We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hostelry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manifold Inn

Save Saved
You added The Manifold Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manifold Inn
Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cosy hostelry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Read good reports about this place being refurbished with new management and decided to book in case we couldn't get a table. We were shown through to the dining room at the rear of the pub and I commented out loud that it was empty! In hindsight, I wish the waitress had offered us the option of sitting in the pub part where we discovered after we had eaten that everyone else was eating! It would not have made us feel like we were eating in a goldfish bowl. Also I was not happy with the constant stream of people using the dining room as a thoroughfare to get to the car park or go out for a fag!!!!! The food was good and so was the service though but it could have been better to eat with everyone else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    67
    26
    10
    21
See reviews for
29
106
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My tame postman and I took a Groupon overnight break to this lovely Inn. The welcome was as warm as the open fire (v warm) and the portions were as ample as the 'Queens' throne which is next to the bar. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. After sampling some of their range of beers, I settled into the Queen's throne for the evening and settled on a glass or two of 'Shipyard' (which, thankfully do not remind me of a shipyard at all).
We took our repose in a beautiful en-suite room and awoke to a lovely breakfast.
A great Pre Christmas treat! Happy Days!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Really impressed by the food and service, everything nicely presented and staff very helpful. We pre ordered lunch as a walking group (23 of us) and had a very pleasant experience. Tables had been laid up in the conservatory for us and even included Christmas crackers which was a lovely touch at this time of year. Great that we could leave our cars in the car park whilst we were on the walk and dogs allowed in the bar area also a bonus

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from a two night break including breakfasts and a three course meal at The Manifold Inn. Smashing pub with great beer and food. We were in room 1, upstairs in an out-building. The room was not large but quite adequate, clean, warm, with a good shower room with plenty of hot water. The location of the pub is great for walkers or people just having a drive around the Peak District. The staff were friendly and accommodating. They were just starting a programme of decoration/up-dating, so it will be even better before too long. The pub is very dog-friendly, which is great if you like dogs, but if, like my wife, you hate them, then it's not so great particularly when you're trying to eat a meal whilst someone is trying to control a boisterous bear like creature just behind you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here with my mum on a groupon offer and we were both really pleased with the service that we received. on arrival we asked to change from a double room (as I had originally planned to stay there with my husband) to a twin room which they were happy to do for us. we then had a lovely 3 course evening meal and were able to choose a dish from the main menu that was not on the groupon menu and were not charged any supplement. At around 11.30pm I could no longer cope with my mums snoring so asked if I could book another room which was sorted for me straight away and I was told that I could sort payment out in the morning, which was nice as I was really tired. when I went to make payment in the morning I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had only been charged £20 and not the full price of the room. Breakfast was delicious and their was plenty of choice on offer. The conservatory where we ate our meals was lovely and cosy and all the staff that we came across were really polite, friendly and helpful. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and I will be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Manifold Inn as two couples. The rooms are in an Annex building not very far away from the pub. The place is very quiet, and there's a little stream running behind the rooms, although it isn't a pretty stream you can hear in from your room gently making you need the toilet!

The room itself was basic and clean. It was freezing cold, but heated nicely as you can control the radiator easily. The bathroom was suitable for disabled people, which seemed helpful if you needed that. The shower was so weak it took a good five mins to rinse the soap from my hair. The beds were comfy.

Breakfast was a choice of full english. On enquiry they do a veggie version, but differed each monring as to what they gave you. Was nice and well cooked.

Meals in the pub restaurant were decent for the price. The battered fish was big. Everything seemed ok for the price, seen better but seen a lot worse.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

yes we stayed here on a groupon deal and its was a nice bargain.
We were having this meal for our pearl wedding and so it could be a little special i emailed ahead to let them know.
On our table there was a card and a balloon also some confetti also which just gave it that little special touch.
The room was small and in need of a bit of TLC but they are in the middle of a bit of upgrading due to change of owners.
The staff were all nice and helpful.
The bar was quite busy for a wednesday eve and the drinks were going down a treat.
i am sure we will go again if in that area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manifold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.