We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bee Hotel

The Bee Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bee Hotel to your Saves list
The Bee Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   44 Market St, Abergele LL22 7AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Abergele B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our very international group of 4 students stayed at the Bee Hotel for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend. Since every single B&B in Conwy was book out, we tried Abergele as nearest location. The night at the Bee Hotel - a very unique experience: At the entrance we were already greeted by loud party music since the night we stayed was a Karaoke/Disco Party at the Pub on the Ground floor. We booked two rooms, one twin, one double on the 2nd floor, both rooms were large but very basic, they appeared reasonably clean. For a little picnic we used the large garden at the back of the house, even containing a playground! By this time it was 7-8 pm, already there were people enjoying a couple of beers in the grass, two large speakers filled the air with techno beats. Since we are all young and students we well enjoyed this "special" atmosphere, however I wouldn't recommend it to families with young children or business travelers. We even came into the Pub for a few drinks and some Karaoke - A great fun!!! However, since we had an exhausting day we went to our rooms at around 10 pm. BUT: The party was going on! The windows are terribly isolated, so we could hear every conversation, every beat and every song of the loud party going on in the Pub and on the street. Somehow we feel asleep really quick, however, you should make sure that there is no "Disco/Karaoke-Party" going on.
Our breakfast was average, everything was quite greasy, the coffee was some instant drink. BUT: Great staff and really friendly service. Harry apologized a thousand times for oversleeping, he wanted to make a special breakfast for his "international group".
Over all: Reasonably clean rooms, unique atmosphere and a great staff! Make sure that there is no party on the night you are staying and you have a treat for PRINCE the large, black dog!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
12
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Apparently, Queen Victoria's coach changed horses there so it's quite an old hotel! The staff are ever so helpfull, but the best kept secret in Abergele is the food served in the bar. Don't know how the Chef does such tasty meals at such a reasonable price. We found the place when touring with our campervan and had a number of meals during our fortnight's holiday. Will eat there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The entrance is not ideal for families - too close to the rowdy pub and stinking of beer and cigarette smoke. The music went on until late and could be heard in the room, though not loudly enough to bother us much - didn't wake the kids. Lightweight cotton curtains so the room was bright from early in the morning. The family room was a great size with basic but adequate fittings. Bathroom fixtures seemed mid-repair but working. Shower had good water pressure - nice and hot.
The main problem was that no one showed up at 8.30 to provide breakfast - had to help ourselves to milk out of the kitchen and give the kids cereal in coffee mugs. We left to find ourselves breakfast elsewhere at 9.15, - still no sign of any staff, and some fairly irate fellow customers still waiting! Definitely would not visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has Nice clean rooms and friendly staff , it has an amazing beer garden and a good food menu , Harry the landlord makes a good curry u have got to try it !!!, would recommend this hotel to any one !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Period hotel, in centre of town. Easy to find.Somewhat dated. Needs decorating.
Welcoming and friendly but could do with a few more staff as the "guvnor" is virtually a one man band. How he manages to stay so cheerful is one of life's mysteries.
Limited menu but food well cooked and tasty.
Rooms basic but comfortable.
Make sure when booking in about payment. Some online booking sites take your card details and give you the impression they have forwarded payment but haven't.
Good value. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are "quieter". Parking better than at first looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing wrong with the room (quite nice actually) and helpful staff.

Place itself probably needs a bit of renovation, but so what? Recommended if you just need somewhere quite basic. No complaints and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stopped here for work commitments its a tired run down place our first night caused problems straight away our room was freezing the central heating wasn't working & the window had no casement stays on so it was constantly ajar there was also a damp fusty smell we complained and a friendly & sympathetic girl who seemed to be doing everything moved us to another room which was a family room slightly warmer the best things in the rooms was the showers same damp fusty we didn't have breakfast due to it not starting till 8.30am the manager left us cereal etc but after going downstairs & about breaking our necks as the place was in complete darkness at 7am I was put off by a particularly dirty bowl I was about to use needless to say I won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bee Hotel

Address: 44 Market St, Abergele LL22 7AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Bee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bee Hotel Abergele, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.