We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Gatlinburgh :-( !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Rosa Nicaragua to your Saves list
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
1KM Before Playa Marsella | Marsella Valley, San Juan Del Sur, Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Marsella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American Gatlinburgh :-( !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not quite what I was expecting of a Nicaraguan vacation to be. We had an obnoxious family that took over the bar, pool, and restaurant area the entire time we stayed at the resort so there was no chance of enjoying it. Our bungalow was in dire need of updates. It needed a serious paint job, a good cleaning, a toilet seat that wasn't plastic would help, maybe a few lamp shades that weren't dry rotted and some patio furniture cushions that are made for the outdoors and not made out of bean bag stuffing would have been nice. Oh it might help to put some plants in the pots instead of having empty and broken ones lying all around a bungalow that you are charging $98 a night for!! It doesn't hurt to spray for RED AUNTS either !!
Thanks for a great anniversary NOT!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at MR, I sincerely hope the rest of your travels in Nicaragua were what you were looking for. Controlling behaviors of all, where they come from and mixing it all together is a pretty hard feat. Not sure about the Anti-American comment as the family I think you are referring to are not Americans. Safe travels and Happy Anniversary!!! Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    53
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
100
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My daughter and her boyfriend are travelling around Central and South America and wanted to stay put somewhere for Christmas and New Year. We stumbled across the Mango Rosa. It has amazing reviews and just seemed the perfect spot, Unfortunately due to a last minute change in plans my daughter did not end up staying at the Mango Rosa however I wanted to write this review as the after service was exceptional. We had already paid the full amount to Mango Rosa and even though cancellation was last minute they still had no problem refunding our monies. This is a reputable establishment run by reputable people who you can trust! very refreshing - thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your note and yes I have always been a firm believer wherever you end up in the World, don't forget about your integrity. I trust your daughter had a great stay here in Nicaragua even though they were unable to make to Mango. Hope to see you in the future..Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent one night here after an awful experience in a place down the road. The property was very pretty and well maintained. Greg, the owner, was very nice and shared his experiences with us. The cabaña we stayed in (Costa Blanca) was enormous and just lovely and we were lucky to get it for that night as it was the last room available as it was high season. (I would just recommend a new faucet in the bathroom as it does not extend far enough into the basin and leaks on the floor. ) The food was good as well. It was not the least expensive accommodation for sure but the value was there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for you note and I am glad we could accommodate you for your last night in the area.
Thanks for the heads up on the faucet as well, in fact just replaced it as suggested.
Safe Travels and hope to see you in the future, Safe Travels...Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed over Christmas 2013 with our 5-year-old son while visiting San Juan Del Sur and the northern beaches. My impression of the accommodation was generally very good and we enjoyed ourselves over the few days that we stayed here.

Why to go:

Good location near Playa Maderas and Playa Marsella. It was useful to have a rental car because it is quite a long walk to the beaches. They do, however, offer a shuttle a few times a day from the hotel. The bungalows are tucked amidst the jungle vegetation and we had howler monkeys hanging out right outside our windows on a few occasions.

Comfortable bed and spacious living space with a full kitchen. Good wifi signal.

Nice restaurant and bar. The food and drinks were great and the staff always very friendly. There was also a great tropical vibe with music and travelers always hanging out.

Relaxing pool area, perfect to enjoy a beer or tropical cocktail and our son enjoyed swimming most afternoons after a day at the beach.

Drawbacks:
…were few…
Lots of ants in the kitchen and bathroom (to be expected in a tropical location, though).
No hot water (didn't really mind since the weather was so hot) but this was fixed after bringing it to the attention of the staff.
Distance to SJDS town (could be a good thing or a bad thing).

Overall, a great stay and with high recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for joining us here at Mango, you are your family were very peasant to have for the holidays. thank you for sharing your tips as well, it is very helpful for travelers to know where they are coming and what to expect especially in Nicaragua. Have a Great New Year and hope to see you again...Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My friend and I visited the Mango Rosa for a wonderful 6 days over Thanksgiving 2013. Greg and his staff were wonderful. Dexter went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Jerry and Julio were the best bartenders! By the end of the week, we considered these wonderful people our friends and Nicaraguan family.

Greg and his staff do a great job getting you anywhere you want to go to conquer any adventure. They drove us to the beach, town, arranged paddle boarding, surfing, a trip to Playa Hermosa, a day in Granada, yoga and so much more. They even helped my friend throw me the best birthday party complete with piñata! I will never forget their kindness and hospitality.

The only issue continues to be the road. But Greg and his staff aren't the issue - it's the hired drivers who do not want to do any damage to their cars! They drive 2 mph and it makes it worse going in slow motion. But the rumors continue that it will be upgraded very soon. Regardless - it's Nicaragua and it adds to the adventure! Get over it and just enjoy the beauty and adventure around you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the note and thanks for joining us for your B-Day week celebration. So glad to see you'll take advantage of and enjoy many of the adventures Nicaragua has to offer and the Mango Crew could help make it happen. Good to know as well roads conditions may vary depending on where you journey in Nicaragua, so like you say yeah get over it and enjoy!! Safe travels and hope to see you in the future...Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I and a few of our close friends stayed here for one night (whilst we would've loved to stay a few more nights, we wanted to all be together under one roof but they were all booked) and loved it. Great accommodations, great food, and great people who work here. Greg (the owner) and his staff were so welcoming and gave us personalized treatment, as he did with all his guests that were there. The rooms were spacious and clean and I love how they were all individual bungalows. The food was also very good - DO get the banana pancakes - the best I've ever had. We went offshore fishing with Greg and his staff prepared our catch for us and everything they brought out was so delicious.
Mango Rosa is at the top of my list for the best experiences I've ever had at a hotel! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It was great having you and the group. And yes doesn't get any better than catching your own dinner, one of the many pleasures to share with our guests. I hope the rest of your stay in Nicaragua was equally enjoyable and our paths will cross again some day. In the meantime, safe travels and take care. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I didn't think it possible, but i just returned from my third trip since February to Mango Rosa, and Greg, the owner, made sure it was the best one of all. We went out in his boat for spectacular views of the Pacific coast and a beautiful sunset;Oh yeah, and caught some dorado, which greg had prepared for us to our preferences. On another day, we took our surfboards on the boat and surfed the famous Ponga Drops and Colorado from the boat. We got to surf my favorite, Hermosa beach, several times; never crowded, nice waves, and was the site of a Survivor Nicaragua. As always, the staff there was terrific. If something ever needs fixing or tweaking, or you need another big water bottle, it is taken care of right away. Greg continues to upgrade the beautiful lush property and the facilities, and the grounds are well maintained and everything is very clean. As far as the food, i have tried almost everything on the menu, and it is terrific. On my last night there, greg had his cook prepare a special meal for my son and i of whole fried snapper, lobster and diablo shrimp; very fresh, delicious, and a wonderful gesture by Greg. These are just some of the reasons i can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It's easy to be awesome when we have awesome guests as yourself and your son.....we look forward to you upcoming 4th trip down for some more surf and good times ....Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Rosa Nicaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Address: 1KM Before Playa Marsella | Marsella Valley, San Juan Del Sur, Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Marsella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Marsella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Rosa is the ultimate jump off point for adventure and travel around San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Situated seemingly in the middle of the jungle, but only a short drive to the beach or town. Mango Rosa is a full-service resort providing the perfect combination of comfort and escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Rosa Nicaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Rosa Nicaragua Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Mango Rosa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Rosa Nicaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.