We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranera - Playa El Coco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa El Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Veranera - Playa El Coco
Save
You added La Veranera - Playa El Coco to your Saves list
Playa El Coco, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you go to San Juan del Sur don't miss this place. The American owner Jim and his German girlfriend Ina have a very nice house next to the wonderful beach. You can have dinner with the hosts on the same table and share their food which is prepared by Louise. If you are a very picky eater you have to know that the standard of the food is not the same like at El Colibri for example. But it's still good. Book a room with private bathroom otherwise you have to share the bathroom with all the other guests that visit the public bar next to the pool. The only thing I definitely didn't like was breakfast. It's tiny (bowl of fruit, fruit juice, 2 pieces of french toast with butter, jam and approximately 1 1/2 scrambled eggs) and you pay 5.50$. In San Juan you pay for the same 2.50$ and you get much more of the same plus gallo pinto. So you better go to the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hey guys,

thanks for your review! Its always good to get feedback, to know where we can improve.

I would only like to comment that our bar is not public, but only for our guests.

Cheers
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

good:
- ocean front (it's right on the best beach near SJDS)
- a very beautiful villa with western standard of comfort
- clean and safe
- friendly, you feel at home
- quite and relaxed atmosphere

bad:
- almost none. Price is fair for the segment (midrange), from 60 dollars per night and it could fall in the top segment with some small improvements, like more furnishings in the big rooms (one bed missing bedside table, one table for the bag, an additional chair in the room and sunbed around the pool, more water pressure, and so on).

The guesthouse has only 3 rooms, around a pool in front of the beach, and it is like living together in a villa, so it's easy to know the other guest (which someone may not like that much). Town is far and the road is unpaved, so you're isolated, as for all the best beaches around San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are looking for a sterling clean and uncrowded beach, with a view of the mountains of Costa Rica on your left, consider a visit here. The view alone is well worth the price. However a stay at La Varanera really makes the visit worthwhile. You are greeted by hosts who are very accommodating and low key and very much will follow your lead regarding your need for seclusion or company. Because I enjoyed the company of our hosts, I spent some time with them. The place is immaculately clean with comfortable rooms and bathroom. The food was outstanding cooked by Louise who brought in a bit of her European style to the cuisine. I chose to have all my meals her because of how tasty it is. If you are a little tired of the ocean, you are invited to lounge around in a very slightly chlorinated pool cleaned every day for the convenience of the guests. I had a spectacularly wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The breathtaking white sandy beach is the front yard of the pretty and luxurious but relaxed paradise off the beaten path. We enjoyed the super friendly and attentive hosts who are generous and beautiful people and treat you as if you were their friends. The rooms are pretty and cool, bathrooms a retreat with hot water.
The sparkling pool was a big attraction to our teen girls and us adults alike. At low tide you can walk along the waters edge to the turtle beach. A perfect place to vacation with family and friends.

Room Tip: You have a choice of air or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent 5 days here, relaxing in the pool which looks out to the ocean. Stroll out the gate to the beach which at times you have all to yourself.
We stayed in a room with private bathroom which was large, comfortable, clean and plenty of hot water. Wifi Internet is available but a little slow.
Luise, a new manager, communicates really well prior to your stay and on arrival is very helpful. She was always available for our requests and cooks tasty food if you choose (the soup and salad are highly recommended). There is also a very nice restaurant next door.
A turtle breeding beach is about 5 mins drive away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I went stayed here for 10 days on a vacation to Nicaragua. La Veranera was absolutely beautiful and we were the only ones staying there for half our trip so it was really quiet and relaxing! Just the break we needed from the big city!

Playa el Coco is a 30 minute drive down a dirt road to the nearest town so it's very secluded. Which we really liked! The people working there were really nice and hospitable!

The beach itself is beautiful but the water was a bit cold when we were there (apparently rare for that time of year?). From the beach you can take small hikes to surrounding beaches, which were really nice!

Overall, we had an amazing time and I would definitely recommend it to

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I've lived in Nicaragua for close to 8 months now, and I've traveled around the country a fair bit, and La Veranera is hands down one of my favorite places in the entire country. The beach (Playa El Coco) has beautiful white sand, and clean, warm water, with not-too-big waves just 10 meters from Jim and Ina's house. If you have your own transportation (which I highly recommend), getting to La Veranera is no problem from San Juan del Sur. I have stayed here three times: twice when only Greg and Gonzalo were there, and once with Jim and Ina as well. All four hosts are very warm, very nice and accommodating, and will give you space if you need it. The rooms are all very comfortable and very nicely appointed, and the pool area is what I imagine when I think of paradise. When I retire, I want to build my own place a la La Veranera. Also, I plan to return when the fishing's good sometime in May.

Thanks!! Ben W.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Veranera - Playa El Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranera - Playa El Coco

Address: Playa El Coco, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa El Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Playa El Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Veranera is a boutique beachfront guest house located on the white sands of Playa El Coco, Nicaragua. Designed like an old Nicaraguan Ranch House and equipped with all the modern conveniences it is the ideal destination for adventurers, families and couples. The wide veranda with dining area, billiard table and bar wraps around a crystal clear, blue tiled pool. Just steps away from an uncrowded beach this is the perfect place to get away from it all. La Veranera has three spacious rooms to rent. All of them are equipped with all necessary amenities, have air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Amenities of the house: Beach Front, Boats for trips, fishing or surfing available, All rooms with air conditioning and hot water, Wireless Internet, Satellite TV, Swimming Pool, Private Bar, BBQ, Billiard Table, Private parking, Transportation services available. As the home of Fishing-Nicaragua we can also arrange fishing- and surfing tours as well as boat trips and water taxi. Also check: Fishing Nicaragua on facebook. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranera - Playa El Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.