We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stole My Heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Rosa Nicaragua to your Saves list
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
1KM Before Playa Marsella | Marsella Valley, San Juan Del Sur, Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Marsella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver bc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stole My Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

So I went with my friend Brandy who also wrote a review and stole most of my thoughts, or maybe we both just thought the same and loved Mango Rosa! Her's is called "Best Kept Secret" so read it too. So far (and I have just come back from a 5 star resort in Cuba 4 days ago) along with all those resorts mentioned in my friend's review, Mango Rosa is completley different but I love this the best. The people, the food, the activities, the weather is 10 out of 10. Any time we wanted to go any where (beach town etc.) we had a personal driver at our convenience for a nominal fee. Greg the owner and his assistant Dexter (along with ALL the staff of Mango Rosa)
could'nt have been more helpfull and friendly. We were made to feel like family and I am already planning to go back in November!' Can't wait to see everyone again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    53
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
100
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Me and My Girl Friend Love Mango Rosa The rooms are great has everything you could need.Hotel area is close to the beach and a few minutes drive to San Juan also has a great pool and Tasty food. Greg and the staff are very fun and help full took a boat ride did some fishing and rum punch what more can I ask for just a great place when In Nica thanks Greg and staff .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

After traveling off the beaten path for a while, our kids (8 and 10 years old) were delighted to have a clean, spacious, air conditioned room, with a great pool and kid-friendly restaurant.

We were glad to have a ride to the beach a few miles away, but were surprised at the extra charge, as well as a charge for some dilapidated boogie boards. Seems like this ought to be included in the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for joining us at Mango Rosa and for your valuable feedback. After some consideration we have decided to take your advice; Boogie Boards (when available) are now Free and we are implementing a Complimentary Shuttle service to Playa Madera (1.6km away) on a three times a day schedule. Also remember we do have several all-inclusive packages that include meals, activities, transport etc to choose from.

Safe Travels,
Greg Bamford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

By far this is the best trip I have ever been on. Having stayed in the 5 star resorts in Mayan Rivera, Dominican Republic, Barbados, Jamaica, St Lucia, Hawaii, St. Thomas, Palm Springs, New York, I have found the place and the people that stole my heart and I will go back as many times as I can. Mango Rosa has it all, the best food anywhere, fresh lobster, every fruit imaginable, banana pancakes, homemade carrot cake were just a few of my favourites, The best margaritas, and the price, crazy cheap, Greg the owner, and his wonderful staff cannot do enough for you. I love the people, the food, the endless beaches, the wildlife (monkeys everywhere) Fishing on Gregs boat, swimming in the clean warm ocean, made some friends that I can't wait to go back to visit. There are no tour buses, yet I went on some of the best tours ever, Mango Rosa arranges anything you want to do, and the fees are so reasonable, with your own personal driver.

Room Tip: No tips needed here, Greg and his assistant Dexter will make sure your well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My family of three with a four year old girl stayed at the Mango Rosa resort in November of 2011. The resort is conveniently located just outside of San Juan del Sur and is 10 minutes from the spectacular Maderas beach. The Mango Rosa resort offers safe and beautiful accomodations at an affordable rate. The staff is professional and friendly. The restaurant/bar is lovely and provides an excellent culinary experience. The pool is relaxing for adults and perfect for children. The activities offered by the resort were family oriented, well priced and adventurous. We rented a four wheeler along with surf boards and boogie boards; went fishing and the Mango Rosa kitchen made us fish tacos from our fresh catch that evening; the horseback riding trip was spectacular and lead by a knowledgeable local guide. An awesome canopy tour is also available. Other clientele at the resort were international, diverse, with interesting professional backgrounds. This is a fabulous resort for families! Location, service, price, activities, safety and lovely accomodations add up to a fantastic family vacation. THANK YOU TO GREG BAMFORD THE OWNER OF MANGO ROSA FOR MAKING OUR VISIT TO NICARAGUA ONE OF THE BEST VACATIONS OUR FAMILY HAS EVER HAD.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Absolutely the best resort in Nica!! This will be our third year at Mango Rosa. First we did a couple visit, then last year took the whole family ( 6yr old boy and 4 yr old girl) and had an amazing time. The resort has everything you need to feel away from home but AT home! 5 star accommodations, unbelievable food, the staff is the friendliest and most accommodating we have ever experienced. The kids have a blast swimming, surfing at the beach and just exploring the grounds. Adults can relax poolside, beach side or get adventurous and go fishing, zip-lining or hike the volcano. My daughter could not stop talking about the banana pancakes and the smoothies:) My son loved learning to surf the amazing waves within hiking distance from the resort. i highly recommend this as a great family get away.

Room Tip: All accommodations are private 1-3 bedroom homes in a secluded nature setting. you will not find an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have been visiting the Mango Rosa since 2010. It has been great every time. Excellent service, food, tours and accommodations. It is remote and relaxing, but close enough to San Juan to cruise into town for the evening. Can't wait to get back. Feel free to contact me for more info: jh@projectbeisbol.org.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Rosa Nicaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Address: 1KM Before Playa Marsella | Marsella Valley, San Juan Del Sur, Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Marsella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Marsella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Rosa is the ultimate jump off point for adventure and travel around San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Situated seemingly in the middle of the jungle, but only a short drive to the beach or town. Mango Rosa is a full-service resort providing the perfect combination of comfort and escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Rosa Nicaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Rosa Nicaragua Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Mango Rosa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Rosa Nicaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.