We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome at interesting country property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de la Tour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine de la Tour to your Saves list
Domaine de la Tour
Lieu Dit la Tour, 14700 Saint-Pierre-Canivet, Falaise, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at interesting country property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at Domaine de la Tour straight from the Caen ferry. We had a warm welcome from Marc with helpful information about the property and the restaurants in Falaise. We were impressed with the 'serve yourself' facilities of free bottled water, tea and coffee and an honesty box arrangement for wine and beer etc - how very civilised! The room and ensuite were comfortable and quiet and breakfast was delicious with attentive service from Noel. We loved the croissants and home-made jams.

The old farm, attached to a chateau, has been tastefully converted and is surrounded by beautiful gardens and countryside. This is an ideal spot for touring Normandy and very convenient for the Caen ferry. We shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family of 4 adults and 2 grandchildren had a wonderful time here.
It has absolutely everything that a family might need.
The playground and interior play are was suited to young aged 1 to 13 yrs.
It has internet, tv, dvd etc
The 4 ensuite bedrooms provide very comfortable accomodation.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Tour, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about Domaine de la Tour.

Mark Hofman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinus Iridium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Domaine de la Tour is situated in open countryside next to a rather grand chateau, otherwise surrounded by attractive farmland. The hotel buildings are of traditional light stone, and enclose a courtyard of impressive size. Falaise is well equipped with shops, bars, large supermarket and an outstanding castle.
We booked a quad room for 3 adults for 2 nights and were accommodated in a good size en-suite, with breakfast included, for a net cost of E220 which puts in the inexpensive category. This made a useful and enjoyable final stop on our France tour, prior to Ouisteram ferry, 35mins drive away. All in all, we give a very strong recommendation of the hotel.
Hosts Mark and Noel were very friendly and provided lots of useful information on arrival and throughout. Breakfast service was very attentive. It became clear that the hosts worked very hard in order to optimise standards and forge a mutually trusting partnership with guests by way of such details as honesty box for beverages etc. One possible improvement would be to show travel-weary guests to the room BEFORE going through the potentially helpful information on the surroundings.
The room was of very good size and of good standard facilities such as TV.The room was shaped like a pyramid and the ceiling correspondingly emanated to a very high point. En-suite is good although somewhat masculine. Main bed was very comfortable King-Size, and a slightly awkwardly positioned additional single bed was fold-up, perhaps a little disappointing as we booked a quad room. WiFi was hit and miss whether in the room or in the lobby, but was not advertised as a feature. A possible improvement suggestion.
There was a fridge, microwave, crockery etc available for use in a shared room, and bottled water was available FOC. Other drinks such as beer and wine were available for a modest charge. An outside table/bench in extensive parkland area making for enjoyable picnics. The area lends itself to cycling and I wonder whether the hotel could consider providing bicycles?
Breakfast was excellent and generous, and of continental style, with home-made jams, and ham and cheese was also offered to us.
I have made a couple of improvement suggestions, but in view of value, quality, service and location, Domaine de la Tour scrapes 5* even with my fairly stingy judgment. This is helped by a very positive attitude to provide the best for the guests without trying to extract additional cash out of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Tour, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive feedback and your suggestions ! We will work on it in order to further improve our services.

Kind regards

Mark Hofman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped here the night before our ferry from Caen. Got there late, Marc the owner welcomed us, gave us a good selection for food (La Licorne in Falaise) showed us to our rooms then left us to our own devices. As we were off early in the morning we were left a bag of breakfast fresh from the bakery to take. Its a beautiful b and , lovely grounds and I'd fancy staying in the 'cottage'. Falaise is 5 mins drive with William the Conqueror's castle and a nice little Normal town, you're near but far enough to the A88 so easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Tour, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind words following your stay at Domaine de la Tour. I was delighted that you enjoyed the welcome and service we provided you with.

Many thanks

Mark Hofman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breukelen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our way from The Netherlands to Brittany. Our hosts spoke Dutch and English as well as French which was a great advantage when asking about the best places to visit, where to eat etc. They were extremely helpful with lots of tips about the local area and the extras at breakfast (Dutch cheese) were much appreciated. The room was spacious and immaculate with a king size bed (not always easy to find in France). The lounge was well equipped with a microwave, fridge and plenty of bottled water. The surroundings were very pretty and wonderfully quiet. Will definetly be coming back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Three friends and I stayed here while on a classic car driving tour of the region. The owners were perfect hosts and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable (arranging taxis into town etc). The rooms are in a renovated characterful courtyard and are simple but comfortable and very clean. They also have a great 'honesty' bar/fridge in each room - ideal after a long drive. After leaving we received a call to say we'd left an ipad behind - an indication of the integrity of the owners who are role models for running a B&B of this sort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent two nights at Domaine de la Tour and we strongly recommend it. Mark is a great host, he was very nice and helpful and gave us all the information we needed. The room was very nice: nice design, clean and spacious. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a nice dining room downstairs. Also, you can sit outside and have a little picnic. Thank you Mark, it was a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Tour

Address: Lieu Dit la Tour, 14700 Saint-Pierre-Canivet, Falaise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Falaise > Saint-Pierre-Canivet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Pierre-Canivet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de la Tour is a magnificent 18th century farmhouse, situated in peaceful countryside close to the town of Falaise, Lower Normandy.Domaine de la Tour is situated 1km off the main road, surrounded by 500 hectares of forest and agricultural land and only a 5 minutes drive from the motorway A88.The nearest town is Falaise, at 3km where you will find supermarkets, a variety of shops, restaurants, banks, bakeries, an aquatic centre, a weekly market on Saturday morning and the chateau of William the Conqueror. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Domaine de la Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de la Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.