We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aldwalk Manor Ladies golfing weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aldwark Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aldwark Manor to your Saves list
Aldwark Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aldwark, Near Alne, Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aldwalk Manor Ladies golfing weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the golf proffesional who explained where we could meet up with our group. The golf bar was in use but they gave us a separate room to use which led out onto a terrace. The staff were a little busy but served us in plenty of time.
The golf course started off with a gentle par 3 and progressed from there. It is a demanding but playable course with lots of variety and a little water ( take plenty of balls) One slight complaint would be the lack of signs for the next hole. Not having played there before it was confusing, especially when you go across roads and over canals. We were given a room for our golf clubs which was secure and allowed us to charge our batteries.
We booked into our rooms which were fine, clean and fairly spacious, although the group was split up and some members had significantly superior rooms to others.
we had been given a room to ourselves for dinner ( maybe they knew in advance how noisy we get!!), the service and food were all very good, as was the reasonably priced wine. There was plenty to choose from the menu and wine list. Breakfast was just as good, with lots of choice.
We ate in the golf bar after our second round, the food and service again was excellent and reasonably priced.

All in all the experiance was very pleasant, the staff were all friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I was really please to read of the succuss during your golf break at Aldwark Manor and thank you for sharing it with the Trip Advisor community. I have made note about the signing on the Golf course and will look to improve following your feedback. My sincere thanks once again.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    303
    195
    91
    56
See reviews for
128
533
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Aldwark Manor and I could not find any faults. We arrived an hour before check in and luckily our room was ready, check in was quick and easy and done by a helpful member of staff. We were slightly wary about what our room would be like due to reading other reviews. Our room was a standard twin/double and in the new wing of the hotel, this was very modern and clean. Our room had a view over the golf course and plenty of space, it was also very clean and our towels were cleaned everyday. We did not eat at the hotel therefore cannot comment of the food service. There are plenty of local pubs in the nearby villages which are a short car drive away. York centre is roughly a 25minute drive away from the hotel. Overall enjoyed the stay at the Aldwark Manor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel. Its positively great that you were unable to find any fault! I hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hotel soon for another great stay.

Kind Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights as part of our summer hols with our 14yr old son. we had booked a upgraded room with course view, we were given a room with mezanine bedroom with the tinniest windows I have ever seen in a hotel room, I immediately ask for another room as that would have driven us crazy! the 2nd room was what we were expecting-large,balcony & great view of the course.There were terrible problems in the kitchen & we were farmed out to local eateries which turned out to be excellent but only continental breakfast was available.We met with a very frought manager who compensated us for the disruption to our holiday. The hotel is dated in parts but it is an old building! if we were to take away the problems we would return but would certainly recommend eating out.

Room Tip: if you have a massage make sure you get the full time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I am sorry you were slightly effected by some unforeseen problems in the kitchen during your stay. Aldwark Manor due to its design and age has a very differing Bedroom stock and as a result not all suit everyone, it was great to hear however we sorted this for you at the start of your stay. I hope you will return again for a 5 night stay with family.

Kind Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Off the beaten track, Aldwark Manor could be excellent but is let down on a couple of points - 5 star prices in the bar for drinks and light menu plus service painfully slow at times, some of the decor is tired in places, even the snooker/pool table, whilst free to use, has worn pockets (more balls dropped than your average England cricket team) and no cue chalk. Minor issue but we heard several guests enquire about this to no avail. On the plus side the spa and leisure facilities are very good (although poolside showers and steam room were out of action for 2 days - our entire stay). Pool has adult only sessions and jacuzzi aand sauna enjoyable. Room on 3rd floor was airy, nice view overlooking golf course and very peaceful. Bed and pillows not the most comfortable, bathroom good. Breakfast really good and cooked to order - was busy first morning, aim to get there before 9am for comrehensive choice which we did second day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time out to write this review of Aldwark Manor. I have noted both your points of feedback for improvement and will address the best I can. It was super to read that you had a good stay and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

KInd Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights, 30th and 31st August 2012. We have stayed with Qhotels before (Crewe Hall) so had clear expectations, which were only met in part.
The bedroom (in the new block) was tiny, and uninspiring - in design terms, and to our minds, a box with sticks of furniture, rather than a coherent whole. The bathroom had one of those tiny baths little more than the size of a 1 1/2 shower tray - pointless, a big shower would have been better. The lighting was abysmal - three tiny freestanding lamps in the bedroom, and some spots high up in the ceiling throughout - useless for putting on make up.
Dinner was excellent, on the other hand (we had dinner included in our room plan but opted to dine from the a la carte menu) - we tried scallops, and the spring plate as entrees, with duck, venison, and salted cod as mains, and were not disappointed. Beautiful flavour blends, attractively presented. Enjoyable amouse bouche. Spot on service too.
Breakfast was a game of two halves - breakfast on the Friday was abysmal. We waited 15 minutes to order our cooked breakfast, and even then only succeeded after calling on a waiter twice. When it arrived, all was cold, bar the special order (poached eggs, which were perfect). When we ordered drinks one of us asked for tea, and the waitress had to be called back because she didn't bother to ask the other diner (who wanted coffee). The floor was grotty with food, the chairs we sat on had crumbs on them. Staff everywhere but with tables randomly being cleared/left with plates (we could see a table with dirty plates that remained so for ten minutes, and our finished bowls/plates simply weren't cleared until right near the end of the experience). Breakfast on the Saturday was far better - attentive plate clearing, attentive tea/coffee production. But: we had to chase for the cold service to be fully set out - at 8.20 the cheese and coulis were missing still - and for the fried eggs: the point about a buffet is that it should all be out, on time, as people have varying eating preferences.
Our view - the breakfast service staff should go on a training visit to Crewe Hall, check out breakfast service there, and bring learnings back, as breakfast is one of this hotels big let downs.
The front desk service was excellent - we had forgotten our phone charger and were able to borrow one.
Of the leisure facilities, we tried the spa and pool area. The spa facial was excellent, probably one of my all time top five (Jacki I think her name was). There are three things that can go wrong with a facial - 1 too noisy, all clickety-clack with bottles being opened and closed; 2 too intrusive, all product sales; and 3 the facial itself is a disaster, maybe the facialist isn't interested, your time gets cut short, etc etc. Happy to say, this facial was the exact opposite of all of that. The facial was excellent, directed exactly at my needs that visit, and I walked out feeling on top of the world. A high point of the hotel.
The pool area is a mixed bag. The pool itself is a decent size, but it has a floor that slopes toward the centre from all directions, so lane swimming (ie exercise rather than floating or playing) is largely impossible unless right in the middle (my husband and I are both on the tall side, and regularly scraped ankles/knees attempting to turn at the ends, which left my husband, at six foot three, turning about two feet short of the ends, which made swimming as exercise largely redundant). Having said that, we saw a lady with a walking stick appear to comfortably lane swim to one side, so this may be a height issue only. The sauna is large and comfortable, excellent capacity, but not really warm enough. The steam room was closed for repair so we weren't able to test that, but we liked the methol-aroma cold shower, and the cold water bucket that you tip over your head after a sauna. There is also jacuzzi - a good size, but seemed, to our minds, to be overwhelmed by a bleach-y sort of smell, particularly on the Thursday afternoon. The changing rooms are tiny, and shared with the gym facilities, and the floor can rapidly get very wet/messy - the spa staff ask you to take your towel to the pool, and ensure that you shower and dry off in the shower area before returning to your locker for your clothes.
The setting of the hotel is ok. There are no real gardens outside to explore - just a terrace with tables and a small enclosed garden. The rest is the golf course, which non-players cannot walk around. The HSE aspects are understood, but it is a shame - the building is set in pleasant surroundings and it would be an asset to be able to actually go for a walk in the grounds.
The decor is mixed - not bad in places, but let down by being occasionally shabby (skirting boards in restaurant) and with generally gloomy lighting (eg in the restaurant).
The hotel grading has been given as 2 as this hotel is letting itself down - this hotel is part of the Qhotels group (cf Crewe Hall where the bar is generally set high) and can clearly be so much better. If its weak spots were improved to match its obvious strengths, such as beauty spa and a la carte menu, then this hotel could be a real flag bearer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for this comprehensive review of Aldwark Manor, no stone has been left unturned. It is always great to read feedback of this nature in order to get a full outlook on the property and I will be using all your valued comments to better the product. I am happy to say the problems you experienced linked to breakfast have now been sorted. I hope you will return to the Manor soon.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a shame about this hotel it could be so nice . But it's not stay away . Would never go again never never never please sort this hotel out spa is nice and the pool is ok just the rooms and staff are crap

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your well written and constructive review of Aldwark Manor. I am very sorry we did not met your expectations and please feel free to contact me personally should you wish to discuss in more detail.

Kind Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazeing
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We attended a wedding here and it was superb, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. There was the added bonus of the golf course and spa. The only minor downside was that we had to wait a long time to get coffee with breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course and bar terrace are the best, we had room 101 which had a small ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review of Aldwark Manor. We pride ourselves on a great Wedding product and very pleased you think the same.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldwark Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor

Address: Aldwark, Near Alne, Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 54 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Aldwark Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor Yorkshire
Aldwark Manor Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldwark Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.