We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lapland at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Olos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Olos to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Olos
Oloshotellintie 25, Muonio 99300, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lapland at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent New Year at Olos, our second trip to this hotel/resort (our first was 6 years ago when our children were young enough to love the search for Santa). After extensive research for alternatives, we decided on returning because it is a great combination of middle-of-nowhere remoteness, plenty of activities both onsite and nearby, reasonable accommodation and food. Our log cabin on this trip was disppointing - poky and a bit shabby with a really awful bathroom - but we were moved after the first night without fuss to a 2-bed apartment which was much more comfortable, modern and in very good condition with a very good bathroom. The food is fine - lots of salads and several choices of hot food - though after a few days it gets a bit repetitive. The staff are really friendly and it's all very informal. This trip our kids loved the skiing and tobogganing, and we all enjoyed the 10km husky trip and snowmobiling. Just a shame that, yet again, we didn't see the Northern Lights. Another trip beckons!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms and apartments - avoid the log cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our trip was brilliant it's gonna be hard to put into words but I'll try. We spent 4 nights 5 days at the Hotel Olos. From the moment we arrived we where taking back by just how beautiful it was, how clean & crisp the air was, the way the light glistened of the snow (Santa's magic dust to the kids) just how great it felt to be there. Our Log cabin was awesome it had a open fire, private sauna, shower room, upstairs loft section for kids and 2 good sized rooms for the adults basically enough room for 4 adults & 3 kids, but seeing as there was only the 3 of us we just sorta took over the joint lol. The activities for the kids was great cosmos organized a great couple of days, Arctic circle ceremony, husky dog rides, reindeer rides & best bit for me was driving the snowmobile oh yes. The search for Santa was great for the kids especially his post office. The kids club cosmos arranged was excellent to it give us a bit of breathing space from the wee girl when we needed it, it was held in the main hotel in one of the upstairs rooms. The food at the restaurant was good, basic but good, all done in a buffet style, shame that everyday chips was the main choice for kids even on the last day, the day of the "gala" feast but again can't complain kids loved them. There's so many things to say about Olos and all are positive. The souvenir shop was good, at first I thought everything was a bit expensive till we went into Muonio itself made the souvenir at the hotel seem quite reasonable. Again all this didn't really matter it was a magical trip that I'd do again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If your going get a Log Cabin as we did you won't be disappointed I promise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester,UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Olos Hotel and had an absolutely wonderful time. We (4 adults – 2 in our 50s and 2 in their 20s) went with Monarch on a 5 day Santa Tinsel Trail package. Yes that’s right; 4 adults on a Santa holiday!

The holiday didn’t start brilliantly though. Check-in at Gatwick was great; no queue and staff dressed up in Christmas gear with music playing. We expected that to continue on the flight but far from it. The crew were surly with not a Santa hat or bit of tinsel in sight. We were handed out headphones but there was no TV or music system on board; apparently we were on a different plane to the scheduled one. Bang went watching Christmas films and listening to Christmas tunes on the flight to get in the mood. However, that was the end of the down side.

To balance that the reps at the hotel - Selina Sleigh and Eggnog Ellie - were excellent; enthusiastic and very hard working.

When we arrive at Kittila airport it was minus 23 degrees C. At the airport we were issued with snow suits and boots. They tend to over-estimate your size, probably to encourage you to put on layers underneath, so a couple of us changed down a size when we got to the hotel. This kit was absolutely fantastic and despite the temperature dropping another couple of degrees we didn’t seriously feel cold all holiday unless it was self-inflicted such as taking video on the husky ride with bare hands!

We did the day of activities (husky ride, reindeer sleigh, snowmobiles) on Christmas Eve but didn’t do any other organised stuff. These gave you a good taste of everything and were great fun and plenty of others booked longer versions. If you want to do this make sure you budget for it; just about all the excursions were well over £100 per person.

On the same day we also went to see Santa’s home. Although we did get herded from one place to another (Santa’s post office, Elf school, Mrs Claus’s cookie kitchen, etc) we were the only party there so it didn’t feel like we were on a conveyor belt. The kids got their letters read out, had a chat with an elf and then met Santa.

I don’t ski but the younger members of the party did. They say the slopes were good for beginners if a bit icy until there was a fresh snowfall and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Equipment hire and lift passes came to less than £50 a day. The slopes were pretty empty for most of the stay; very often you had the main slope to yourself (this may have been because it was Christmas though). There was enough daylight to ski between about 11am and 3pm but after that only the main slope was lit and this was a bit difficult because the lighting wasn’t brilliant and the slope was quite undulating. There was a separate toboggan slope which was good fun and in your snow suit you could just throw yourself bodily down any slope that offered itself without fear of getting cold or wet.

The hotel itself is self-contained and on its own in the middle of nowhere which was exactly what we wanted. If you want somewhere busier than you are better off trying Levi. We were in a junior suite which was brilliant with fantastic views – we never closed the curtains. The suite was large, well furnished and clean with a great bath, separate shower and our own sauna (very nice). The only slightly odd thing was that there was no kettle, just a coffee filter machine so making tea and hot chocolate was different.

Food was full board - not cordon bleu but still very good. Even when full the hotel doesn’t have a huge number of guests so they will not offer the range of choices you might be used to at Mediterranean all inclusives. At lunch and dinner there was a meat option, a fish option and several vegetables and salads plus a couple of desserts and fruit. Several adults visited the kids’ buffet for other alternatives. Breakfast was hot and cold with all the usual stuff. Soft drinks, tea and coffee are free. This is Scandinavia so alcohol was expensive: 7 euro for a beer and 12.90 euro for 25cl glass of wine.

You’ll have seen all the disclaimers about no guarantees but we did see the Northern Lights on Christmas night which rounded off the day perfectly. Put it on your list; you have to see them!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is stunning! There's plenty to do on site, two restaurants, a swimming pool, ski slope and a toboggan run.
The food was divine, a buffet in the morning, afternoon and evening, and it's all freshly made, including the bread!
We stayed in an apartment which also allowed for self catering, clean, comfy and cozy, and your own sauna!
Staff are friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrug, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Quiet, picture postcard setting, booked on a Santa trail trip, would recommend, well worth the money. Food would rate good rather than excellent. Lovely staff and rooms in Suite section fab. Pool was chilly!

Room Tip: Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent three days in Muonio for the Audi Ice Driving course and were booked in the suites located in building 4 (the new building).

Each suite is equipped with a Sauna, a sperate Bathtub and Shower, Kitchn, and large room with sofa and dining table. The rooms are brand new, comfortable and very nicely finished (luxurious by finish standards).

Room Tip: Pay extra for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel is near to forest and also the Olos Fjell. It is an idea location for skying in Winter, hiking in Summer and berries picking in late Summer and early Autumn.

The hotel's staff are friendly and helpful. They tried they best to get a solution for my requests. The double room suite is rather big. It has more room for discussion to be held in the room. The attached bathroom (with bath tub) and toilet is featured with heating adjustable heated floor which make sure the user will not have cold feet in the toilet. I like this very much especially in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Olos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Olos

Address: Oloshotellintie 25, Muonio 99300, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lapland Hotel Olos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotels Olos Hotel Muonio
Lapland Hotel Olos Finland - Muonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Olos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.