We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Honey moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Cayo Largo
Save
You added Sol Cayo Largo to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect Honey moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I went on Cayo Largo during our honey moon. We stayed at the hotel Sol Cayo Largo and we can say we are fully satisfied of our choice.
Our room at the hotel was clean, well equipped and huge.
Foods on the self-service weren't good for Italian standards, but if we consider we were abroad, we appreciate that there were a big variety of thinks to choose for nourishing us.
The snack bar near the swimming pool was perfect to have fantastic burgers and sandwiches and we also appreciate free bar.
We loved the two "à la carte" restaurants, Cuban style and international style.
The hotel beach is perfect for relaxing and if you want to see Paradise beach is very near in 1 hour walking you can swimm on a natural swimming-pool.
People who work in the hotel were kindly and lovely and they also organized a special dinner for honey mooners on a gazebo near the beach, very romantic!!!
thank you Sol Cayo Largo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear:
I am very delighted to read your positive comments about your Honey Moon in Sol Cayo Largo . Our aim give a good service to our clients and make their stay memorable. Thanks for choosing and we hope to welcome you back in our property.

Best regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    929
    345
    99
    52
See reviews for
338
1,359
114
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loved this hotel, don't expect any Carribbean luxury, this is Cuba.....but it's clean, the rooms are huge and well equipped. Food, there's plenty to choose from, it's not Michelin star dining, but your not going to starve. The snack bar at the pool has some really nice basics, burgers, salads, toasted sandwiches etc.......we went to the a la carte restaurant one night, it was okay, but we did feel that they were pushing you through quickly to get rid of you, but the pool snack bar becomes a Italian by night, well Cuban style......but far more relaxed and a much friendlier vibe.
The hotel beach is wild, huge waves and rugged, but nice all the same, or catch the land train to serena beach, now your talking.........a fabulous calm, quiet (if you walk more than 100 steps from where the land train and taxi's drop off) beach. We dragged 2 sun beds from the busy part a few hundred yards up the beach and had our own private paradise for two weeks. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, if you like to sit on the balcony. And top floor (only two storeys).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Clients
It is very nice to receive your comments about your stay in Sol Cayo Largo and our amazin Islan . We are pleased to know your positive opinion that make our effort valuable.
Thank you for your kindness and we are happy to welcome back.

Best Regards
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No shopping, no partying, no nothing and no clothing!

If you want a resort to do nothing but sun, tan and the odd (?) beverage this is the place.

Topless and bottomless beach is available for the naturealsmos!

The beach is endless and fabulous! Honest!

They said there is no Cambio (Currency Exchange) at the Airport when you arrive, go to the Departure Lounge (to your left) when you arrive, there is a Cambio there (you'll need your passport). The exchange rate when we arrived was 96 CUC's for $100 CDN. At the resort it was 86 CUC's. So exchange at the Departure Lounge at the Airport when you arrive.

The resort opened in 1993 and has experienced several hurricanes and endless sun, heat and humidity. But it has weathered well. the rooms are adequate and clean (minor interruptions with water supply). The beds are comfortable, then again how much time do you spend in your room, eh?

The grounds have mature growth with excellent shaded areas, especially around the pool.

The pool is being renovated (one section at a time with a new liner and pumping equipment) and will be completed in 2 months. Rumor is this resort is being upgraded to a Melia from a Sol for next year, so renovations will be on-going.

The food is fabulous with excellent service. Leave a CUC for breakfast and dinner at the buffet restaurant. For the a-la-cart leave 5-10 CUC's depending on your experience (Dress code in effect, no shorts/ or b/ball caps eh?)

Currency exchange is available at the front desk (take your passport just in case).

There is a no-clothes (no rabo) beach section to your right when you access the beach area. There is a sign indicating so.

The Sol has a small Lobby bar which can get packed really quick. So order doubles (no problem) to avoid line-ups Tip 1 CUC every 2nd round or so.

The trip from the airport is less than 10 minutes, fabulous and the check-in is minimal. Your room may not be available at check-in time so pack shorts, bathing suit, shirt/top in your carry-on to alleviate any hassles.

This is a resort where there is nothing to do. Just R-n-R at the pool or the beach. Literally!.

Scooters and jeeps are available for rental to tour the island. Make sure you check out the Marina, it has a Disco that rocks at night and Cervesa for a CUC.

The Hotel staff are ever so friendly and professional. Your every wish (almost) will be taken care of.

Sit back, relax and enjoy this well aged but classic jewel of Cuba.

Thanx for reading this, the staff will appreciate it.

Room Tip: Choose an East facing room if you like to read on the balcony in the afternoon (1600's are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Clients
We are glad to be part of your good comments, we will keep on working hard in order to increase the quality and maintain the highest standard for the clients who choose us as beautiful destination. We are executing renovations in all rooms, bathwater,pool and external areas that will be ready by year end.
It will be a good pleasure to receive you once again in Sol Cayo Largo Hotel.
Best regards

Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

my wife and I have stayed in cayo largo 7 times and enjoy sol cayo largo the best ,of the four resorts we have stayed at in the past. if you love the beach as much as we do you will love the beach at sol. the beach is a very short easy walking distance from the resort with stairs down to the beach,to the left would take your to the pelicano resort beach and to the right sols beach. areas in front of the resort and mostly clothing, with the odd topless sunbather, further down would be the au natural section, or nude section, our favorite section. if you love to walk either in the nude and clothed no one passes judgement, its very relaxed mostly couple so you can walk for miles in either direction on a beautiful beach . also if you walk to the left you will also hit a nude section at the pelicano . I personal think the grounds are beautiful. the pool is clean but could use a new liner, showing its age. as for the rooms they are a little run down but are kept very clean. as for the food there is so much variety you shouldn't have any problem finding something you enjoy. there is a show done nightly around 10.00 pm that is quit nice. this resort is very relaxed, no one trying to sell you anything, you can walk freely, night or day , dressed or in the nude with no worries what so ever. its not a hard party place or a place to find singles most of the time. we enjoyed our visit so much we are returning in may for a two week stay. just a great place to leave your worries behind.

Room Tip: the rooms on either end are more private, but a little further away. so it depends on your mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear special guests:
We really appreciate your positive comments about our Hotel. We would like to thank you for your fidelity and it is a commitment with our regular clients.I kindly inform you that we keep on working in the improvement rooms ,areas and the pool is in renovation 100% durring May to make this place more enjoyable .
Thanks for all and we will very happy to welcome you in next days.

Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The beach in Cayo Largo was like nothing I've seen before. It was beautiful. I came here with my parents and there were very disturbed my the high amount of nudity of the beach so be ware if you're coming here with children. The hotel seemed very old but well cleaned. The food was average as well although there was a lot of variety so there was always something to choose from. I wouldn't necessarily come back here but it was still a good experience especially for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Clients
Thank you for letting us know your impressions about your recently stay in Sol Cayo Largo. Your opinion it has been valuable because you gave us important elements in order to achieve a better service and client’s satisfaction and really sorry about yours negative perceptions .
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Sol Cayo Largo hotel.

Best Regards
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Vomit induced by questionable cooking? Human v. Feline violence? Stinking, fetid, green pools? Bathrooms so old that may have been built by the Caribe Indians? This place has it all!

Oh and the beach? The beach is one of the most stunning I've ever set foot on. People should never be allowed to say that they "enjoy going to the beach" unless they've seen whats on offer in Cayo Largo. Seriously, its that good.

Which begs the question. Why are the accompanying selection of hotels sooo damn bad?

I love Sol Melia Cuba. My wife and I have been to 7 or 8 of them scattered around Cuba, and we usually feel good about booking a holiday at their facilities, but not this time. Oh no. Not this time at all.

I've never felt the need to vomit directly after enjoying a plate of pasta at a Sol Melia resort before, but then I've never seen staffers trying to punt cats around a Sol Melia resort before either. Come to think of it, I've never seen so much free beer for staff at a Sol Melia resort either. I'm not one to speculate, but there could be a connection here.

This may be a bit "off topic" but I've never run into an entire kitchen staff unable to master the delicate art of cooking french fries as well.

I'm not quite willing to give upon this one though. One morning we took a short wander through the prison-esque Sol Pelicano, and were filled with a sense of relief when we saw the state of the hotel we ALMOST booked.

I've recently heard that there is a planned "refresh/rennovation" scheduled for this resort in the Fall, and this makes me hopeful. As long as it includes a few weeks at culinary school for the kitchen staff, a few trucks full of concrete to correct the "pool issues", and some serious rethinking of their staff drinking policies, I'm all for it. I may even give it another try.

I'll let my fellow tripadvisor reviewers fill me in on the results. And with a beach like that, please believe me, I'll be waiting with baited breath.

Oh, and before the manager decides to write a response telling me how sorry he is that their "efforts weren't up to our standards" and that he "hopes to see us again soon", and that "they are working to correct" these problems? I hope he doesn't bother. Its fairly obvious that they haven't been setting any kind of standards for quite some time. Please let them take the time instead to work with, and develop the staff. There are some great people there, some are seriously terrible, but a lot are really great people!

I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Karol Chareza at Tripcentral Burlington. He had our backs when we needed some help. He's also some kind of travel wizard, and was able to orchestrate our extrication in 15 minutes flat over a broken up cell phone call!! According to others (see below) he performed the impossible. Please do give him a call sometime.

One last thing. I will never, ever, book with Hola Sun again.... Don't ask, you don't want to know.

Room Tip: If you can, request room 1024. You get a pretty decent ocean view during the day, although this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having lived in Central America and travelled extensively through the Caribieen Islands, we choose Cayo Largo for a quiet laid back rest. And that is exactly what it provided. Sol Cayo Largo is a beautiful location for a quiet and unobtrusive holiday.
Like all Resorts of it's age........the Resort has time worn around it's edge's......yet in some way's that adds to it's character. Sol Cayo Largo is an atypical beach resort.......a lovely relief from the over built and monsterous complexes being built in other areas.
Staff at times appear disinterested and in unengaged, but this is just Island living......slow down and relax......it will not take long for you to be on the same page......everything will get done, Island time. And remember, they are working 20 days straight before a break, long hours away from family......and for the price, no one should demand a Royalty's treatment.
Rooms are adequate and whimsical in their decor........the distrested style works well with the overall feel of the resort......yes......chaulking around tubs could use redoing, yes, taps are older, yes, towels and such are somewhat thread bare at times, yes the toilet paper is not charmin, yes, the food is not the Ritz, yes there are cats around the grounds ( they keep the bugs away) yes, night life is limited, yes, there is nudity on portions of the beach, yes, the pool liner is done and needs replacing, yes, the one a la carte is nothing to speak of ( we never even bothered), yes, you can find numerous areas of comparision to home, but it is not home......and that is the whole point.
It is all about the beach here......literally.....it is stunningly beautiful, world class. And the resort provides accomodations that are clean and comfortable, service that we found was never lacking. Food abundant and varied ( but then we are accustomed to their palate choices).
We have decided that Sol Cayo Largo is the place we will return to........it fulfills all we have been looking for in years of travel (never returning anywhere else a second time), literally, as perfect a beach holiday as you might discover.....and, if you have great difficulty with whatever you feel might be lacking in creature comforts......(it is a 4 star.......in Cuba!)....... blame the Helms-Burton Act.......not the wonderful Cuban people.

Room Tip: if booking oceanview request second floor, first floors look at dunes along coast and not water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Srs:
I am very delighted to read your positive comments about your stay in Sol Cayo Largo hotel. Our aim give a good service to our clients and make their stay memorable. Your review makes our effort valuable. Thanks for your nice words about Cuban people and for to be Sol Cayo Largo the only place where you will return.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Largo 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Cayo Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.