We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below average, expected more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bahia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bahia Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Bahia Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Way below average, expected more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights in Casa Bahia Hotel, which is now called Bahia Family Adventure and Surf Hotel.

Rooms were clean, but a bit outdated. We had tv, AC, etc. No complaints there. Linnens were a bit old though.

Breakfast and the salad we had were way below average. Salad with beef was literally: greens, a quarter tomato and some grilled meat, no condiments or dressing. Not what we expected from a hotel that charges 70$ a night. Breakfast was simple: Gallo pinto, but completely tasteless. We recommend going to the neighbor towards the beach, Villa Mar, for food.

Location is convenient, close to Marsella beach but a 15/20$ cabride from city san Juan del sur. Keep that in mind if u dont have transportation. On arrival the girl that checked us in promised us a complementary two way ride to the next beach, Maderas. When we wanted to do this the next day she told us their driver was off today, so no complementary ride. We ended up walking 30 mins up- and downhill (one way) to the next beach on dusty roads. The day after we tried again, but that day their driver was on a tour so he wasn't there. Empty promise.

There was also a miscommunication about the price of the room. We agreed on 60$ a night, this was a walk in price, on checkout they charged an extra 10$ tax, this was not what was agreed upon. As the price as supposed to be all-in.

Service was average, all housemaids etc. were sweet and smiling all the time. Girl on the desk (same that promises the complementary ride) was cranky most of the time. Not hospitable at all, everything seemed to be more trouble than a pleasure.

I recommend staying in one of the other hotels near Marsella beach, for example: Casa Maderas eco lodge around the corner offers way better price/quality ratio for $39 a night for a double room and a nicer pool, newer rooms, etc.





Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Meadows, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We just spent 3 nights at Casa Bahai. My wife and our 5 year old daughter really loved our stay. As others have stated, it is about 15-20 minutes away from SJDS, but worth it to have the seclusion and close proximity to Playa Marsella. The beach is a 4-5 minute walk from the hotel. The hosts were nice and helpful. They were both very personable and accommodating.

We were given a couple of choices to get in to the city..take a taxi (about $20 one way) or take a shuttle from a nearby hotel (about $8 round trip, but only at certain times). We utilized both modes. A couple times we even hitched a ride with one of the hotel workers going in to town. Don't depend on this since our schedule was really flexible, but I thought this service was above and beyond.

The food here was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and they had a lot of options to choose from. We were given some options of places to eat that were in the immediate area as well. There isn't a lot around here, but Bar Gaby was one our favorites for dinner.

I liked that they gave us options in regards to transportation and food that would accommodate different budgets and also comfort levels. The pool was very clean and large, but we didn't use it since we spent most of our water time in the ocean. Free wifi was good, A/C in the room worked well and the bathrooms are AMAZING! One of the best I've seen in many years of traveling.

We are hoping to return someday!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua Department, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We've been living in Nicaragua for the last 4 years now, and we're always looking for new places at the beach to stay on the weekends. Of all the hotels we have visited in San Juan del Sur, this is the best so far. Great service, great panoramic view and location, and the price is a nice deal, compared to other places with the same rates but not with the same location and service. The beds are comfy, the bathrooms are clean and they have a recreation area with pool tables and hamacs and we just had a great time there, is quiet, besides the beach doesn't have a lot of visitors so is the right spot if you are looking for a relaxing weekend. The hotel has a restaurant with delicious food. We definitely recommend Casa Bahía Hotel, if you are traveling to Nicaragua do not miss the opportunity to visit this hotel.

Room Tip: The road is a dirt road is better if you get there by car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonMarcia, Manager at Casa Bahia Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
We so enjoyed having you stay at our beautiful hotel and hope you return soon someday! We love hearing all your feedback so we can continue to make Casa Bahia Hotel a fantastic spot away from home. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The property is quite nice and the rooms were clean. But a lot of little things made our stay average. Towels were not changed daily. At 27°C walking up and down hills you work up a sweat, so you shower more often. Only one one plug so it's a pain to charge your devices. No side lamps so if you want to read without disturbing your partner you can't. We had a A/C unit that rattled. There ineffective solutions was to shove some paper behind one of the corners. Breakfast were good. But 2 star level of service at 3 star prices does not make you a 2 1/2 star hotel. Attention to a few more details and they would have it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonMarcia, Manager at Casa Bahia Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
I'm so sorry if certain things did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We pride ourselves in a great location with a relaxed atmosphere where guests can come and go without too much interference from staff. We are always available for your convenience and customer service is certainly our priority. Thank you for writing this review, as we like to know where we can improve our performance and our accommodations. We will be giving special attention to the areas you mentioned here and invite you back someday at a discount to see how things are improving. Again, we very much appreciate all of your comments and concerns. -Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My friends and I arrived for a two night stay here. If you are looking for seclusion,quiet, nature and close proximity to the beach, this is the spot for you. Our rooms were tidy, clean and modest.
Please note that to get to this location, is a 20$ cab ride from town along a bumpy, dusty road. If you want to travel to and from town frequently, rent a car or stay elsewhere. Only once we approached multiple staff (family run business) did we gain some assistance with transportation.

This is a family run business that lacked the feeling of such. The architecture was interesting but lacked comfortable furniture for lounging or with attention for guest comfort.

An additional thing to note, is the religious overtones, including one of the owners wearing Jesus saves shirts and DVDs/Bibles in the reception area. For some, this may not be comfortable, In fact, we thought we may have booked a religious retreat by mistake. This may not be a concern for others, but was for us.

I hate long reviews, so I will omit lengthy details that I found so odd about this accommodation. I am seasoned traveler and also an airbnb host, so I felt it was my obligation to give a detailed review so travelers booking this location know they are basically on your own, with no bottled water in rooms, few amenities outside of breakfast (which may have been leftover rice/beans day 2), locked doors with no emergency contact information, and an overall lack of sincere care about the guests' experience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonMarcia, Manager at Casa Bahia Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed the location and are sincerely apologetic for the ways in which you felt you were "uncared" for. Our goal is great customer service and we are always looking for ways in which we can better our property and our performance. We appreciate your review for these reasons and look forward to giving these areas even more attention in the future. -Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

My wife and spent three relaxing days with Ron and his wife Marsha. The hotel is designed for confort and relaxation. We were amazed at the quality of the meals. Great food and great selections. We will definitely be returning later this year. The only negative was having to leave.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

On a whim my boyfriend and I stopped here to see if they had a room and we were so lucky they did! The family that owns and operates the hotel were wonderful in the way of service and would sit and chat with us. The hotel itself is beautiful and offers many areas to sit and relax. The rooms are spacious with amazing views. We'd easily stay here again without a doubt!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bahia Hotel

Address: Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Marsella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Marsella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Bahia Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 8 bedrooms and private baths. A 3 bedroom 2 bath cabana with kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Observation decks with pool and ping pong tables. Beach is walking distance (150 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bahia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.