We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hartburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

First class accommodation but it was the other small touches that made this stay so special. The food larder saved any extra trips to find our evening meal, the wild flower field gave our new untrained dog time to run free without the worry of him ever escaping. The printed guides to walks from the door were an excellent idea. The list goes on and we cannot wait to return next year for another stress free week.

Room Tip: All cottages are of the same high standard so your choice would depend only on the number of beds yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
208
190
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Everything has been thought of at Wheeldon Trees; Martin and Deborah have created extremely comfortable accommodation with many extras that make it that bit more special. We were impressed with the number of food items in their 'larder' available for guests to buy, the kitchen has all the utensils you might need (and some you might not!) while the bathroom was stocked with lovely soap, shampoo etc. They are very hospitable, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed 4 days and did not get the car out once as the property is ideally situated for walking and the walks were lovely, as it's a very pretty area. Two good eating pubs are within half an hour's walk and both of them were dog friendly (even wet dog!). Really excellent, can't praise it highly enough, thanks for a lovely break, I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Just look at their website, it's stuffed with information to help you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

What can I say, the cottage was wonderful,Deborah and Martin were the perfect host if you needed anything you just asked. Well worth a visit. Lovely views and within easy access to popular areas within the Peak District. Very Eco friendly which we liked. Our dog loved it. Dog friendly places to eat especially TheRoyalOak. We stayed in the Mycockcottage it was extremely clean and very comfortable with lovely views of the valley. Memorable visit.

Room Tip: Go onto web site see you tube clips ,were you can see the cottages .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in Elliott cottage, what a lovely place. There was everything that you would need for the whole family including the dog!
Very pretty countryside & views from the cottage, great location & lovely home cooked meals provided. Really like the Eco friendly approach I have invested in the ecoballs for my washing since being home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was our second visit and our return to this wonderful location did not disappoint. The cottage we stayed in was fabulous with every need we might have anticipated. The views from the cottage will stay with us forever. The children loved the freedom to roam and spend time with the owners sheep and chickens - something they'd don't get to do often. The cottages are cosy and beautifully decorated and the owners incredibly helpful and welcoming. We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We selected a cottage on this farm through babyfriendly boltholes due to free extras being provided such as stairgates and a highchair. We were not disappointed. We received excellent communication prior to arrival and a warm welcome on the day. The cottage was a good standard and really well equipped. Really clean. Only negative would be that the master bedroom was on the small side but there was loads of storage to compensate. Deborah was amazing - welcoming our little boy and.giving him the opportunity to feed the lambs and hens. She found us a babysitter. Recommended lovely restaurants. Booked us a taxi home and martin even gave us a lift to our restaurant on one.evening. Nothing was too much trouble. The farm is in an amazing location with beautiful views and walks on the doorstep plus Buxton and bakewell are nearby. Would highly recommend to anyone considering a stay in the peak district. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

An outstandingly beautiful setting "resting" among the hillsides.We were generously given an upgrade which we really appreciated as it gave us and our dogs Max and Buddy more space.Greeting home made biscuits,cake and dog treats were great for a taster of the week to come as far as friendliness and care were concerned.The cottage was very homely straight away for us and our dogs.It would have been the perfect place to unwind whatever the weather!
There was comprehensive information provided about places to go,food,walks and even a history of Wheeldon trees and origins of place names!

Room Tip: Check the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.