We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Potos by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piatsa Michalis

Piatsa Michalis
Potos Paralia 1, Potos, Greece
2593052109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Potos
Price range: $15 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Margate
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best in Potos by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Walk past all the tavern`s and bars along the harbour front, go as far as you can and you will find Michalis. Here you will get a warm, sincere welcome, great service and best of all great food, bass and bream are perfect. Watching the sun set over the harbour wall make it all the better. Michalis is far removed from the rest in Potos and is a real taste of a relaxed Greek meal where the bill will see you going back. Shame we did not find it earlier in our holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adderbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Do you have kleftiko?" (reply) " THE BEST"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found this delightful beachfront restaurant completely by chance. We left it a bit late to find some kleftiko and were about to give up when we found Piatsa Michalis. The above short conversation clinched the deal. A delicious dinner for 2 plus a litre of red for 27 euros. can't be bad!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant in Potos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

While spending one week in Potos we investigated many restaurants and taverns. Piatsa Michalis was definitly the best one and we had dinner there several times. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff is all very polite and heartly. The food is well cooked, well tasting, well looking, well everything. Both greek food and other courses, like pizza and pasta, are great!

2 swedes on honey moon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Kleftiko with lots of lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This taverna is tucked away at the end of the promenade. Tasty food, the wine flowed and we had a great night. Good service and very friendly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Piatsa Michelis is a great place to eat or just enjoy a drink. It's right on the beach and, during the day, you can enjoy a fresh fruit smoothie or a Greek coffee in the sun or in the dappled shade of the overhead vines. At night, watch the sunset from your table and enjoy some lovely traditional Greek food. Would highly recommend the lamb kleftico (slow cooked lamb in tomato, onion and pepper casserole sauce, with potatoes and a little aubergine), though the 'special souvlaki' is really good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatsa Michalis also viewed

 
Thasos, Northeast Aegean Islands
 

Been to Piatsa Michalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piatsa Michalis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.