We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parsons House B&B

Parsons House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parsons House B&B
Save
You added Parsons House B&B to your Saves list
Mill Lane | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed here now two times Parson house is a true gem and David is great , the breakfast is outstanding, I had two of my party who did not eat meat , David sorted out fish for there breakfast each day ,
would definitely come back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My partner John and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Parsons House. We loved the decor and character of the house. Breakfast was first class.
Hopefully will return as I loved the village of Hartington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once again did our September stay,and,once again Parsons House is simply the best.
The breakfast,with its porrige to die for and "breakfast trifle" for starters is unbeatable and the fuul English is the best anywhere.
With its unusual bespoke fittings and furniture,Parsons House is truly the best and David and Ali are the most welcoming of hosts.
Kay and Stan Wimpress

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My son and I loved our stay at this great B&B. This beautiful house with lots of character was easy to find, the pub and shops were all within walking distance. Nothing was too much trouble, and breakfast was just delicious. Very very impressed, I'd hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I almost didn't write a review in order not to let anyone know about this place.
The reason for that was to keep it secret just for us.

However this idea won't work as I realise it already has a great reputation and it can't be kept a secret!

We stumbled upon this place by accident and my word, was it a find! Often booked up, we were lucky to get a room.

You must try for yourself. It is just such a lovely house and David is a warm, welcoming and knowledgeable host.

The room we had was on the small side but superb and delightful. Bathroom was great and the whole ambience is cool, stylish and comfortable.

The breakfasts are legendary and I can say with confidence that whatever choice of breakfast you make ,you will be more than happy.

Highly recommended and we will return.

5 stars for everything!

Room Tip: Great B & B at the heart of Derbyshire! You can't go wrong in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at the Parson's House last week with a fishing pal just for one night. All I can say is a few so called 'Bijou Hotels' i've stayed at could learn a thing or two from the host David and his beautiful, quirky and arty home. Arriving after a hard days fishing on the river Dove he welcomed us with a lovely large pot of tea.....showed us our delightful rooms, asked us what time we'd like breakfast and said no need to set your alarms boys i'll wake you up with a cup of tea....which he duly did the following morning at 7.30. followed by one of the best breakfasts we'd ever had!!!!!Charming host, beautiful house, fantastic breakfast and simply exceptional value for money....we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed here twice and recommended to others. Why? It simply has the best breakfast we have eaten and its quirky ambience and the warm welcome make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parsons House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons House B&B

Address: Mill Lane | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Parsons House Hotel Hartington
Parsons House Bed And Breakfast
Parsons House B&B Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parsons House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.