We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Base for walking Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manifold Inn to your Saves list
The Manifold Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Ideal Base for walking Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Just returned from a really nice short break in the Peak District, with my husband and two friends. We stayed at Manifold Inn in Hulme End, just outside Hartington and had a very pleasant stay. Old outhouses/ annex buildings seem to have been utilized and converted to guest rooms, as well as a couple of rooms in the main building. Because of this, sadly, the views from the rooms aren’t of the lovely surrounding scenery but of main Inn/pub building and the car park. Rooms are individually (& recently re-) decorated and laid out, so some are smaller than others. Ours wasn’t the largest room I’ve ever stayed in but was fine for what we wanted. Our bedroom was very clean. While the bathroom was also clean it did feel a bit “tired” However I did feel for the rate we paid, our room was what you would expect.
Our friend’s room next door was smaller than ours however and was just that bit too small for comfort; also it had less storage space. Our main gripe was the shower. Our friends also experienced the same problem. It seemed that if anyone else was using theirs in our block the pressure dropped to a dribble and/or the water went cold. Like true Brits we didn’t mention anything until we checked out when the manager assured us if we had mentioned it earlier it would have been investigated. He said there had been a plumber working on our block earlier in the week on an unrelated issue. He assured us he would get him straight back in to investigate. Breakfast was very good and set us up for our day’s walking. The evening menu was quite varied for a pub and with a range of prices. All the food we had in the 3 evenings we were there was very nice, which was great as all you want after a long walk is to meander down to the bar and have a nice meal and a few drinks before limping off to bed! One bonus we had was that the local brass band used the (closed) restaurant for rehearsal on Sunday evening, so we had a free concert while we ate. In summary The Manifold Inn is ideal base for a walking holiday in the Peak District in this price range & we would return if going back to this area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    29
    11
    25
See reviews for
41
136
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We have read adverse reports about the Manifold Inn at Hulme End and must say it is apparent that the new management have transformed the place. Six of us had Sunday lunch there last week and we were delighted in all ways. The service, quality of cooking and food were all excellent and we shall certainly be returning. We wholeheartedly recommend the Manifold Inn although we cannot comment on the rooms as we did not stay overnight but will certainly consider it in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

My partner and I stayed in a double room at the Manifold Inn (which is in Hulme End rather than Buxton, as the address suggests) for a family gathering - in total 13 of us stayed at the inn.

The Manifold's main building is a large pub, serving lots of nice beers and very generous food (priced like a gastropub, but the portions are better). It does a number of special offers, such as buy-one-get-one-free on fish dishes on Fridays. It has a medium sized conservatory at the rear where breakfast is served.
Two old barns behind the pub have been converted into a number of double rooms. All those that we saw were tastefully decorated (I have to admit I loved the colour scheme, neutral colours with plummy and mauve theme - sounds horrid but actually very nice...). All have ensuite bathrooms, and all were very very clean and had nice new furnishings. There were tea and coffee-making facilities, biscuits and water as well as a television in each room.

Breakfast was brilliant, cereals and fruit and toast with conserves, as well as a full english (or anything you can think of along the lines of a cooked breakfast, such as poached eggs, etc). The hosts were very keen to accommodate any combination of breakfast requests.

Only a few things were troublesome during our two-night stay:

* the rooms did get very hot, so that we had to have the windows open at night. In October! In the peak district!
* first evening, showers were brilliant. Hot, high pressure, etc. However the following morning (perhaps because our entire party were getting ready to go out simultaneously) the water went cold and pressure dropped. It did not improve before we left. It is pretty unusual to have tank-linked showers in such a recently renovated building - power showers would not have had this problem!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Manifold and if I was passing through that way again, I would definitely consider staying there again - the bar has a wonderful atmosphere that is becoming a bit rare as village pubs shut down. Oh, and the local "harvest" ale was delicious.

  • Liked — Fantastic lively pub and stylish decoration of bedrooms
  • Disliked — Showers in all of our rooms ran out of hot water and pressure after the first night.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Manifold Inn was in an excellent position for a walking weekend. We found the pub and restuarant to be very good and the food first class.

The room was comfortable, but small and lacking in modern technology.

The staff were friendly and obliging

  • Liked — Pub Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lack of TV channels
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We booked a 2 night stay at the Manifold inn as a quiet weekend getaway, it provided the perfect base for walking and cycling in the local area, which was beautiful, helped by fantastic weather!
Booking over the phone was easy and the lady taking the booking was friendly and helpful, advising us to book a table for dinner to avoid dissappointment.
On arrival, late on Friday evening, the bar and restaurant areas were clearly busy but the manager found time to check us in and show us to our room.
The room (no.3) which is situated upstairs in a seperate block behind the pub, was clean and well decorated with a very comfortable double bed. Clean sheets and towels were provided, good tea and coffee making facilities and a small wall mounted TV. It was quiet and relaxing and we slept very well. Plenty of hot water for showers in the morning and evening.
Service in the bar area took some time as it was very busy but all staff were friendly.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and was tasty but quite greasy! Cerial, juice, toast, tea and coffee also provided, along with full English. We asked for scrambled eggs and crispy bacon the following morning which was delicious, however brown bread would have been nice.
The manager clearly worked very hard, he was there to serve breakfast and dinner, always friendly and helpful, and is an asset to the pub.
The dining room in the restaurant was beautifully decorated and well furnished, providing a tranquil and romantic setting for dinner, which was tasty traditional food. The steak and ale pie was delicious, and generous portions! The perfect end to a long day of walking.
This place was a real find, old country pub with modern accommodation, in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would reccommend staying here, we will definately be back, Thank you.

  • Liked — Countryside location
  • Disliked — No bath!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Went to stay at The Manifold as my son was doing his D of E in the area. Booked a couple of days ahead with no problems. On arrival we booked our evening meal. One hour after our booking time and we still had no food the whole place seemed to be understaffed and this led to alot of complaints from other customers. The pub was incredibly busy but no one seemed to want to take control or explain to customers about the delay. When the food arrived it was average at best.
We stayed in the disabled room (we are not disabled) the furnishings etc were of a very high standard. However there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom which remained for our stay (drains were being rodded as we left) there was no where to leave wet towels to dry , no plug in the wash basin and the shaving mirror would have been useless if you had been iin a wheelchair as it was far too high.
Breakfast was good but the faces we saw at breakfast were all those people who had been complaining the night before it seemed as though if you were a guest you were among the last to get served with food at night.
Unfortunately would not stay there again the food was also a little expensive. Lots of inns in nearby Hartingdon worth a try.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We were a bit nervous about staying at the Manifold Inn following some reviews on the internet. On arrival, we realised our worries were unfounded. Our room was newly refurbished as was the restaurant. Breakfast is usually at 9am, although the room is open from 8.45 for cereals etc and we were given the option of eating earlier. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, where the food was very good but the service was slow, however the manager was apologetic, explained the reason for the delay and offered us some recompense. The location is excellent for walking.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manifold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.