We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Cotton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Charles Cotton Hotel to your Saves list
Charles Cotton Hotel
Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

I stayed in the Charles cotton for a week in the new year. I can't praise the food and service enough!

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and always ready to help!

The menu is wonderful (I recommend the crayfish salad and the roast beef)

I've already booked a room for a stay in the summer!

Excellent value for money!

  • Liked — The service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    146
    55
    37
    21
See reviews for
71
298
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

after reading previous reviews we were a tad dubious but stayed nonetheless. The hotel had just changed hands & what a great weekend it turned out to be. Lovely fresh flowers in the reception & bar, candles & real fire in bar provided a warm & cosy atmosphere. Good choice of local real ales and great hospitality from the staff. After chatting to the new owners & learning of the major refurbishments this hotel has fabulous potential. We plan to return in the spring.

  • Liked — location & hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — after easter the hotel will be refurbished we look forward to visiting again.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Just had a weekend at the Charles Cotton Hotel and should have read the reviews before we booked. At least we were prepared when we got there. Perhaps we also should of had a clue when we couldn't get in anywhere else.
The room was shabby and not too clean and the decor was circa 1970 as was the colour TV. The staff not too helpful either. Expensive too. They had nowhere in that rambling place to store our bikes overnight, a first.
We didn't let it spoil the weekend as the village is beautiful. Wish we'd of stayed at the youth hostel, that looked lovely. Great area to cycle as well as walk.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — surly staff, shabbiness
  • Tips/Secrets — try youth hostel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

I just stayed at the Charles Cotton Hotel in Hartington and I had read all the previous comments and I was prepared. However, I must admit that it was not as bad as previous guests had made out. Just be sensible and accept that this is an old hotel with a 2Star rating and don't expect 4Star Luxury. Yes, the furniture and the decoration is dated but the room was extremely clean and it even had a state of the art DVD/CD player. The plumbing is by micro bore and makes a horrendous noise when you flush the toilet or empty the bath but I have stayed in 4star hotels which were a lot worse.
What did let it down was the food in the evening when my first two choices were not available and the miserably and dour looking owner who clearly deserves a price for the most dejected and glum looking individual I have met in recent years. A smile and bit of friendliness doesn’t cost anything, yet would cover and smoothen over a lot of the niggling problems this hotel is suffering from.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and was very dissapointed. Although the breakfast was substantial the other aspects of the hotel were very poor. The bedroom decor was really dated, the carpets filthy, the bed uncomfortable and there was a constant smell of smoke and mustiness about the place. The bar area had broken chairs and again was dirty. We couldn't belive we paid £85 a room a night for this! There is no way we would have eaten in the restaurant, we just about tolerated the breakfast. On a postive note the staff were friendly and polite. Another piece of advice , there is a great pub opposite (Devonshire Arms)which does surperb food at a cheap price, we ate there both nights - 10 out of 10!

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

I rather stupidly booked this hotel, and only then read the reviews on this site! To say I was anxious is an understatement, but the hotel has a fairly inflexible 'no show' policy (worth noting) so we went ahead with the trip.

As it turned out, we actually enjoyed the visit. The hotel is in a lovely location (Hartington is a picture postcard village). The room was very spacious and clean. Some of the fixtures were certainly showing some wear and tear, which was somewhat at odds with new additions such as a very swish looking TV, DVD player, and surround sound system.

The restaurant decor was on the tired side, but we found the food to be plentiful, well cooked, and reasonably priced.

Reviewers have given some widely varying accounts on the attitude of staff, and I can see why. Some could not have been more helpful, whilst at least one was (at best) somewhat surly - all comes down to who you come into contact with!

Overall, particularly in view of the very reasonable price we paid, I would say we got value for money. It's far from being a top class hotel, but it has it's charms, and is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2006

We booked into this hotel after looking at the hotel's own website. I can only describe our room as dirty, shabby, smelly and exceedingly pink. I felt unclean just being in the room and the overwhelming smell was that of old chip fat and smoke! The staff were not overly helpful and appeared indifferent to our concerns.

The best bit about it was leaving and the beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Cotton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.