We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Gear Equestrian Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Top Gear Equestrian Cafe
1647 State Highway 1 | Intersection State Highway 1 and Tram Rd, Ohakuri 3384, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ohakuri
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was dying for coffee after driving 3 hours perfect spot, didnt have to battle traffic just pulled off the Highway, loved sitting on the sunny deck a must stop G Pedersen

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turners Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the middle of a long journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always enjoy stopping off here for a toilet break and a bite to eat on our journeys between Auckland and either Hastings or Palmerston North. The service is excellent and always friendly. The atmosphere is 'country' and is quite relaxing. If you sit inside, the lighting is not too good, but it is comfortable. On a hot day. like it was today, sitting outside, enjoying the animals and outdoor vista is lovely.

The food has improved immensely since they first opened (we have been frequent visitors). Most of the food is home made and is well displayed, tempting your taste buds. They also have a blackboard menu to choose from.

If you love a good cup of tea then this is the place to stop. A pot for one gave me 4 full cups of quality Dilmah loose leaf tea!! They also do a great Iced Chocolate my daughter tells me and my hubby gives the thumbs up to their Mochachino. I am ambivalent about their Hot Chocolate - but then I am very fussy on what constitutes a good Hot Chocolate.

I am pleased to tell you that even if you do not need a bite to eat (although I do recommend you stop here for sustenance) their toilets are open to ALL travellers. Not a lot of eating establishments will let you use their toilet facilities unless you are a paying guest.

This cafe really is an oasis in the middle of your journey. I highly recommend it - don't just drive on by.

PS - the kids will love being welcomed by 'Shrek' and often the cat or dog. If you are a horsey person, don't forget to pop in to the shop and buy your equestrian supplies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous homemade food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Travel past with work on a regular basis so will now make this a regular stop as fantastic way to break the trip. Friendly service and real tasting food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Drove by this on the way up to Rotorua and wanted to see exactly what an 'Equestrian Cafe' looked like! You don't get to sit on a horse with your coffee however the service and food were fantastic. Very friendly and food, home made and very tempting. Don't go if you are watching your weight! The animals outside made it a great place to visit with children (older kids like me too!) and will probably make it difficult for you to get them to leave. The prices of the gear was very reasonable compared to what I had see around in other places too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“The perfect place for refreshments before or after the Taupo bypass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

After our arduous early morning drive from Napier in the rain and through the Taupo bypass for the first time this cafe proved an absolute salvation. The staff were welcoming and chatty as we took refuge from the wet and tucked into excellent toasted sandwiches (tomato, cheese and bacon from a wide choice of flavours). I appreciated my free refill of strong black coffee, offered without any prompting — and enjoyed the company of Lucky, the friendly resident fox/Jack Russell terrier. We will definitely be back on our next Hawke's Bay to Auckland journey. The sign on SHI could be more prominent and a sign is needed at the inconspicuous side road entrance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Gear Equestrian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Gear Equestrian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.