We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An-Struan

Save Saved
You added An-Struan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
An-Struan
Ceum-Dhun-Righ, Benderloch PA37 1ST , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and were extremely impressed with this B&B. We were met by Sarah, the owner, on arrival and she could not have been more welcoming, offering us tea and freshly baked scones and traybakes. The room was comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom in particular was as good as any we have seen in any hotel or B&B. The breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice available, including a list of "specials" alongside the usual options. Sarah and Gary clearly enjoy putting extra effort into their business, and it really shows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at An-Struan, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your great report of our house. It was a pleasure having you both here. We try and make the house as comfortable as possible for guests. Hope to see you again in the future. Sarah & Gary Knowles,Anstruan,Benderloch, near Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Homey, comfortable with very welcoming, thoughtful hosts is how I would describe our stay at An-Struan. Benderloch is not a traditional, historic village, but rather more of a small suburban development just outside of Oban. It is well located for seeing the sites and having access to the ferries which travel to the Isles of Mull, Iona, Staffa and Linsmore.

Sarah and Gary provide immaculate en suite rooms with comfortable beds and fresh, cooked to order breakfasts. Sarah's homemade breads are a real treat. Their home is decorated with family photos and personal memorabilia.

For a quick lunch or dinner, there is a restaurant right across the street from An-Struan that has good food and a cute little bookshop. Be sure and tell the owner that you are staying at An-Struan and you might get a small treat when you pay your bill.

From the moment you enter, you are guests in Sarah and Gary's home, quite different from a guesthouse or hotel. This bed and breakfast is more than just a business to Sarah and Gary. It is their passion to satisfy and assist their guests. My favorite part of our three-day stay was meeting Alfie and Evie, their two well-behaved and entertaining dogs.

We highly recommend having lunch or dinner at the Pierhouse Hotel and Seafood Restaurant which is right in front of where you catch the small ferry to Linsmore. It has indoor and outdoor seating with a lovely view of the water.

We also enjoyed sitting beside the shores of the Loch Creran for dinner at The Creagan Inn, all just minutes from An-Struan by car. I do advise that you always have your midge repellent handy since it can get pretty buggy. Without fail we put it on daily before venturing out to explore the area. The midges damp, shady areas and invade in force at dusk, so I always had Skin Soft on to keep them at bay! It worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay, the welcome is very warm. Sarah and Gary go out of their way to make their guests comfortable and welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We will be sure to go back again the next time we are in the area and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Sarah and Gary are amazing hosts. This was our third visit to An Struan and now I've discovered tripadvisor can't wait to tell everyone what a great place this is to stay. Very conveniently situated and easy to find, a warm welcome assured. Delicious home baking, including imaginative breakfast "specials" plus eggs from their own hens, Sarah's home-made bread and marmalade. Far from being content with their already high standard, Sarah and Gary continually strive to update and improve facilities for their guests. You would have to pay serious money for accommodation like this in a hotel and the comforting sight of their dog, Alfie, snoozing by the wood-burner on a cold, winter night is priceless. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend arranged to stay at An-Struan B&B for one night whilst travelling throughout scotland. We booked through LateRooms.com. Overall price was good. Sarah & Gary really did make us feel welcome, they offered us hot drinks on arrival as well as small snacks which really does make all the difference. Rooms were great, really cosy and warm (ideal for the winter nights in Benderloch!) Really good breakfast. Would really recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Sarah & Gary pull out all the stops to make you feel comfortable, and at home.
The house and rooms are very comfortable, and very clean. We were welcomed with coffee and home baking (delicious), and made welcome in their lounge.
We were visiting Benderloch as we had a gig in the nearby North Connel Village Hall. This meant a late evening return for us, but this posed no problem for the owners.
Breakfast was fantastic, with a wide range of choices available, and cooked to perfection.

Overall first class!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

After making a late decision to visit Oban and only booking the B & B the night before we were delighted with our choice and enjoyed our 4 night stay, coming and going as and when we pleased. Sarah and Gary were warm, friendly and very welcoming. Nothing was a trouble to them, even making space in their shed to accommodate our bikes. The room was clean, comfortable and contained everything we needed (even warm comfy dressing gowns).
The breakfasts were a delight, with an excellent choice and more than ample portions. Our hosts were more than happy to cater for our personal choices even if they varied from the menu.
We enjoyed our morning chats with Sarah and Gary, who were able to provide information on local events and attractions.
We would thoroughly recommend An Struan to anybody holidaying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An-Struan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An-Struan

Address: Ceum-Dhun-Righ, Benderloch PA37 1ST , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior bungalow situated in the village of Benderloch, 7 miles North of Oban. All rooms En-suite. Four Star grading from the Scottish Tourist board. Guest Sitting room (with Log Fire). Dining room and large garden with picnic tables. Yummy breakfasts served between 0800-0900. There is also a restaurant within walking distance. Close to nearby beaches and forest walks. An ideal base for touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Friendly hosts. Relaxed atmosphere. Home made bread and preserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your An-Struan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An-Struan Benderloch, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An-Struan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.