We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible ocean views above the beech Praia Verde Algarve.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Infante

Restaurante O Infante
E.N. 125 Altura, Castro Marim, Portugal
281 956 817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Castro Marim
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Faro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Incredible ocean views above the beech Praia Verde Algarve.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a new Restaurant with the same owners only two mins from the one listed . They have an exultant menu of fish meats deserts with a extensive wine list. The staff are so polite and helpful and refill your wine glass when empty also take your order cooked the way you like it. The restaurant has tables inside or on the terrace overlooking the ocean and beech at Praia Verde magnificent views of this 20 Km long golden sands. The restaurant is open all year except for January, however at the hight of summer I recommend you reserve a table as its is very popular . Note: you can share a meal between two if you prefer to eat light say at lunch time as the starters of olives bread and pate+cheeses can fill you . I highly recommend you try this Restaurant in the Eastern Algarve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    76
    16
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice setting for an evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice restaurant with quality food and reasonably priced. One of the specialities is black pig and my wife and I shared a plate of assorted cuts . The fillet melted in your mouth. The portions were large and we struggled to finish .The veg was tasty and the house white made a perfect to a lovely plate of food. Our two friends had steaks and their plates returned empty. The bill came to 75 euros which included the wine . A good evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better than any beach restaurant in the UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hang out. It's pretty easy to navigate round the seafish prices and have a decent meal for a fair price. Feeding 2 adults and 3 kids, including puddkbg and drinks and top for €80 can't be described as expensive. The view is fantastic, the spec of the restaurant very nice (except for the grim toilets) and it is a mere saunter down the boardwalk onto a first class and gigantic beach. Mind you the restaurant bang on the beach looked even nicer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, Lancs
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times over the years and have really enjoyed it each time. Yes, the portions are large, but when you are out for dinner you do not want to go home hungry. Food in Portugal is far better presented than in Spain with more accompanying vegetables and garnish. That is one of the main reasons we cross the border to eat from our base in Spain. The seafood soup was delicious and my mother really enjoyed the prawn cocktail, Skewers of monkfish and prawns are a popular choice with my party and my brother-in-law loves the leg of lamb (not available in the sister restaurant at the beach, we believe) I thoroughly enjoyed steak in three sauces and my daughter loved the prawns in garlic she requested as her main course. The restaurant was quiet, although we have also loved it when it has bben busy. As it is popular with families booking is a sensible idea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, don't know if I would rush back to eat again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I definitely enjoyed the restaurant (there are two, one main large building right off the highway N125 at a circle, and the other on a cliff overlooking the beach and ocean - we ate at the main one and then had coffee overlooking the sunset at the second. As other reviewers have said, very large portions. Honestly, I did not love the food so much - a lot of fries and potatoes as sides make for a not so healthy meal. The clams were very delicious and meaty. The meat on the skewers was a bit too dry. The octopus - grilled - was so delicate and soft, not at all chewy! Definitely a popular place, don't know if I would rush back to eat there. 7 people ate for 220 Euros, including 4 bottles of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Infante also viewed

Castro Marim, Faro District
Castro Marim, Faro District
 
Castro Marim, Faro District
Altura, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante O Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.