We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manifold Inn to your Saves list
The Manifold Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Called in twice during our stay at a local campsite,we were thankfully allowed to bring in our dogs without any fuss.The second visit we ordered food again our dogs were allowed as well. The food was lovely . Will definitely be calling again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    29
    11
    25
See reviews for
41
136
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N Lincs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Manifold Inn for a short midweek break to look at the Dovedale and Manifold Valley area, for which it is in an excellent position being within 200 yards of the northern end of the Manifold Way. The place was well reviewed and had won several awards, including from TripAdvisor. It also had the advantage over just B&B that we could have evening meals without going out if we wished.

Everything was OK, but nothing outstanding, we did wonder if having won all the awards they had stopped trying. We were initially amused by the sign on the kitchen door..."If you dont like my cooking, then lower your standards" (or very similar words); well I have to say that a couple of times I had to do just that.

Breakfasts were good and I have to say that we did eat in on the 3 nights we were there. If you are a pie person, their steak and ale pie is ace, but do ask for extra gravy.

Would we stay again, yes we would, it was good but could so easily have been very good.

Oh did I say, mid week we got 3 nights for the price of 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my husband had been to Alton towers scarefest we decided to pop in as driving past and see if they was still serving food this was at 9.30 so we expected a pack of crisps and a drink, to are suprise the young lady behind the bar said 'i could rustle you something up' and gave us 3 options to pick from we was delighted and went with the steak and ale pie it was delicious, there was a lovely atmosphere until a group of men came in they did smell alittle when talking to the young lady behind the bar we found out it was a local tug of war team who have won a numerous medals for england (who would have thought it meating celebs in local rural pub lol) with a warm fire and great ales my husband must have had 6 pints of the weinrights witch ment i had to drive home over all a brilliant homely pub will be returning

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ideally located for exploring the Peak district. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed good food and excellent service. The pub has a good range of real ales and also a good selection of wines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really don't have that much experience of hotels, inns, or pubs with accomodation, so when we booked to stay at the Manifold Inn, during the Folk Gathering in September 2012, it was for convenience and somewhere to lay our weary heads. What an unexpected delight it was. The room was large and airy, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The hospitality basket was well stocked and really tastefully presented. The toiletries in the en suite were good quality and not too highly perfumed. The towels were large and fluffy. All in all we wished we could have stayed longer.

The choices at breakfast were excellent and all the food really appetising. The service at meals, at the bar an throughout the entire weekend was second to none. The staff were all happy to deal with whatever turned up happily and with a smile. They had not previously encountered a folk Gathering on the scale of this one, but there were no problems. It seems that all of the artists and guests at the Gathering enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at this wonderful Inn in such a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the the manifold inn for a business trip to nearby leek. The room was large with a nice firm bed that provided a good nights sleep. only downside was theroom was a little dusty in places. the food in the pub was served amazingly quickly and was very good. The manifold would be an ideal location to explore the surrounding area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I paid £85 for a twin room in an annexe at the back. Presumably this is deemed better than the rooms in the Inn, which are £70. However, the room was quite dark, and there is a stream at the back giving a constant sound of running water, which you may or may not enjoy.

Another odd thing about the room was the bathroom, clearly designed as an invalid room, with handrails and a drive-in shower. It didn't bother me, and the shower was fine once you worked out how to use it, but it is unusual and I did think it was odd that it wasn't mentioned when I booked the room.

I hadn't much choice in the matter anyway, as all other accommodation in the area was either full or not prepared to accept a one night booking at a weekend, but the only other time in the week that I spent £85 for a room was at the Izaak Walton Hotel, which is supposedly a 4* hotel which the Manifold Inn cannot aspire to be.

Dinner was nice enough for pub grub, and the breakfast was good. The staff were all very pleasant, if occasionally a bit disorganised, and were very helpful in arranging a baggage transfer for me.

OK on the whole, but not worth £85.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are sorry that you thought the room was somewhat dark. They are painted in heritage colours to reflect the fact that the building is 200 years old.
The Manifold caters for disabled guests and it appears that you were booked into such a room for which we apologise.
Regarding costs - we are the cheapest in the area and the 4 stars has been awarded by a proffessional body.
Please contact us and we will give you an alternative room at no cost upon any revisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manifold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.