We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durrels Home in Corfu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White House Restaurant

White House Restaurant
Corfu, Kalami Bay, Kalami 49083, Greece
+30.26630.91251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Kalami
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Durrels Home in Corfu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Sitting in the little bay of Kalami the White House is beautiful and the service is great it was obvious by the number of ex-pat Brits who were regular customers that it would be a good experience, just feet from the water many of the customers came by boat.
the Menu was comprehensive and the staff very friendly but not in your face, sitting there watching the boats whilst enjoying a great lunch ..... It doesn't get much better.
if you are in the area you really should go there and try their great food, we had toast with olive oil and tomatoes, fried crispy courgettes and Tzatziki with great Greek bread to start followed by mixed meat and onion Souvlaki (me) fantastic flavour and so tender and a Greek carbonara (Caroline) she said it was fantastic but couldn't finish such a generous portion it so had it doggy bagged and eaten the next day!
I couldn't recommend this place more highly
Phil

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous position and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely place to eat, book to ensure you get a table outside on the quay, beautiful view across the bay and very romantic. The staff were very good, efficiant and unobtrusive and the food was excelent. We ate here four times during our two week stay, tried something different each visit and we were never disappointed. The wine was probably the best we had in the area. Half a caraff of house wine was only 500euros and was very good. All in all a lovely dining experience. Make sure you visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ordered the garlic prawns as a treat on our last day, what a disappointment, covered in a gloopy, tasteless, grey sauce and prawns over cooked and hardly fresh!
When we complained the manageress was not prepared to listen to us, her attitude was almost as if we were fortunate to be there.
Very much living on the glory of the Durell name. Grudgingly knocked a small sum off the bill.
Having said this , the male waiter was superb and the setting was glorious.
Give this restaurant a miss for meals, only great for coffee and drinks. Other tavernas in the area are far better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely place to eat as looking out over the sea. Food was delicious and plenty of choice. Also very good service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Great food, dreamy location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

More restaurant than taverna, the White House is in a fabulous waterfront location at the southern end of Kalami beach, all very impressively and expensively lit with LED spotlights.

You can dine on a charming terrace overlooking the sea, or at the tables dramatically perched on the edge of a quayside with the water lapping about you.

The food and service were both top notch, and while it's not cheap, we were surprised to find the menu prices slightly lower than Thomas's Place, the next taverna along the beach.

On the Monday night we visited, there was a steady stream of customers right through until 10pm - pretty much all Brits. Even one of the waitresses is British!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.