We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Manifold Inn to your Saves list
The Manifold Inn
Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in February 2013 for one night. The food is poor, the rooms are average and the manager is extremely rude. The hotel double booked the rooms and gave two keys out to different parties. The management clearly have no idea how to manage. To see proof of this, just read their arrogant unapolagetic replies to any poor reviews they have been given. Take my advice and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Same party as the other unfair reviews below, so same response given again:-

The Manifold Inn had indeed gone into administration a few weeks beforehand and this was mostly down to poor management not having an understanding of finances. This is echoed by the fact that you were quoted only £7.50/head by the old management which is the cost of a Macdonald's and far too low for any hotel to provide food of our exacting standards. This is why the other quote offered to you by the Charles Cotton was double - it is because the Charles Cotton prices were correct.

The Manifold has a licence to serve alcohol until 12.30 and it would be illegal to continue after this hour. I see that you have failed to point out that some members of your group tried to smuggle their own alcohol into the Manifold which is unacceptable behaviour and unfair on an industry already struggling to make margins in todays climate. Its also a very poor start to the festivities in front of the staff and management.

You also seem to have fallen short of mentioning that there were fights within your group. Indeed the police had to be called and people were breathalysed before being sent home. This behaviour is totally unheard of in our area and we were relieved when the party was eventually over and everyone had left.

We too wish that you had used the village hall as this would have been better suited to your needs.

Alan and Judy worked hard to arrange staff, devise a menu for the very low price per head and honour your booking from the old management and it is grossly unfair to blame them for what could have been a great celebration for all of your friends if not ruined by your fighting in front of other respectable residents and customers.

The "new" Manifold Inn is going strong and already has many great reviews. The new experienced managers have taken the company into 2013 with a fresh and proactive approach and prices / parties will be scrutinised much closer going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    30
    10
    23
See reviews for
32
108
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

4 of us (2 couples) spent a superb late February Wednesday evening at the Manifold ... snug by the roaring fire (it was -8C outside), great beer and really nice service/hospitality. Although the kitchens were closed the lady manager offered to collect a takeaway for us and serve it at the table whilst we supped away. the pub is in a wonderful location. Go there - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: we stayed at Lower Hurst Farm in our motorhomes - the pub is just 1 mile away. rooms look great fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for a family get together in the nearby town. What a woeful experience. The food was below average, the cleanliness and general appearance of the rooms wouldn't reach two star standards, and the service was the worst part of all. Management were rude and simply unhelpful in every way. There were rumours of a change of management at the time, but this was nothing short of a terrible experience for us. Wouldn't recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are saddened that you have not enjoyed your stay at The Manifold.
The old Management have been replaced since your visit and as you can see from the most recent reviews that the "new" Manifold is a much better experience all round.
The Manifold is a 4 star Inn and is assessed by a proffessional body so we are more than happy with our rooms - and so are our recent visitors.
It is a shame that you did not have the courage to speak to one of the staff during your visit as we would have ensured that any problems were resolved immediately and without fuss.
The new management are very experienced in the industry and are taking the New Manifold into 2013 with a fresh and proffessional approach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

On the weekend beginning 15th February 2013, about eighty people from six different countries were going to be staying at a number of different B&Bs, hotels and hostels in and around Hartington, Derbyshire, to celebrate my 60th and my niece's wedding, with a party on the Saturday.

We had booked the Manifold Inn with promise of a bar until 2am and a room that had been completely cleared of tables to make space for dancing - as we had two pipers and a caller. We also reserved three rooms to be used by babies and small children who needed to sleep during the evening, and hot meals for all.

By very bad fortune, the Manifold Inn went into administration a week or two before the planned party and the temporary management was taken over by Alan and Judith, owners of the Charles Cotton Hotel. If these people had deliberately set out to ruin our celebration, they couldn't have done a better job. We think it may have been partly because they were miffed that we had not chosen the Charles Cotton but their prices were more than double what the MI were charging and they weren't offering a late bar.

From the phone call when Judith phoned me to tell me the bad news about the Manifold Inn through to our final contact with them, they were utterly unhelpful. She made it clear in that first call that she did not really want anything to do with us but she said would make enquiries about the commitments that had been made to us and the availability of staff etc and get back to me. However, she did not call me back or answer her phone when I called her. We did not get any firm commitment that the party was going ahead until the day before but we were then told that we could not have a late bar. Eventually she compromised and allowed us a bar until 12.30. If I had previously known that we were not going to be allowed a late bar, I would have stayed in the Village Hall, where we had originally booked and which was open until midnight. Basically, that extra half hour cost me about £750 (including our coach from Hartington).

They insisted that all transactions would be in cash, otherwise I would certainly have asked my bank to stop the payment. When we arrived in happy spirits at the MI on Saturday evening, none of the tables had been moved out of the room and, strangely, it actually looked as if more tables had been added as there were LAYERS of tables on two of the walls. We had musical instruments and a pa system for our large family with friends to make our own music and this was almost impossible. Square dancing was attempted on a floor about the size of a small dining table. There had been no thought at all given to our needs and the whole evening was really ruined.

A drama that begun as a result of the keys to one room being given separately to two unconnected families was dealt with extremely poorly by Alan, who exposed himself as an unkind and mean individual whose only concern was with money.

People had travelled from Patagonia, Dublin, Glasgow, Dundee, Bridgend, Southampton, Coventry, Ilkley, Birmingham, Newcastle and Paris for this event and all were disappointed.

These people should not be allowed to manage functions.

Madeleine Edwards

Room Tip: Just steer clear of these people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Conversely:-

The Manifold Inn had indeed gone into administration a few weeks beforehand and this was mostly down to poor management not having an understanding of finances. This is echoed by the fact that you were quoted only £7.50/head by the old management which is the cost of a Macdonald's and far too low for any hotel to provide food of our exacting standards. This is why the other quote offered to you by the Charles Cotton was double - it is because the Charles Cotton prices were correct.

The Manifold has a licence to serve alcohol until 12.30 and it would be illegal to continue after this hour. I see that you have failed to point out that some members of your group tried to smuggle their own alcohol into the Manifold which is unacceptable behaviour and unfair on an industry already struggling to make margins in todays climate. Its also a very poor start to the festivities in front of the staff and management.

You also seem to have fallen short of mentioning that there were fights within your group. Indeed the police had to be called and people were breathalysed before being sent home. This behaviour is totally unheard of in our area and we were relieved when the party was eventually over and everyone had left.

We too wish that you had used the village hall as this would have been better suited to your needs.

Alan and Judy worked hard to arrange staff, devise a menu for the very low price per head and honour your booking from the old management and it is grossly unfair to blame them for what could have been a great celebration for all of your friends if not ruined by your fighting in front of other respectable residents and customers.

The "new" Manifold Inn is going strong and already has many great reviews. The new experienced managers have taken the company into 2013 with a fresh and proactive approach and prices / parties will be scrutinised much closer going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic place!
A group of 8 of us booked, un-booked (due to snow!) then re-booked, but this was no problem.
The staff were helpful, friendly and pleasant throughout our stay, the rooms were warm, clean and comfortable, the food was inexpensive, but good and the overall cost very, very reasonable.
Couldn't ask for more, and would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

6 of us booked in to spend New Year's Eve, we had 3 rooms , it was a very pleasant overall experience , Great food ,great staff,and great beers..and when we went to check out the following morning, we were all guessing about how much our bill would be,(being New Year's Eve) Drinks and food aplenty, and were all surprised what good value we had for new year weekend, Would defo return for a quiet relaxing time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at the Manifold Inn was quite simply a piece of heaven. The hotel is so lovely and charming.
The rooms are very clean and the service is fantastic! The staff are very personable and friendly . The food was delicious and the drinks were made to perfection. We will certainly be returning to the Manifold Inn next year when we travel back from Canada. For us this was our favourite hotel experience in all the hotels that we stayed in throughout our travels.... needless to say very strongly recommended!

Thank you to the owner and the wonderful staff for helping to make our vacation so fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manifold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.