We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but still in progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Houay Xai

Save Saved
You added Riverside Houay Xai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Houay Xai
168 Centre Road | Ban Houay Xay Neua, Huay Xai, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Huay Xai
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but still in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean and spacious room but construction on the hotel is currently in progress. Friendly staff and your stay comes with a free breakfast in their restaurant overlooking the river. Location of this hotel provides a great view of the Mekong but it's also a good walk from the main street of Houay Xai so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice hotel with good room, some looking over the Mekong river. Airco, fridge, tv. Large bathroom with good shower. Only stairs, no elevators, but staff brings your luggage to/from the room. Breakfast outside looking over the Mekong river.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the Mekong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were advised to stay in Huay Xai for a night prior to (also, see cookington's review) catching the 2 day cruise down the Mekong, and it had been indicated to us by the sellers of the cruise that it was a good place.
Which, on balance, it is. Clean, good and efficient shower-room, reasonable bed; Westerners, particularly elderly ones, like them a bit softer than Asians!
Wi-fi only works on ground, first floor and in the restuarant!
Restuarant seems OK; very, very popular with locals/Thai's who've crossed the river for a cheap night out.
Lovely views from the restuarant, a riverside terrace, especially at sunset!

Room Tip: Make sure you overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were transferring from Laos to Thailand via the two-day Mekong river cruise and with Huay Xai being the last stop you really have no choice but to stay the night. This was the first hotel we saw after we disembarked from the boat at about 10pm at night - foolishly we decided to walk into the centre to check out the other options, but it turned out the centre was a lot further away than we thought!

After 20 minutes of trekking in the dark and with no other options in sight, we decided to turn around and try our luck at Riverside. Everyone else on our boat had been a bit smarter meaning there was (luckily) just one twin room left.

The room itself was nice enough - plenty of space and with a large window at the front where you could see out over the river to Thailand. We arrived here during the first night of the Loi Krathong festival in Thailand so it was a great spot to watch the lanterns being sent up on the other side of the river.

Everything was clean, and the beds were okay - not the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on but we definitely experienced worse during our travels.

If you're hoping to catch the mini-bus into Chiang Mai it's worth nothing that the guy who owns Riverside Houay Xai is the one who operates it - and there is literally only one. We had planned to take the mini-bus but due to our twenty minute detour into town we missed the last spots on it (they only take 10). Even though every other place in town (and every person you pass) will claim to be able to get you on a mini-bus - essentially all phone calls go to this guy and in the end they'll tell you it's full! So if your onward plans are dependent on the mini-bus into Chiang Mai (It's slightly quicker than the coach) then make sure you're first off the boat and into this place when you arrive in Huay Xai!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The Riverside is a decent option for staying in Huay Xai. Rooms are similar to a decent guesthouse. Clean enough. Nice river views and great location right near immigration. Pleasant enough for a night, but only average in terms of value for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here before and after the Gibbon Experience. The rooms were clean and the view of the Mekong was fantastic. They have the nicest restaurant view of the river in town and it is perfect for sunset. The shower was great, especially after getting muddy in the jungle. The pricetag is a little steeper than many other places in town but we thought it was worth it!

Room Tip: Riverside view room was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here with two teenage kids on the way to and from the Gibbon Experience. The hotel was fine, and probably the best option in Houay Xai. Rooms were light, most with views of the river. En suite bathrooms with plenty of hot water (much appreciated when returning from the Gibbon. Service was fairly average but this seemed to be a common theme in the Houay Xai guest houses. Breakfast wasn't great, although a nice location down by the river. The better bet for food was the slight odd-looking treasure chest restaurant next door - also by the river. Great food, friendly staff and they let us take in our own bottle of wine as they had none in the restaurant. As we were travelling with kids we had wanted to book the Riverside in advance but found it tricky to do so. Eventually managed to book online through LaoTripAdvisor - maybe more expensive than walking in off the street but it worked.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Houay Xai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Houay Xai

Address: 168 Centre Road | Ban Houay Xay Neua, Huay Xai, Laos
Location: Laos > Bokeo Province > Huay Xai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Huay Xai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Riverside Houay Xai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Houay Xai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.