We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Hartington Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Hartington Hall to your Saves list
YHA Hartington Hall
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just had a marvellous weekend at my niece's wedding. What a beautiful setting and really helpful staff. Food was fine, beer very good! I would have preferred a bed without side bars(!), but still comfortable. Took a walk recommended by the staff , just beautiful scenery.It did help that the weather was fantastic, but would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the nature of our buildings all of our rooms vary in size and facilities, therefore on your next visit, please let us know exactly what type of room suits you and we will try our best to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    40
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
31
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having paid £59 per night, (less a small discount for membership of YHA), I was hopeful of a good stay in this rather attractive old property in a lovely location. However, on arrival we were given rooms in the 'Coach House' behind the main building. It was cramped and the tiny kitchen facilities were not up to standard. I'm afraid this spoiled our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room in the Hall but be aware that the Hall may end up being booked with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you did not like your accommodation in the Coach House. These are often very desirable rooms as they have their own kitchen facilities (between 5 rooms) and are quieter. Due to the nature of our buildings, every room is different so the best way to ensure you get a suitable room for your needs is to call us directly and we will try to organise a room perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We camped on the lawn in frount of the hostle there was 15 of us camping in 5 tents. We camped so we didnt use a room, we could still use the facilitys. The toilets are clean and there are lots of them. Only down side was that the building was locked afer 00:00 (I think), there for we had to use the toilet outside in the barn. But thats camping at the end of the day haha. The festival was awsome and the time flew. The location is great at the top of a hill, 2 minute walk down into Hartington. The bar is very good serves nice tea/coffee and cold drinks all day. Would defently come back next year for the festival!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during our festival weekend. Unfortunately we had to lock the building at midnight for the security of guests staying in the accommodation, I hope that our other facilities were satisfactory. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic service and welcome, lovely breakfast, already recommended to friends and family. Will defiantly return, nice and clean, parking was not far, lots to do for kids, lovely friendly animals, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for watking the time to leave us a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We chose Hartington Hall as a base for a weekend family break and stayed in a family room. Having previously visited the area, we were already aware of how nice the Hall and the location were. Unfortunately the room we stayed in didn't do it justice.

The room was rather small and consisted of 3 bunk beds (which were only just long enough to accomodate a 5'10 adult) - not my idea of a family room. The beds were rather uncomfortable and left you aching by morning. One of the beds also harboured sweets from a previous visitor.

We made use of the breakfast buffet which provided a good start to the day. The evening meals were also a let-down - small portions and no vegetables.

In addition to clean rooms, the key thing I would look for from YHA accommodation is good value for money. In this respect Hartington failed badly. It pains me to say that I could not recommend Hartington for familys and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for! Unfortunately as is the nature of the building every room is different so the best way to ensure that you get a room to your requirements os to call us directly and state what you are looking for, this way we can try to ensure you get exactly what you need. This said I am disappointed to hear about left over sweet wrappers and our housekeeping standards are usually much higher that this. As for your evening meal, I am very confused as to why there were no vegetable!? This has been discussed with our kitchen and this is very unusual! Our menu and service style have now changed for the winter season and we hope that it is more satisfactory. I hope that this one experience will not put you off totally, we would be delighted to see you again and hopefully demonstrate a much more satisfactory standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location. Beautiful old house and grounds.
Our room was on the small size. Fortunately one if our party did not turn up so the bed could be used for storage.
The big big let down was the food. Choice was uninspiring and the only meal served with vegetables was the fish which came with peas. There was a school group in who were also offered carrots - we could have killed for them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Due to the nature of the building, every room here at Hartington Hall is unique, therefore we hope that you will consider us for future visits to the area, if you have lots of luggage simply call in advance to request a room with more space and we will do our best to accommodate you. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant. Our menu will change seasonally so hopefully there will be more choice to suit your taste on future occasions. All of our meals should be offered with a choice of 2 seasonal vegetables or salad so I can only apologise and investigate why this was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here this weekend for a hen do which I organised. When checking in we found that the site which I had booked it through had not reserved enough rooms so the lady at the desk quickly added two more to the booking while only charging for the 3 that we had booked. It worked out at £13.75 each which is fantastic value and much less than we were quoted by bookings.com. The room we stayed in, the roost, was beautiful and I will def be booking it again for me and my partner. We didn't make it to breakfast but we only had a short walk to a tea room in hartington where everyone was lovely (the bride was given breakfast for free!). The beautiful weather helped but it is clearly a gorgeous building in a lovely location. We'll be back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with and we hope that the 'bride to be' will remember it for some time to come. We are looking forward to welcoming you back along with your partner and hope that some of the other ladies will do the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Hartington Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.