We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place... Food poising from breakfast is a deal breaker.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcaldine Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barcaldine Castle to your Saves list
Barcaldine Castle
Benderloch | By Oban, Benderloch PA37 1SA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing place... Food poising from breakfast is a deal breaker.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely castle... Ronnie and Co were great hosts and went the extra mile for our group. This would be a 5/5 except the Scottish breakfast gave us ( everyone in our party that had it) food poisoning.

Hopefully this was a one-off occurrence...

Summary... Wonderful place, great service... Just need to mind the food safety

I would go back (... But will have the fruit for breakfast)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcaldine10, Manager at Barcaldine Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at The Castle, however we are disappointed with your adverse comment.
We consistently maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and hygiene throughout the premises as is borne out in our previous reviews.
Two consecutive late nights in the hostelries of Oban, with little to eat would be the more likely cause of illness.
On departure, the balance of your bill was requested. This included the legitimate charge for the extra room occupied for both nights.
This clearly caused upset and is perhaps the more accurate reason for such a spurious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
143
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was my first time staying in a castle but one night was not enough. To get the full benefit I would suggest booking up for longer. My friend and I arrived after a fairly long drive and were greeted by Ronnie who showed us into a cosy sitting room (with blazing fire) and brought us tea along with delicious biscuits and tablet. This friendly manager chatted with us for a while then showed as the great hall/dining area and our bedroom (Airds). This was beautifully decorated and there was even a little writing area in the turret. The tea-tray was the best I've ever seen and the bed super comfortable. We had ordered the supper which was tasty and ate it in the atmospheric dining room- Christmas decorations, lit candles and a toasty, flaming fire.
After a great nights sleep, we had a lovely breakfast with quality food. All the rooms were clean and the service fantastic. Liz and Ronnie are wonderful managers and pleasant, helpful people. Sad to be leaving after our short stay but took photos of the castle, grounds and stunning views of Loch Crerar and surrounding snow-capped mountains as we left. Thanks Liz and Ronnie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

In September 2012 we had the extraordinary pleasure to stay in the Argyll room of Barcaldine castle. It was simply wonderful. At Barcaldine you get what you see. Upon arriving, Ronnie sat down with us and asked about our trip, asked about our breakfast wishes and made sure we were comfortable. Then he showed us our room and it was the best room ever. Most comfortable bed, a fireplace, a make-up table, a nice selection of toiletries and snacks and the biggest shower I have ever seen. We were even able to dance in it.

Ronnie then proceeded to show us the dungeon and told us about the ghost of the castle and the secret passageways (when we only found one, he was happy to show us the rest).

They also have excellent recommendations on where to go out for dinner. When you like seafood ask about the fish restaurant with the red roof in Oban.

When we got back from our dinner for the night, we enjoyed sitting in the living room where Ronnie had already lit a fire. It was just heaven!

The Great Hall is just impressive with many things to explore like an oooold family bible.

Breakfast was great, too and lasted us through the day. I loved the fruit salad, my boyfriend the Haggis.

We so dream of going back there one day and hope we will be able to make that happen.

Room Tip: The Argyll room is a bit smaller but most romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the castle for a wee quick honeymoon and had an amazing time! Stayed in The Barcaldine room and couldn't fault it at all, from the delicious chocolates on the bed on our 1st day to the warm cosy bathrobes and best hospitality tray I have ever saw! Ronnie and Liz were fantastic hosts with Ronnie going over and above the usual customer service and taking myself and my new husband to the local restaurant since it was the 1st night of our honeymoon, couldn't ask for better service than that! The views from the castle are stunning, everything about the castle was just amazing. I would definatley recommend Barcaldine Castle to anyone wanting a special relaxing time away, it's fantastic and thanks to Ronnie and Liz for making our stay even more enjoyable with their excellent hospitality!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a short night's sleep, what a wonderful place to rest your head and savour the hospitality of Liz and Ronnie, the managers. They were kind enough to let us check-in early so that we could have a rest in our glorious room at the top of the castle stairs, after our flight and drive from USA.
The room was beyond spacious, well appointed, with a luxurious bathroom that had a view overlooking the countryside and the loch.
We had the pleasure of being surrounded by a swarm of wonderful antique cars which added to the charm and stateliness of the castle.
Breakfast was a delight, beautifully prepared and served.
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, David, which enabled us to sing the praises of this delightful place and that of the managers.

Room Tip: Our room was three flights up a steep and winding circular staircase: our recommendation is that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our daughter was married last weekend (13/10/12) at Barcaldine Castle. What a fantastic venue with 5 luxury bedrooms all beautifully appointed - we booked out the Castle. Have seen previous comments about Liz and Ronnie, the managers - how good they are - well sorry not true - they are actually out of this world!!!! Fantastic they put up with all of us and felt like part of our family. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts alone were well worth staying for and love all the rooms. The main hall was beautifully decorated and the staff who were helping quickly changed the look of the rooms. Whilst we were having the wedding breakfast the rooms were all cleaned and fresh. Liz and Ronnie even organised good weather for us to have the pictures taken outside. Absolutely marvellous come stay you will love it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Attended a wedding at Barcaldine Castle this past weekend and it was lovely. The venue is stunning. Small but cosy. Spiral stairs take you to the grand room and a lovely adjacent sitting room. Further up the stairs are the 5 stunning bedrooms all tastefully decorated. There is a dungeon and cellar to store your drinks. No licence so take your own and pay corkage. We were attending a friends wedding. It was a perfect venue and was for the sole use of us for two days. It was great just wandering around the castle and it felt homely and comfortable. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We had afternoon tea as part of the wedding celebrations and there was lots of food to keep everyone happy. Children had great fun exploring the secret passages in the castle walls. Great venue for something different but on a smaller scale. We were lucky to escape the rain and have lots of lovely photos outside with the castle as the back drop but lots of photo opportunities inside including beside the roaring fire in the huge fire place. Not accessible for those with walking issues. Its a castle its old!

Room Tip: All of the rooms individually decorated. Any would be lovely to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcaldine Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine Castle

Address: Benderloch | By Oban, Benderloch PA37 1SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcaldine Castle offers something truly beautiful. A Scottish Castle set on the shores of Loch Creran with breathtaking views of the snow-capped mountains of Glencoe in early Spring to the golden colours of Autumn - a memorable experience awaits you.The sumptuous interiors are carefully designed to encourage our guests to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of relaxation. Unobtrusive and calm, we aim to make your stay as memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Barcaldine Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcaldine Castle Hotel Benderloch
Barcaldine Castle Benderloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcaldine Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.