We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have been coming here for 20 years - great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barleycove Holiday Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crookhaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barleycove Holiday Park
Barleycove, Crookhaven, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“have been coming here for 20 years - great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

this place is fab for families. camps are on frequently on the sports grounds- local sailing clubs in crookhaven! and although some of the mobiles are in need of restoration, they have constantly being replaced over the last few years and are being fitted with top class, modern versions. during the summer months, if you book late there's a chance you might get the older versions, but will all the facilities and great activities in the vicinity you'll want to spend very little time inside. each mobile has a large garden for you to do what you wish with. so if you're there for the full summer season great for setting up barbecues and lounge chairs. location is top class. walking distance of 5 beaches with rocky and cockle shell just on the campsite's doorstep. would recommend to everyone of all ages!

Room Tip: make sure to book early and ask for the modern versions! :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived in Barleycove camping site on Wednesday 8/8/12, to be greated by friendly staff who explained the sites facilities and escorted us to where, me the hubby and 2 boys 6+9 could set up camp. Having been here 10 or so years before I was thrilled to see how well maintained the park was, how clean and flat! ( believe me when ur camping it has to be level). The sun shone, plenty activity for kids and safe to let them explore alone. The site was cleaned and serviced daily as we were there. We spent 2 glorious days on the local beach with the pontoon bridge, so relaxed we were horizontal. In the evening ventured into Crookhaven to O'Sullivans for fresh catch of the day for supper. It's a real hideaway, no riff/raff and the boys loved it. Only downside was the que for showers, and being near the sea,it got windy on our last night. Mizen vision is a must,its the end of the world, to see the last manned lighthouse and be in awe of how gorgeous our country is on a sunny day! I'm Terrified of heights but I was swept away by the views. I will definitely be returning. The site is secure and very well maintained. Couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Pitch ur tent near walls for shelter from winds,pack the suncream and turn off ur phone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here in the early eighties with my family, so going back to Barleycove was a real trip down memory lane. We just stayed for one night on Saturday 14th July, pulled in abour 8pm and the park was buzzing completely full. The staff were very helpful, sincere and genuine and it just made my heart sing with joy that the place was as lovely and charming as i had remembered it. No it is not the ritz, but it is completely functionally with everything that you might need, set amongst beautiful scenery. I couldn't recommend this park enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Barleycove Caravan park is just awesome, situated between Goleen, Crookhaven and Mizen Head this is a fantastic family park.
Don't expect anything amazing, it is of course in the middle of know where but this is why it is so special, a well kept secret with many many people turing up year after year. Anyone who has done their research for West Cork with know have an idea of what to expect. With a little shop and eating place on site there is enough to keep you and the kids amused. Just a 20 minute walk crom Crookhaven, a gorgeous little fishing village with friendly pubs and the good oul craic.
Ans of course you are only a short stroll from the most fabulous beaches.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

While the staff do have some iota of charm and wit, it would be more fitting if the inscription on the entrance to Barleycove holiday park read "abandon all hope ye who enter here". This may seem like hyperbole but trust me it isnt. My partner and I were informed the caravan was roughly 7 years old but upon arrival it was clear that this caravan had been around sine the 70's. There was mould everywhere, on the beds curtains etc. It seemed as if a light breeze would cause untold structural damage and two of the four beds, were shelves. The staff took great pride in showing us that the caravan did indeed have running water but sadly this is not enough to distract from other obvious shortcomings. Thankfully we were refunded our 120 euro for a two night stay (well above the 25 per night reccomended by failte ireland advertised on the reception wall). To sum up, avoid this place like the plague..which you could probably catch from sitting on any of the furniture.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic location perched on the edge of the Atlantic. Beautiful beaches across the road. Suitable for all sorts of camping/caravans/campers. Excellent pub/restaurants 2 kms away in Crookhaven. Sitting outside my tent now with a full moon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barleycove Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barleycove Holiday Park

Address: Barleycove, Crookhaven, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Crookhaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Crookhaven
Also Known As:
Barleycove Holiday Park Hotel Crookhaven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barleycove Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barleycove Holiday Park to your Saves list