We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Indian Cuisine

Ginger Indian Cuisine
10 King Street, Pukekohe 2120, New Zealand
092388338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Pukekohe
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pukekohe is full of indian restaurants, but this is my favourite. The staff are very nice, friendly and always seem to want to make you feel comfortable. I have been there a few times and every time has been enjoyable. The interior is decent but nothing spectacular (with the great prices that they offer you probably wouldn't expect much more), however the food is very authentic tasting. They offer special prices on monday through to thursday (I think), $15 for a meal, a naan bread and a soft drink. Over all, good service, great food at very affordable prices - can't go wrong with that :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our favourite curry house in Pukekohe, when we visited last night we discovered it had changed hands, the menu has been re-printed and several old favourites have been removed and the prices have increased. We ordered Chicken Tikka Masala medium and Lamb Dopiaza Hot, the service is still friendly and efficient and the food arrived in good time. However both curries looked exactly the same. The chicken was OK and had some flavour although the sauce was a little thick. The lamb was chunky and tough and virtually tasteless and certainly not hot, it was swimming in tomato paste and had one or two slices of onion. The waitress offered to take the curry away and make it hotter and when we mentioned our disappointment to the manager he said next time we should tell him we wanted it Indian hot. I'm not sure this would fix it, the standard has fallen so far we will be looking for a new favourite curry house.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dependable curry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have found the labling of the curries on Ginger's menu to be accurate for my Kiwi palate. When it says medium I find it about right. Mild would suit people who want exactly that and hot for the brave. The staff give very good service always.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food and quiet service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of the few retaurants open on a Monday night in Pukekohe, we arrived because of a power cut at home and so unable to cook supper. The food was good and the menu a bit different from the run of the mill Indian restaurants. We were there early and soon after we arrived it got busier. There was also a constant stream of take away business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service is very good, the food is even better (Balti Chicken is delicious). The decor is a little tacky and the only letdown.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Indian Cuisine also viewed

Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ginger Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.