We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Corfu Imperial to your Saves list
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 130 | Komeno-Gouvia, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Altrincham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from the 30th of August on a half board basis, breakfast and evening meal. The location is absolutely beautiful and I cannot praise highly enough all members of staff who we had contact with over the whole of our stay. Kostas in the restaurant deserves very high praise indeed as do the customer liaison personnel at reception!!

There is a hotel shop and they have no problem with you buying cold cans (70 cents) or water and drinking these around the pool rather than paying the high pool bar prices. You can also buy large bottles of water for your room at the cost of 1 euro. We were averaging 50 euro per lunch including a glass of wine and Lager and were only eating toasted sandwiches and burgers etc however you are paying for the setting particularly at the beach bar and and the service at both the beach and pool bars was impeccable. Towards the end of our holiday we walked out of the hotel and up the hill to the local cafe bar Paradiso?? which has fantastic views over the resort and a comprehensive menu that, together with wine and beer, made lunch a far more reaonable priced affair.

The food at this hotel is exeptional and the three a la carte evenings were simply wonderful. The breakfast have everything you could possible think of and the evening meals had copious amounts of choice and never became repetitive. I would recommend trying to be seated in the outside areas as the majority of the food is presented in the main restaurant and can be a little chaotic. The dress code in the evening should be enforced as the majority of the guests made an effort to abide by this in the evening creating a lovely atmosphere, however most nights other guests would appear in shorts, flip flops and tee-shirts all of which the hotel state are not allowed for the evening meal!!

Not enough shaded areas around the pool for those who don't want to keep moving very heavy umbrellas around trying to shield two beds with one umbrella and this did cause some competition for the best shaded poolside areas with "reservations" being made by towels.

We had a wonderful time, were looked after really well, setting is truly gorgeous and we will definitely be returning and trying out other Grecotel hotels!!!

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel on the second floor which is the start of the bedroom floors, I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    34
    18
    9
See reviews for
86
127
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are visiting the hotel almost every year! this summer we booked a bangalow and for a big surprise we received an update to a villa with private pool and access to beach!!! it was a small paradise! excellent service!!! thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your recent review of the Corfu Imperial Grecotel Exclusive Resort!
We are honoured and grateful that you choose to return to our hotel each year!
When availability allows it, we are always pleased to offer our loyal, returning guests the possibility of an upgraded room type. We are ver happy that you enjoyed it!

We look forward to receiving your next booking and welcoming you back to the Corfu Imperial!

Sincerely,

The Management
Corfu Imperial, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS GREECE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels in the whole island, located in a place of Kommeno bay with full view.Many facilities inside premisesand on the beach.Very good welcoming on our arrival by guest relations lady. The food was amazing either on breakfast or dinner ( there was many sphinxs on outseating area). Cleaning services absolutely perfect. beach bar was Yali restaurant was vey romantic but expensive prices.
One thing made us feel uncomfortable.... no availiable sunbeds and umbrellas during the whole day...As we found out, some hotels clients were putting bath towels on the sunbeds very early in the morning ( 7-730 am), each morning,without being there themselves ( actualy its like they make ''a reservation''' for sunbeds).And then they appear at the beach at 12 o'clock. As a result there was not an availiable umbrella-sunbed for the other clients at 0830 am on the beach.No hotel employee or somebody who should be on scene & responsible for the specific situation. I was complain on reception but the answer was ''it is for that high season''', but when i pay that high season an expensive 5 star hotel i would like to have a sunbed -umbrella me too.... .. They need a better manage for the beach case, because all clients have the same rights !!!Hope after our comments, things will get better to the specific issue !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a week in Corfu this month at the Corfu Imperial. The hotel was beautiful, the service and staff impeccable. Crystal clean waters, sandy beaches and incredible water sports. Attentive guest relations desk for your every need, restaurants, sightseeing, late checkout. Kids friendly, Highly recommended. Ipek Taha (ıstanbul)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were impressed from the outset. A warm welcome and a personal touch made us feel at home the minute we checked in. The room was really spacious and okay some of the furniture was a bit tired. But the beds were comfortable and air conditioning made the room a cool oasis at the end of the day and overnight. Plus there was no noise to disturb us.

We couldn't get over how quiet it was around the pool every day. We could stroll down at midday and had no problem finding two or more free sunbeds together. The pool (35m long) was incredibly quiet with a maximum of about 20 people in it at any time and come the late afternoon we had almost entirely to ourselves. A waitress explained that this was because a lot of guests forom other countries preferred the beaches. The two beaches were small and it was more difficult to find a lounger there. However, we simply walked down from the pool - it took two minutes and we were in the sea. There was a 2013 Blue Flag on the beach and the bay is sheltered. As others have said the watersports are expensive.

We ate at the buffet in the main restaurant every night and still didn't get to try everything as there was such a wide variety of food on offer. The wine list was quite expensive for what appeared to be some fairly poor quality wines and, as others have commented, we did have to pay for water at dinner. However, we looked forward to every meal and were always offered a choice of dining inside or outside.

We hired mountain bikes via hotel reception one day at a reasonable price and two really good bikes were left at the front of the hotel for us along with helmets, puncture kit and rucksack. Whe we had finished we simply dumped the kit with reception and the bikers were collected the next morning - no hassle at all.

Some of the reviews I read before we went made me worry we would find the Corfu Imperial a tired and dated hotel whose only saving grace was some decent food. But this was definitely not the case. If you want a relaxing holiday in a great location, with friendly and attentive staff I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Some families might find it a bit too quiet. There is limited entertainment for youngsters during the day - darts at midday, a bit of a teenagers club, which consisted of splashing around in the pool or playing cards and a table tennis table. There was aqua aerobics every afternoon but I never saw more than 4 people participate. If you want lively - it's probably not for you.

In summing up, the hotel was far better than previous reviews would have us believe and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: As someone said before all rooms seem to have a view of the sea. We were only on the second floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, General Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review of Corfu Imperial, following your recent stay in August 2013.
I am pleased to note from your review that you enjoyed the quality of our service .
We thrive to create ultimate hospitality experience for our guests.
Your comments reassure me, and my team that we are on the right direction towards creating such memorable experience.
Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your review.
Along with my team, I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Grecotel Corfu Imperial Exclusive resort.

Sincerely,

Nikolaos Sifounios
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a group of six people from Cyprus, who stayed in the hotel from the 11th till the 18th of August 2013. We were impressed from the very first minute that we arrived with the quality of service we received. We were welcomed by Ms Ireni Tsiknidou, who took good care of us through out our holiday, always ensuring that we were happy and satisfied with the hotel. The location of the hotel with its private beach is excellent, the quality of food at the restaurants (buffet restaurant and Yali) is highly recommended , the rooms though not very modern are spacious with lovely views. All members of staff had a constant smile on their face and were very willing to provide their services. We will surely go back. if you happen to visit, do not forget to ask for Ireni Tsiknidou in the hotel and Spyros on the beach.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor, rooms 214, 216, 218. the view was lovely and there was no noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, General Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mrs Theodora
Kalimera with our warm greetings.

The entire team and management at Grecotel Corfu Imperial would like to thank you for taking the time and posting an amazing review of our property!
I am delighted to read that we were able to be a part of your vacation. It is always nice knowing that our hospitality created lasting memories for you and your friends while being our guests; and find the experience a great value for money.

Thank you for choosing the Grecotel Corfu Imperial Exclusive resort

We hope to see you back soon for yet another luxury stay.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Sifounios
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ok having seen some of the negative reviews below can I offer this from someone still stuck here! First, I travel A LOT in my business and this is not a London/Paris/New York 5 star Hotel but still great for all that. It has things the top city hotels don't like weather and views and well above average decor! Drinks in the hotel bars are London prices but you can buy 1.5 ltr water in the hotel shop for 1 euro and spirits/wine there for reasonable prices. So not "Big City" 5 star (it certainly doesn't have the rude London hotel staff) but it is great in every other respect. The views and grounds are amongst the best in any hotel I have stayed in around the world and I mean around the world. The staff are excellent in every respect and the food is pretty good. Working the beaches isn't that much of a drama for the astute. If you want a relaxed holiday in the sun( for the price I paid with Thomson's) this is impossible to beat. PS I'm in the main hotel with no ants, nice room with views to die for and surrounded by brilliant ground maintenance and pretty special public rooms! Oh and I like hard beds.....

Room Tip: This is a review of the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, General Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr Alan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your remarks regarding our facilities and service, and your specific points regarding our staff.
We certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Grecotel Corfu Imperial in the near future.

Sincerely
Nikolaos Sifounios
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Corfu Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Address: PO Box 130 | Komeno-Gouvia, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Corfu Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grecotel Corfu Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Kommeno Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Corfu Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.