We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with perfect view of Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SkyHigh Mount Dandenong

SkyHigh Mount Dandenong
26 Observatory Road, Mount Dandenong, Victoria, Australia
03 97510443
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Get some Perspective & Escape the noise and pressures of the concrete jungle. Less than one hour from the Melbourne CBD you can be SkyHigh – on the uppermost reach of the Dandenong Ranges, amid cool fern glades and lush towering native forest, looking at the big picture, from the Mornington Peninsula across the majestic sweep of Port Phillip Bay, surrounded by Melbourne’s growing urban fringes, to the You Yangs on the southern horizon. After sunset the southern sky, brilliant in the clear mountain night, is imitated by a spectacular carpet of glittering city lights. Highlights include:- Viewing platforms with stunning views that sweep across the Mornington Peninsula and Port Phillip Bay , to the You Yangs on the Southern horizon The picturesque ‘secret garden’ – ideal for wedding ceremonies and private functions SkyHigh garden maze constructed from native flora. Contemporary café and family bistro open for Breakfast & Lunch (Breakfast only available on Weekends) Chic Restaurant available for Dinner A world-class function centre – a wonderful spot for corporate functions, family celebrations or wedding receptions and Xmas parties. English garden and forest walks Open 7 days a week including public holidays Gates open Monday to Friday 9am-10pm Gates open Weekends 8am-10pm Gate fee of $5 per car apply
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Dinner with perfect view of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A beautiful view with reasonably priced meals. Service was great and very helpful. A must see destination for tourists and so great at night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    83
    50
    26
    14
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coffee with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

With clear skies I decided the 15 - 20 minute drive up to Sky High was on the books. Nature didn't disappoint with views well past the city on the day. No breeze meant the morning fog or a light haze was still low on the bay at 1pm but did nothing to spoil the view or the lovely coffee. Only disappointment is getting wacked $5 to enter the driveway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Food Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After waiting nearly 30 minutes for a barely there entree salad at the cafe that cost approx $11, we then waited nearly an hour for the main meal, by which point we were fed up and decided to leave. We were then informed that we'd have to pay for the main meal even though it didn't arrive, as throwing away the meal that we were told was 'nearly ready' (for the last 30 minutes) was just not the done thing. Our choice was therefore to wait for the meal that we no longer wanted and have it for takeaway, or pay for it and forgo the food. This was non-negotiable.

I would advise all would-be Sky High visitors to forgo a cafe meal on a weekend visit, unless you have a few hours to spare and plenty of patience (and don't mind paying a lot for a little). Whilst I do not blame the wait staff who could only deliver what food was made ready to them, their stance over paying for something we did not receive in a timely manner equated to extremely poor customer service.

Ironically, we were given a card for 'free entry' for when we next return. We will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very cold in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was a very cold day last Sunday. Had to wait 15 minutes for a coffee so not very happy. The view was good. Have done the place up nice now. Loved the carving, giant chair. Going to go next weekend for High tea. Lets hope service will be better. Taking my parents from New Zealand. Good place for people from over seas to get a good overview of Melbourne and get to see a different side of Melbourne.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not quite there yet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Average meal, but great night views over Melbourne. I had thai fishcakes with asian salad and it's the first time ever that I've had fishcakes all chopped up and mixed with the salad. Bit unusual and almost childlike. With a little more effort the quality could be good instead of average. The limo service which picked us up and dropped us home was great and much appreciated on a rainy night. No extra cost for this. Fab idea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SkyHigh Mount Dandenong also viewed

 

Been to SkyHigh Mount Dandenong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SkyHigh Mount Dandenong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.