We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Park Hotel

Summer Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udupi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Park Hotel
Save
You added Summer Park Hotel to your Saves list
Vidyasamudra Road | Near Geetha Takies, Udupi 576101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Udupi
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well located decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I had to travel to Udupi during June 2012 - July 2012 for a couple of days. It was a family occasion and hence wanted a clean, decent, cheap and centrally located place mostly for bed and this place seemed to fit the bill.

-- I was greeted by a non friendly bordering on rude receptionist and show to the room.
-- The staff seems uninterested or maybe it was the end of their shift =)
-- The parking place fills up fast and is quite congested, so I would suggest that you get the car parked before nightfall.
-- The room was dark and lacked good ventilation. Luckily I had picked rooms with air conditioning. But there was slight smell of dampness in the room.

-- The room was clean, had running hot water, air conditioning and everything was in perfect order.
-- Their 24 hr check-in policy suited me the best.
-- The location was perfect. It was less than a minute walk to Sri Krishna Temple/Car street area.

Would recommend to budget travelers but I have heard there are better options close by.

Room Tip: None. Pick A/C rooms since I doubt the rooms have good ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I recommend this hotel as number 1 in udupi. I had a very good experience in this hotel. Rooms were clean, food was good/tasty and management was so co-operative . I had a visit to Udupi Residency also ( hotel is good), but felt Summer park was better than that. Rate is less than Udupi Residency and rooms are big .
Walking distance to Krishna temple. Walking distance to Woodlands Vegetarian hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking at a decent, clean and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We decided the trip to Udupi only a week before and finding a hotel was almost impossible at such short notice! That's when we came across Summer Park Hotel in the internet and decided to give it a go. The staff of the hotel were extremely co-operative and reserved 2 rooms for us just through a phone call.
This cozy hotel is tucked in between buildings and was a little difficult for us to spot it initially. But the Geetha Talkies was a very useful landmark. The rooms were clean and cozy. Cute rooms with a clean bathroom, a Television set, A/C and a cupboard. The only thing we were worried about were the tiny insects that were crawling in through the bathroom windows! However, this wasn't the case in the other room we had booked.
The restaurant is clean. The lunch/dinner available is sumptuous and clean and is traditionally served on a plantain leaf. The breakfast options are not very great and we were also served cold vadas and sambar.
The only negative aspect about the hotel is that the parking space is unsheltered and the coastal weather can cook up the car when parked for long, esp. during noon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we 4 of us-3 of us above 50 yrs and my mother 81 yrs , all stayed in summer park from 11/7/12 to 12/7/12 on our pilgrimage trip. the room was very neat, so also toilet and blankets. but the room service is a bit slow and very polite reception desk people. but they can afford to keep mineral water bottle in the room. we had only coffee in their restaurant it was good. their a/c was working well. overall it was a good stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

1. Clean comfortable room
2. Walking distance to Krishna temple
3. Walking distance to Woodlands Vegetarian hotel
4. Hire cabs from hotel at reasonable cost to visit places around Udupi like Kollur, Murudeshwar and Mangalore
5. Definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking at a decent, clean and value for money hotel for Family stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at the Summer Park hotel in early May 2012. This was my 2nd trip to Udipi in 4 months and having stayed in other hotels I can say that Summer Park hotel is much better than its peers in a similar price range.

The non-ac room costs around Rs 625 and the AC rooms a shade above 1000 bucks. The rooms were clean and functional. The AC is the room was working well and the sheets in the room were clean. There were no stains in the room or in the bath room which is normally very common in hotels at this price range. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 mins walk from the bus stand and is pretty lose to the Udipi Sri Krishna temple. The hotel staff is also courteous and helpful.
The cars/taxis hired from the hotel were also good and reasonably priced (other hotels in Udipi often tend to overcharge for the taxis).


Negatives:
- There was a small cockroach in my room which I had to kill (I must say it spoilt an otherwise great experience in the hotel)
- In the non-AC rooms the windows are pretty small (I chose a AC room for my stay)

The restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty average. I had ordered a dosa and a fruit juice. The dosa was ok but the juice had more water than juice :) I personally preferred the Woodlands hotel which is about 5 mins walking distance.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for families looking for a budget stay in Udipi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at Summer Park for 4 nights. Rooms were clean and well maintained. A/c was working properly. Value for money.We did try their breafeast and found the chutney below standard, sambar was just about Okay. Food served at dinner was just about okay, not of high standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Park Hotel

Address: Vidyasamudra Road | Near Geetha Takies, Udupi 576101, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Udupi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Udupi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Summer Park Hotel Udupi, Karnataka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.