We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Playa Blanca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gran Caribe Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cayo Largo del Sur, Cayo Largo 10300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cayo Largo
new york
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Perfect experience. Great hospitality, food was good too! stay in the bungalow. It's a quiet place for couples, young couples but not kids. If you have kids, varadero is best. The island is small and tolerates nudism, the beaches are very quiet and secluded. Nice place for pinot coladas and sex on the beach.
Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    478
    256
    113
    58
See reviews for
234
586
106
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Amazing beaches, good food, yummy tropical drinks, lots of laughs, casual atmosphere, wonderful staff......what else can you ask for in a vacation!!??

Fourth time and not disappointed. We got a wonderful deal to travel here November 12th to the 19th. Weather was excellent and sunny. Everyone treated us amazing and welcomed us back to our tropical home!

We have stayed in both the standard rooms and the bungalows and loved both room types, clean and roomy. Next time the suite???

We feel safe and relaxed at this resort and all our vacations here have went without incidents. If you have read any bad reviews on this resort, please keep in mind that some people will never be happy no matter how good it is. We have travelled 6 times in total to Cuba and keep coming back here.....that says alot!!!

WE LOVE THIS RESORT AND LOOK FORWARD TO OUR NEXT TRIP HERE!!!

A special thank you to Edduar and all the staff for everything! You guys are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lin-Laurentides
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been at the Playa Blanca of Cayo Largo so many times (around 20) and it's my home away from home. The STAFF at the Playa Blanca is one of the main reason we go back year after year. And when the beach is present, WOW, it's Paradise! For the price that we usually pay, you get your money's worth! It's a place to relax, meet old and new friends. This is the safest place I have been. So single woman, don't worry. No rush. As long as I can go back, I shall, cause this is the place to escape. Besos to all my Cuban Family!

Room Tip: If you want to have the nicest view, do pay for the Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my first all-inclusive vacation. It was great ! Made me want to go on vacation permanetly !! Beaches were unbeleivable. Better than any beach you've seen in the most exotic of tv shows or movies !
Pros:
BEACH BEACH BEACH !
Awesome Staff!
Very Clean
No hassling for tips.
10 mins from airport
Cons:
Just one...
This resort is on a small island with just 4 other resorts. Which means, if you are looking for adventure, this might not be the place. There is not much to do as far as exploring goes, but if you are just looking for a getaway to relax and forget about everyday life,
THIS IS THE PLACE !!

I spoke to a great deal of people before choosing and many warned that Cuba was not the best. I now know not to ask before because they are all wrong :)
Would go back in a heartbeat !!

Room Tip: Bungalows are well worth it! More privacy, bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went there in March 2012 with a group of 8 people and only thanks to that we could survive...there was no beach in the Resort (half an hour drive to the beach on the dusty road where you had to pay for your lunch and drinks). Nothing to do in the resort.... broken chairs and swiming pool beds are not being replaced, so you have to get up early in the morning to reserve a chair by the small swiming pool....remember there is no beach by the resort.....the ocean is covering the beach and water full of green stuff called algi. Lunch outside and food is not properly covered so you have bugs siting on you meats, salads and deserts.
It was my 10th time in Cuba and so far I like all the resorts, Gran Caribe Playa Blanca was the first one I did not like at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In genenal the hotel was ok but they need better room maintenance. What I didnt really like about the hotel is the lack of respect from the entertaiment group, I dont want to give names but is more than one girl. They dont even respect the fact that you have a couple. My friends experience the same thing.. the girls are hitting on you husband on your back and then they behave nicely when they see you, they will do this even if you are on your honymoon. They did the same with my friends. I thing that is a lack of respect to the turist.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

just returned from cayo largo playa blanc, overall it was a very relaxing trip and that was exactly what i was looking for, i will try and go thru each section and how i would rate this hotel and trip.

HOTEL - a fairly decent size resort, everything is spread out so there is some walking to get from the bungalows to the buffet to the front desk

BUNGALOWS- spacious, found it clean alittle dated but thats okay, air condtioner worked great at times had to turn it down or off as the room was cold at night, maid did a great job everyday cleaning, and leaving us some great towel art, our fridge was always stocked with a new bottle of water each day.

FOOD - lots of different choices on the buffet, pasta station was great at dinner as well as the omelettes in the morning, could always find something to eat. the only thing i did notice was that during the day at the snack bar where you could order off the menu there were some items missing when the plate finally got to your table, not sure if they were just out of stock or not but it wasnt a big deal. One of the disappointments i did have was with the bread, i remember the bread in Varadero it was to die for, but i found the bread here was very dry and the crust was very hard, something like day old bread would be. Did go to one of the ala cartes and didn't find it very appealing would rather of just ate at the buffets.

STAFF- here is where i had a issue, i found the service very slow, didnt find the staff very friendly at all, at times had to serve ourselves, and it wasnt like they couldnt see a table of 5 coming in for meals, just didnt find them as personable as the staff in Varadero were. I have always known the Cuban people to be friendly and would go out of their way to make sure that you were enjoying your time in their country, but i didnt find that here at all. The pool staff, maintenance, the maids were awesome but the bartenders, and food staff were not approachable at all.

ENTERTAINMENT STAFF/SHOW - the nightly shows were okay,nothing exciting, we went to the shows every night and out of the 7 nights we only really enjoyed one of them. About 1/2 the entertainment staff were really nice and would come up and talk to you during the day or after the show, didnt find that they really interacted with the people at the resort during the day. There was a list of activities that apparently were scheduled to go on during the day, but didnt see anything happening at all.

BEACHES - best part about this whole trip, they were to die for, crystal clear water, warm and sand that was like flour, lots of chairs so there was no need to be at the beach first thing in the morning to save chairs. The stairs down to the beach could use some repairs but other than that could of spend my whole 7 days on the beach

HOTEL POOL - alittle on the small side, but it did its job keeping you cooled off during the day, had fun playing water volleyball, most days there was maybe 10 people max at a time in the pool, lots of chairs around the pool, really cant complain about the pool

OVERALL - enjoyed the trip to cayo largo and got to experience a vacation on a small island,not aot to do on the island, if you wanted to do anything you had to leave the resort, you could spend 2 cuc pesos and travel into the marina and walk around there. Couldnt of asked for better weather, had 2 days of rain in the morning and the sun was back out by noon time, at times the humidity was aiittle high. Didnt find the weather dropped much during the night as well, it was still hot and humid not sure is it was the time of year we went or not, but no need for a light sweater or jacket at night. Lots of mosquitos at night, so bring lots of bug spray, one thing they do need to do thou is to put in some extra lights on the walkways because it is quite dark walking back to your rooms after the show.

Would I return to Cayo Largo - umm prolly not, but i am glad that i got to experience another part of Cuba, this vacation was exactly what I was looking for thou, I wanted a week away where I could just relax , lounge by the pool, enjoy the quietness and thnk about nothing but being on vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Caribe Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Playa Blanca

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur, Cayo Largo 10300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Caribe Playa Blanca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who dream of days in intimacy, peace and full enjoyment in the Caribbean, they have Playa Blanca Hotel (ex-Barcelo Cayo Largo), the destination of all your desires. This property harmoniously combines nature and culture, offering all-inclusive services to all its guests. The hotel mixes beautiful architectonic designs with high comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Playa Blanca Hotel Cayo Largo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Playa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gran Caribe Playa Blanca to your Saves list