We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain View Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Mountain View Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mete Adanir Stadyumu | Karaoglanoglu, Agios Georgios 98000, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Agios Georgios
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mountain View Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Myself, husband and 19 year old daughter have just returned from a week in one of the 2 bedroom villas at the hotel. We arrived at about 11pm after flying into Larnaca Airport (about 1 hour 20 minutes transfer - which was arranged by the hotel) and were warmly welcomed and shown to our villa. We had an air conditioned 2 bedroom villa which was very spacious and had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lovely gardens and to the left we could see the mountains!
The following morning we made our way to breakfast which we had on the terrace overlooking the pool. There was a good selection of food for breakfast - toast, cereals, eggs, bread, meat, cheese, fruit, tea, coffee, juice, there was always some hot food on offer too.
After breakfast we explored the gardens where we found grape vines, date palms, fig trees and plenty of flowers.
Lunches were available at the poolside and the selection was very good.
The pool was always very inviting and never crowded, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to sit under. The best thing about the pool was the view of the mountains, it was hard to believe you were 5 minutes walk from a rocky cove and swimming in a pool with such beautiful views.
There was also a small pool for young children which was very safe.
Evening meals were served outside with views over the pool and gardens. We were half board and had a starter, a choice of three main meals and a desert. There was a good selection of English and local cuisine. It was also possible to choose meals from an a la carte menu.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We hired a car for 5 days at £20 a day and took oureslves off to discover Northern Cyprus, what a treat, it is so unspoilt and quiet, the roads are very easy to drive on and quiet. We visited a beach where turtles lay there eggs and were lucky enough to see baby turtles being helped on there way by a conservation group. We went up into the mountains to visit a castle that is said to have inspired Walt Disney and had some spectacular views of the coast. A visit to the harbour is a must, there were plenty of cafes and restaurants and places to stop and admire the scenery. Whilst there my daughter booked a paragliding session, she was picked up from the hotel and SAFELY returned there after the event! This could have been booked from the hotel. As I said earlier Sue the hotel owner is only to pleased to be able to help with bookings.
We will definitely be returning to Mountain View again, we had such a relaxing holiday in a very friendly environment in an area that still hasn't been spoilt. A quiet, peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    58
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
53
127
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I think it is all summed up in the title ... 14 th visit to this hotel and it was fantastic as usual . The hotel has under gone redecoration and updating in the winter and is looking fantastic . Lovely peaceful family run hotel , very relaxing and just great place to unwind from everyday stresses . Yes there will be a 15 th visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Real mixed bag, it was pretty cheap so I wont be too hard, but I would not return

Service mixed, when we arrived hot and bothered we thought we would get some poolside drinks first, but as there was nobody there to serve we couldn't (and with all the 'do not bring drinks from outside' signs around we really should have been able to)

Other than that everyone was pretty friendly and helpful

The hotel needs a little bit of a spruce up in general, a few broken steps here and there, a few fixtures and fittings missing or half broken in the rooms, nothing drastic but all gives the impression of being slightly run down ....aircon worked though and the bed was comfy so the main things were all good!

The pool area was the worst part though - it is in a nice setting, it does have a mountain view but you could not see the bottom, didn't seem clean to these eyes, they were cleaning the day we left but that was 3 days with a dirty pool, not good

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice when you are paying so little so cannot complain too much, would go nearer Kyrenia centre next time, bit of a way out, especially with that pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

3 weeks spent at Mountain view in June and as usual had a great relaxing time. Sue and all her staff are most welcoming and always on hand to sort any problems that may occur. The best thing about this place is that noone hassles you and it really does feel like home. we have been visiting north cyprus for the past 10 years but have only been staying at Mountain View for the last 2 years, only wish we had found it earlier, but hey better late than never. We stay in the 1 bed villa in the gardens which are really nice and spacious with good air conditioning ( which was most appreciated as it was very hot when we there ). As we like to eat out at different places we only had a few evening meals at the hotel but on each occasion they were most enjoyable as was the buffet breakfast each morning . So Sue and all your wonderful staff keep up the good work and see you next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

idyllic location away from 'madding crowds'
first visit to Northern













Go to escape the 'madding crowds'
beautiful location
family owned hotel 'home from home' is what they say and what you get
great pool with mountain view
customer service - excellent
stayed in a villa = good choice
the bus service - dolmus from top of road - into Kyrennia and beyond amazing value
Car hire - June/July we paid £18 per day (need to shop around for best price} try EVA
If you want to explore the area, hiring a car is prob essential to get to historical sites, and beaches, the best beaches could be accessed by the dolmus, much easier by car
.
Will return to ''Mountain View' a 3 star hotel, better than a 5 star with 'soul'















cy June/July 2013

Room Tip: we chose a bungalow but hotel rooms in hotel look good, but if you have mobility problems lift is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

spent 10 nights in June at Mountain View,the only dissapointment was we were not here long enough,was our third time at Mountain View,never fails.was in room 206,fantastic views of mountains and swimming pool,our room was cleaned daily and was very clean.breakfast is buffet style,something for everyone,a good start to the day!the swimming pool was allways cleaned everyday,never a problem with sun loungers.the staff are allways friendly and helpfull,we allways feel this is our home from home,a big thanks to Sue and her family for givng us so many good memories,we will return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It took thirteen hours to acquire a towel despite me notifying reception immediately after check-in. The TV had no remote and as the controls on the set were damaged it could not be operated.The barman (English) told me there were no lemons for our G&T's. Oddly enough they appeared when a new and pleasant barman arrived. Several items on offer for breakfast ran out and with only one staff member to clear tables and restock the buffet it was hardly surprising. The lift (out of order since at least April) was not operating.The worst thing though was the rudeness of the lady owner who constantly interrupted my complaints until I had finished what I wished to say and admitted they do have problems and that it is difficult for them to keep on top of the staff. This was not the first time I had stayed here but this booking had been made on my behalf as a guest of a friend otherwise I would not have chosen this hotel. Back then in April 2013 there was a similar sort of 'discussion' over a disputed bill at check-out when we were actually accused of lying. Yes. They did rectify the problems - except the lift - and gave us complimentary drinks as well but too little too late I'm afraid and it is the attitude shown in dealing with my dissatisfaction that really grates.

Room Tip: If the lift is still not working the upper floors should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncypriot, Owner at Mountain View Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Can anyone staying in a hotel really go 13 hours without having a towel, only someone
who did not mention anything to reception, particularly when staff are always there to help and
a lemon, who complains about not having a lemon, are you deliberately trying to harm us
because we are in North Cyprus.

I will now tell you.

A gentlemen has come over from the South for a couple of nights to meet his friend, who has
now bought a villa in North Cyprus. He is now upset that his friend has bought in the North
so has to find petty things to complain about. We remember the incident very well. The
person did nothing but complain about not having a lemon for his drink. My husband and
myself were on duty that evening, as we are most evenings and throughout the day. We was
very apologetic about the lemon, so we bought them a drink each and by this time had
lemon in it, so all had been forgiven. The kind gentlemen that was staying a week with us
had a birthday, so we bought another round of drinks for them. I had actually spoken to the
waiter with regards to the lemon situation, who informed me that all had been forgotten
particularly when the waiter had unofficially given the gentlemen an Efes Beer glass to take back to the South.

At the time of your stay, we had been full to capacity and believe me not one complaint
about anything, so what is the big problem about a lemon.

Unfortunately our lift is still not working, but the engineers are waiting on a part from Turkey
and hopefully this should be here very soon.

What more could you ask for at breakfast, we would be pleased for your suggestions, as
our breakfast is very substantial.

We have checked through our records and know that you have not stayed with us before
and we always remember a face, so why all the fuss. Do you have other intentions.

We would very much appreciate if you could get in touch with us as you did not leave an
email address so we can help sort out this lemon and towel situation.

Regards

Sue Aydinel
Mountain View Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel & Villas

Address: Mete Adanir Stadyumu | Karaoglanoglu, Agios Georgios 98000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Hotel & Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Hotel is a 3 star family-run holiday hotel located west of Kyrenia. We're just 5 minutes drive from the city center and a few minutes’ walk from the beach. We pride ourselves in being a family-run hotel for over 10 years; our aim is to make our customers always feel at home with us. People prefer our family-style hotel because of the quietness, privacy and friendly environment we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mountain View Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel And Villas
Mountain View Kyrenia
Hotel Mountain View
Mountain View Hotel & Villas Cyprus/Agios Georgios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.