We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
nottingham
1 review
“very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

we were made to feel very welcome at wheeldon trees. Beautiful spot. Great to have the extra games room to occupy the children. would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
194
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had a great stay here in this lovely converted farm. The cottage was immaculate and supplied with all the extras like washing up materials and kitchen wrap and paper etc. The surrounding countryside is ideal for walkers, so if you like walking up hill and down dale, this is a great spot.

There were several good pubs and tea places in the area - all helpfully listed by the owners in their info file.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

We had booked three cottages for our family group. All the cottages were extremely well furnished and equipped to a very high modern standard, and were very comfortable indeed. One could not have expected more. The farm, located in a beautiful setting, has a calm and relaxed atmosphere, with good local walks nearby.The hosts, Martin and Deborah, were friendly and attentive, and could not have done more for us, even when the group was doubled in size with the arrival of more family members. The Long Room, usually available for games, was allotted to us for a family lunch, which was a high point in our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We booked the Bank holiday weekend to stay in Elliot Cottage and we had a superb time. We had pre-arranged a hamper to be available full of lovely homemade butter and wonderful eggs from the Wheeldon chicks amongst other things which was a really nice touch. If we did run out though there was plenty of produce in the well-stocked freezers on site.
Deborah, Martin and Oz (their dog) were there on arrival to welcome us and we had a wonderful relaxing time. A nice central spot to explore the Peak District. It was lovely to find a place that truly welcomes well-behaved dogs, and George, our Westie, had a great time - even visiting a local pub with us for lunch (The Royal Oak, a must-visit if only to sample their wonderful homemade chips!)
The cottage was well-equipped with everything you could need and great mod-cons (flat screen TV / WiFi). Also it was lovely to relax in your own little patio in the evening. A very clean, spacious and welcoming place to stay, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

You look at all these reviews for different places and sometimes think "Nothing can be that perfect". Then you stay at Wheeldon Trees Farm and you find that is is possible and that perfection is achievable. The accommodation is well furnished and equipped beyond what you might reasonably expect. The cottage is warm and hot water is always available. There's good walking from the time you step foot outside the door and pubs without number to save you having to prepare food. I don't think anybody could fail to enjoy a holiday at Wheeldon Trees Farm.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We booked 3 cottages for a family weekend. The accomodation was first class - very clean and all the mod con's you could ask for. Very good value. The kids loved it as they could run around in complete safety without adults getting in the way! We made the most of the Long Room and prepared and enjoyed several meals for 16 people. The games and toys available were great. The setting is so beautiful and the views fantastic. Martin and Debra were excellent hosts. Very friendly and available. Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Fantastic accomodation in a beautiful location. Lots of those little touches that make all the difference (toiletries in the bathroom, very comfortable beds, breakfast hampers and food in the freezer to buy if you wanted). Martin and Deborah were very helpful and their environmental policy is great. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list