal times. you were not allowed to take meals, snacks, drinks to your room from the restaurant.
the pool was tiny, the photo that was listed on the web site advertising the hotel did not match the hotel that i stayed in. we had to go to another part of the hotel ACROSS THE STREET to eat in the restaurant.
the web site stated the hotel was quiet - it failed to state that there was a bar directly across the street which stayed open until 3am with live music playing every night.
in the whole this was a poor holiday in this hotel.
the village it is situated in was great, the people were friendly and not to pushy when you look in shops etc.

Room Tip: dont go there full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

arrived at the hotel at 2am to find the room hadnt been cleaned we had a pile of dirty towels on the floor room was so dusty we had booked a travel cot for our 6 month old but had nothing and was told we would get one the next day, but still had no cot the next day we were supposed to be staying at the ozcan for 15 days only stayed for 5 and moved ourselves to another hotel my partner wrote his name in the dust on the tv and was still there 5 days later the beds were rarly changed i had to take off all bedding and put it outside the room so they changed it. came back one day and they had just put the clean sheets on the bed folded up for me to make the beds, my son has asthma and the dust triggered it off so bad we rarely got any sleep because he couldnt breath in the night he is still quite ill now because of this, i was on my hands and knees mopping the floors because they hadnt been touched. the cleaners did not clean our room for three days from arriving and even then it was just fresh towels. the fire alarm fell off the ceiling plugs were hanging out the walls near the beds the showers were rarely warm and just trickled out water. the food was awful so repetative and cold. the drinks at the bar wernt bad until we wanted something different from beer and tried the vodka couldnt taste it the staff had waterd it down, also my partner went to get a drink and they had ran out of glasses so the barmen got a half full glass of beer tipped it out rinsed it and started to pour my partners drink in it. one man staying at the hotel bought a bottle of vodka to take back to the apartments because they had to walk 10minutes from the apartments they were placed to get drinks put it in the freezer to keep cool got it out in the morning and was a block of ice, vodka doesnt freeze.

absolutley terrible hotel never seen anything like it. would not recommend...

in our time of being in turunc there was 8 couples that asked to move hotels to the ozcan apartments round the corner and 5 couples who were staying at the ozcan who had moved to the hotel we had moved to.

Room Tip: dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The village was beautiful. Initially, the room we were put into was dirty, the view was of workmen out the back. We complained about the room being dirty and that the hotel we booked was not the hotel they put us in. Anyway, turns out they have two hotels. Only one really has sea view. The upside is, they moved us within a couple of hours to the other one. It was clean. I would go back. It was cheap and we got what we payed for. Food was good, if somewhat repetitive. People were friendly.

Room Tip: If you get one that is dirty, ask to see the manager. If hotel is full, people are always moving on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oz-can Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oz-can Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad.No:30, Turunc 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Turunc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Turunc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oz-can Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Oz-can Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oz Can Hotel Turunc
Ozcan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oz-can Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.