We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“So so...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sauza Tour

Casa Sauza Tour
Francisco Javier Sauza 80, Tequila, Mexico
374 742 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 attractions in Tequila
Type: Factory Tours, Breweries
Activities: Drinking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to the amazing experience of Casa Sauza.
Monterrey, México
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The tour guide is a Sauza employee and she didn´t explain with as much detail as other Tequila Tours so, if you were to visit Tequila, take this tour last because you won´t fully understand the manufacturing process... The facilities were nothing special, just another manufacturing facility, with a bunch of standardize processes, metrics, etc...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thorough tour, beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was an interactive tour that started at the distillery and beautiful grounds in the middle of town and went on to include a bus ride to two locations a ranch and a botanic garden of agave. It ended with a tequila tasting and cocktail. Loved it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Got lost entering Tequila and ended up coming into town the back way and right by the Sauza distillery. Saw the sign for the tour and it ended up we were the only people on that tour. Our guide Diana was excellent and fun. Wish we could have seen the bottling plant but it is not permitted. Lots of tequila tastings and at the end they treat you to special mixed drinks in the old former family home of the Sauza family... Our bartender Charlie was a dear!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were able to take this as a personal tour with just us and the guide since it was during the week and off season. The tour was excellent. We got to see every part of the process from growing the Agave plants, to distillation, to aging. We were offered many options for tasting the Sauza product. We then had a formal tasting where we learned how to taste and differentiate between the types of tequila. I am not a huge tequila drinker but really enjoyed the tasting. I was surprised to find I enjoyed the reposado the best. We were then treated to a three course pairing dinner with the head chef. This was a treat! The food was exceptional and we heard from the chef at each course about the food and why it paired well with that particular tequila. We were also treated to some creative and amazing cocktails by the head mixologist. I could have stayed here all day!! A definite must on your stop to tequila. If you are Americans with limited Spanish, ask for a tour with Eugenio. He was great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“mango margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited the Hacienda Sauza. Neat place to see...lots of Mexican family history in this town. Also visited Forteleza Distillery owned by Memo Sauza. We met him in Guadalajara and once you meet the guy you won't forget him...great tequila too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Sauza Tour also viewed

 

Been to Casa Sauza Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sauza Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Sauza Tour to your Saves list