We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astir Notos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Astir Notos Hotel to your Saves list
Astir Notos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My wife and i have just returned from a lovely relaxing weeks holiday at this hotel, and it is easy to see why it is so highly rated. All areas are kept so clean and the rooms are well decorated,spacious,and modern. The pool area is excellent with plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas, and natural shade and the water was always in pristine condition. The free wi-fi connection in the reception area was excellent and they had all the latest football matches on a large screen t.v.
We stayed on a half board basis and meals were served on a buffet style and you could eat as much as you liked. The food was very good with plenty of choice and variation, and was always hot enough. One area of the dining room had 6 tables outside overlooking the pool.
We went on a couple of trips which were excellent, an island tour and a BBQ boat cruise. We also took the local bus to Thassos town which is well worth a visit, and only 4.70 euros. If you go the return bus leaves from the ferry terminal, and not where you are dropped off in the town centre. You can also buy english cigarettes in Thassos and a stick of L and B cost 36 euros.
Overall an excellent hotel, and a great choice for a couple.

Room Tip: A few rooms have double beds so if you want one e-mail the hotel and ask. No tea and coffee in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Astir Notos for one week, wish we could have stayed longer! The Hotel was always spotless, rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels every day. The food was lovely, mostly traditional Greek food. The staff were all really helpful and friendly, and being a family run establishment, it felt really personal.
The pool area was relaxing and quiet.
The hotel is on the edge of Potos, with a short walk through an olive grove to the main streets. It is also a short walk to the beach, which is quite long and mostly sandy , having bars at each end with sun beds for hire or areas of public beach. swimming is best at the left hand side as there are less pebbles on the sea bed there. There are lots of fish and sea life to see if snorkling.
We would go back to the Astir notos and Thassos again (this is our second time to Thassos).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We would like to say thank-you to all the staff at the Astir Notos hotel for making our holiday very enjoyable. This is a relatively new hotel and is decorated to a high standard. I could even go by saying this hotel would better some of the five star hotels we have stayed in. We stayed on half board bases and the food was always piping hot and a good varied choice for all.
The hotel is set back away from the resort centre and beach but each could easily be reached by foot in just a few minutes. There were plenty of bars in Potos, but our favourite was the San Antonio Taverna directly on San Antonio beach. Good service and decent prices.
The down side of the holiday was the disapointment of the beach, however we did find a nice sandy cove (Psili Ammos beach,) it does get very crowded during peak season though and it was a good hours walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Astir Notos from 6th to 13th July. Each and every day was wonderful. We wanted relaxation and certainly recieved it. This hotel, it's staff, and accomodation and food are excellent. We found the Hotel on line in the first place and read through the reviews prior to booking through First Choice and saw a room online which we particularly like the look of, not expecting it. When we opened the door to our room we actually had the one we saw......... Fabulous start which carried on for the following 7 days........The resort is a small but extreemly friendly village about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the best beach is signposted to the SeaBreeze restaurant about 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction to Potos.. Thoroughly recommend that restaurant. They serve a graet tasting grilled octopus! Thankyou to all staff at The Astir Notos. Will most definately return at some stage, Steve and Jackie

Room Tip: Don't worry as far as we were aware all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned after a week at the Astir Notos. It really is a lovely, clean and friendly hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. What we loved best was how relaxed and quiet the hotel is,however Potos is only a five to ten minute walk where there are a selection of beachfront bars and resturants. The buffet meal for greece, was very good. There was a good selection and always hot. Breakfast was tasty too. The pool area always seemed fairly quiet whilst we were there and there is no rush for beds in the morning. Transfer was quite long with the ferry (though part of the experience, I must say) so only downside was quite a loss of our hols due to the travelling. Still it was worth it as we had a wonderful time at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in June and whilst the rest of the island seemed pretty quite at first, this hotel was full. Can understand why, it is family run and we were made to feel part of the family.
It is spotless and they proprietors cannot do enough to made your stay more enjoyable.
It is situated just on the outskirts of the town but easy 5 minte walk to tthe centre with plenty of bars and eateries. Another 5 minute walk to the beach.
Rooms are lovely and like the rest of the hotel it is spotless. Cannot wait to go again.x

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have just come back from our stay in the Astir Notos. It is a lovely hotel and exceptionally clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were given a choice of rooms. Also we had some friends arriving the second week and arranged for a bottle of wine to be sent to their room as they woulod be celebrating their birthdays during the holiday. The staff did more than supply wine, they also put flowers there to make it more special. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I am a vegetarian and every evening Royla used to point out to me the vegetarian options. Would we stay there again - yes please!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astir Notos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Notos Hotel

Address: Potos, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Potos
#4 Family Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astir Notos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astir Notos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Notos Hotel Potos, Thasos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astir Notos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.