We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Bed and Breakfast

The Grange Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Grange Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sutton Lane, Elton NG13 9LA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Elton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at this lovely B+B in December (sorry it has taken so long to right a review). Had a fantastic stay. Lovely room (so many extras), lovely breakfast, great view. What more can I say. Many thanks.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our fourth visit to this exceptional bed & breakfast. The extra accessories and touches of luxury in the room and the fabulous breakfast make this our favourite b&b. The owners deserve every one of their five stars from the Automobile Association.

Room Tip: Our favourite (back) room up the spiral staircase would not be accessible for someone with reduced m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms are clean, spacious and very cosy with great views. My husband and myself stayed at the back of the house whilst the rest of my family stayed at the front. The back bedroom not only had amazing views, but a lovely spiral staircase leading up to it. There are complementary items galore & the best dressing gown I have ever worn!
The highlight was the breakfast; fresh fruit, muesli, seeds, dried fruit, croissants, buns...and if that wasn't enough to fill you up, an elegant fry-up to follow. On top of all of this Brenda and Don are so friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The back bedroom is away from everyone else, I felt it had the best view & it is closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Brenda has it all covered at The Grange, she simply cannot do enough for her guests from the very well equipped and spotlessly clean room to even letting us put our wine and champagne into her fridge. Breakfast was freshly cooked and lovely (perfect poached eggs too), but then it needed to be to force us out of that highly comfortable bed in the mornings!

The house is beautiful and set in wonderful Nottinghamshire countryside and is handy for a variety of pleasant pubs and restaurants plus cities not too much of a drive away.

Next time we need to be even anywhere near The Grange, that's where we'll be staying...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our second o/night stay - in a different room this time. The bed and bedding are almost too comfortable: it's tempting to stay put. In the room, one's every need has been catered for. (E.g. no hunting for a hairdryer here; even notepaper was provided!) Great choice at breakfast and the hot food is expertly cooked, without any excess grease or fat.

Brenda had just been awarded the AA's 'Friendliest Landlady of the Year' award, and it figures. She is welcoming and friendly, without being intrusive. Will certainly return again.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is accessed via a spiral staircase. Not for anyone with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey,Channel Islands.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Taking our daughter up to her 'uni' accomodation, meant we needed to find a place for ourselves for the three day duration. Came across 'The Grange' whilst scouring through Tripadvisor ratings for this area. This place was rated highly.. and from what we had seen, deserves to be on ,or near the top ,of the list for Nottingham B & B's!! Although a short drive to Nottingham city centre ( 20 mins), the grange was an ideal stop. With an excellent standard of stay,in a lovely cosy country residence, my wife and myself were NOT dissappointed. The hosts Brenda and Don Masson made us feel very welcome and we wanted for nothing.I would recommend this as a 'home from home' to anyone, without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Grange has such high ratings because it deserves them. The home, originally constructed in 1725, is impeccably clean and set in beautiful serene countryside. I only stayed for one night, but wish I had planned my trip to include spending the wknd there.

The B&B is small - Brenda said they only rent out three of the rooms in the house, but that makes it feel more homely. If it weren't for my having met Brenda and her husband when I checked in and my having seen the cars of the other guests, I would have thought I had the entire house to myself, it was so quiet. The breakfast was amazing and cooked to order.

There is free WiFi and ample parking. Brenda is very friendly and she and her husband are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sutton Lane, Elton NG13 9LA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Elton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elton
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grange Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.