We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to be before Mizen Head !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Sullivan's Bar

O'Sullivan's Bar
Crookhaven | Skibberdeen, Crookhaven, Ireland
+353 (0)28 35319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Crookhaven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: O'Sullivan's Bar is located in the heart of the scenic village of Crookhaven nestled in the Mizen Peninsula of West Cork. The family run bar which overlooks the beauty of Crookhaven harbour prides itself on its friendly atmosphere and great food & drink. Whether seated inside next to the cosy fire on a winter's day or relaxing in the summer sunshine on our tables next to the water, you can expect great friendly service and the finest chowder, soups and freshest range of sandwiches in West Cork.
Eure, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Place to be before Mizen Head !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very nice family pub lost in a very wild just before going to Mizen Head. Boasting a superb position "End of the World", the perfect stop for a lunch break. The sandwiches are very fresh, homemade desserts, too, Murphy - Stout local - is flowing! Very nice boss speaks French very well and kindly advise you on your best route. Do not hesitate to take the direction of Brow Head to the exit of the village of Crookhaven, views of the famous Fastnet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Coming from Portland, Maine, I am accustomed to top notch and fresh seafood.My partner and I ordered an open faced crab sandwich and a basket of prawns. The prawns were small but tasty bites of salty shrimp, a really wonderful take on bar snacks. The open faced crab sandwiched featured an obscene amount of shredded and lump crab on a a buttered slice of homemade brown bread.

This cozy pub feels as if it's perched at the end of the world and that makes it even more worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly (dog friendly), fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On our trip around West Cork, we stopped off in Crookhaven so see the views and grab some food. As we had the pooch with us we decided we'd see could we sit on the outside benches outside O'Sullivans. Before we even entered the pub to ask, one of the staff came out to us and said to bring the dog inside, that he was more than welcome! We could not believe it, the restaurant was busy and we thought someone might complain about a sea drenched dog shaking himself all over but no one said a thing, in fact ppl came up and rubbed him. Other than the wonderful welcome, the food was great. I had the salmon open sandwhich and the boyf had the shrimp in a basket, the food was fresh and tasty and was excellent value. Really impressed with this bar, they couldn't have made us anymore welcome and I will recommend it to anyone passing through this way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A traditional family run establishment that offers a modern warm international welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've liked this place from a very early age when I had lunch here with my family on many summer holidays. Recently, I spent time here with my husband and was delighted to introduce him to the warm atmosphere offered by the O'Sullivans, as well as the top quality fare that arrives on your plate fresh from the local fishermen and farmers. From the moment we walked through the threshold we eased into a relaxing, cordial lounge where we delighted in their culinary and potable treasures, as little or as much as we liked. Take the wise decision to enjoy O' Sullivan's Bar and it's gorgeous surrounds in Crookhaven.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great pub for food and drink. Great crab sandwiches chowder and shrimp. Same owners for at least 40 years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Sullivan's Bar also viewed

Crookhaven, County Cork
Crookhaven, County Cork
 
Crookhaven, County Cork
 

Been to O'Sullivan's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Sullivan's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.