We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bettystown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottages
Seabank | Laytown, Bettystown, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed recently, at the Apple Loft for five days, Just wonderful and you can just do what you please from start to finish the perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our family group of 6 traveled all four corners of Ireland in 20-days. Stayed in five different self-catering and/or B&Bs, and whole family voted Thatcher's Rest as absolutely the best. Cottage was beautiful, comfortable, and fully equipped, all we had to provide was the family and the food. Grandkids wanted to know if we could move there so they could come visit us. Best restaurant food was at "Relish". Perfect place to slow down and relax. Host was a darling, and provided lots of local information. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

had a short break in Rose Cottage, booked specifically to see the Laytown Races. Although the weather was slightly inclement, the welcome at the cottages was bursting with warmth (and some yummy home-made scones). Cottage was fully equiped with all mod cons. Superbly clean. A very homely feeling and we soon fell into relaxation mode. A good base to do as much or as little as you like. Well situated for great sightseeing (Boyne, Dublin, etc) & not far to Belfast either. Our hosts arranged an evening meal out for us at a local restaurant within walking distance, and some horse-riding close-by. We also felt very safe within their little compound, not as though we had to keep locking doors. Would be nice for children, but we don't have any of those ! I've been recommending this place to all my friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Honeymoon cottage to celebrate our anniversary. It was perfect. We received a very warm welcome from Mel who kindly shared lots of local information with us. We had a very relaxing and peaceful 4 days and even managed a swim in the sea.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

It exceeding our expectations and was a perfect relaxing get away. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. It was so simple to find from the Dublin Airport and there's plenty near by to visit. They were so helpful and had more than enough flyers, pamphlets and books to give us ideas of places to visit. There's a grocery store just up the street and a large playground that was my daughter's favorite place. The beach was beautiful and peaceful. We'll return again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

There are not many places in Ireland like this - a beautiful cottage with your own private access to the beach and to top it all beautiful weather. The hospitality was generous and genuine and our whole family had a very enjoyable experience. Morning and evening walks on the beach were leisurely and quiet - just perfect and exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

What can i say that hasnt allready been said, we had the most relaxing holiday of our lives. We didn't really do much which was the whole point of our trip. . we stolled down to the beach about three times a day walked for miles, got our feet wet, made sand casltes golore. went back to what became known as home to put our feet up, put the radio on and read books till the cows came home .we came with our 16 month son who doesnt like to sit down much but with the beach , Gardens and the play area at our door step he fell into a blessfull coma of sleep before his head touched the pillow everynight, no singing or bed time storys... stight to sleep (Horray) liz & Rodger made us feel like old friends . when you drive through the big gates you enter a long forgotten pace of life.
We were truly sad to leave today but i know for sure that we will be back before the year ends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages

Address: Seabank | Laytown, Bettystown, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Bettystown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Bettystown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched seaside holiday cottages on Ireland's East Coast, private, gated hamlet-like setting directly on 6 miles of sandy beach. Explore the mysterious and ancient beauty of the Boyne Valley easy access Dublin City. Dublin Airport just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottages Hotel Bettystown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cottages to your Saves list