We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Black Horse Inn
35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to visit some friends who live in the village. Room was nice and clean staff helpfull. Food very nice in the pub. Paid £75 for the night which maybe was a little steep. breakfast hours was only 8-9am so very limited Time to grab something.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
17
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldicot Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I needed a bed for a stopover for a trip to the Newmarket race course for an evening concert so a pub with rooms seemed a great idea.

On arriving was shown the room which was in the converted stables (apparently). The room was a twin room with tea/coffee facilities and an adequate sized tv. Decor of the room was tastefull and not ott. Furniture consisted of a chest of drawers, a chair and a wardrobe to hang clothes in. Bedding was clean and fresh as were the towels. Space-well I was a solo traveller but I would say that here was more than enough room for two people. It's a room you've booked, not an appartment.

There was a wc with shower and small but reasonable sized sink. The shower had ample output for anyone and the temperature controls worked.

As a downside? As all the rooms are around the car park/courtyard, it is down to other guests to keep quiet and not to upset the other residents, but considering I slept with the window open the noise was over in a couple of minutes. Car parking outside the rooms is a bit tight too if you have a longer car.

Regarding food. The Full English of egg, bacon, sausage, black pudding, beans and toast kept me going most of the day, and was well cooked and presented by the waitress.

With regards to the pub, last orders are 11pm so no loud late nights, it would seem, for anyone staying in the pub. There was a very good selection of real ales and other drinks all at fair prices.

Staff were friendly and helpfull, as was the taxi driver Dave, although they didn't have an answer to 'Where does the name Swaffham Bulbeck come from?' but no complaints from me. Taxi to Newmarket race course was £10 ish each way for the 10/15 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed at the hotel whilst on business in Cambridge It is a super little place to stay the pub is fantastic with great food and super beer. However the rooms although comfy are on the small side but adiquate a little more attention to detail in the cleaning of them would really go a longway my room looked like it had just had a quick wipe with the duster and a lick with the hoover. My main gripe is the small window in the door, with a row of lights outside when you turn in for the night the lights shine straight through very disturbing I ended up taping an old black bag from the van over it the only way i could make the room dark enough to sleep.

The only other comment i wish to make is breackfast continental !!!! a crisppy bare a pot noddle style porage pot a bottle of aplle juice is not a continental breakfast.
But other than that I would and will stay again as it a super little place out of town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a courtyard style and it can be noisy in the area when customers and staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We booked this room on recommendation. The room we had was at the rear of the pub, small and comfortable. The shower screen was not clean at all with a strip of dirty gunky stuff from the top to the bottom. There were woodlice coming from underneath the shower tray and overall the bathroom let the accommodation down badly. Cars parked outside the room which made it noisy, could hear conversations from outside and lots of noise through the wall too. There was a breakfast hamper in the room which was good if you didnt want a cooked breakfast but we would have opted for one however, no chef was available so we couldnt have one anyway. The pub seemed to lack atmosphere, on our first night we were pretty much ignored and felt like outsiders. On the second night when the landlady was there we had a totally different experience and felt welcomed. The food was good, they serve steaks on a hot stone and this was extremely good, Rib Eye was first class, fresh local (?) vegatables and very well presented. Overall, at the price the room was acceptable but could be cleaner, the presence of the landlady makes for a totally different experience but the food was first class.

Room Tip: A room in the hotel might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I found my room and bathroom clean and warm with TV that worked OK, an 'armchair' with no arms makes relaxing a little difficult though.
One thing was the nightlight on the ceiling which shines like a spotlight into your eyes all night- I had to get up and pot 6 post-its over it to get some sleep- I did mention it in the morning- but was met with a health and safety reg.- but better lights can be installed- otherwise- not bad for a bubget near Cambridge.

Room Tip: Bring a packet of Post-its
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed one night to go to Stansted airport the following day. Warm welcome, nice room, good selection of hand pulled beers. We tried the Black Sheep and it was excellent. Dinner was great too; whitebait followed by lamb shank for a reasonable price. Too full for dessert. Downsides: shower room was poorly designed and too small. Also the main light had a green glow all night but no great problem. We were in the "Reech" room in the main building and the wifi worked fine. Would definitely stay here again, the price is right for what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed just 1 night with friends in a courtyard room which are actually converted stables.Although the room was quite small it was very clean & comfortable & at a competitive price.It's only about 8 miles from the July course & is very easily & quickly reached.
We ate in the restaurant on "steak night" when it was on 2 for 1 & it was excellent.Drinks are reasonably priced & if you like "real ale" then you wo'nt go wrong.Staff were pleasant & efficient.
If we want to stay overnight in this area again we will not look any further.

Room Tip: any of the courtyard rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: 35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Swaffham Bulbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaffham Bulbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic village of Swaffham Bulbeck overlooking the village green. The Black Horse Inn offers a warm and friendly welcome. Locally sourced food served daily and a great selection of Wines and drinks available at the bar including locally brewed ales. The accommodation comprises of 7 converted stables in a courtyard setting, all rooms are en suite with complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.