We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn in Country” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Grotta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Grotta to your Saves list
Villa La Grotta
Via Per Sercognano 31 | San Giustino Valdarno, 52020 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Westlake Village, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historic Inn in Country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This inn is the 'sister' to Salvatore Farragamo's villa about 3 miles away. We were told it was owned and lived in by the King of Italy. My husband loved the quiet, remote location in Tuscany. Definitely that wine country feel. My personal impression was it was sterile, sparsely furnished (the sofa in our suite was hard and uncomfortable), and not a cozy destination. We paid for an upgraded room (Michaelangelo) because it had a fireplace, but then was told when we arrived that we needed to pay another fee for the fireplace to be lit. The suite was definitely spaceious except for the bathroom which was adequate. Restaurant recommendations were very good and staff was friendly. Cold breakfast included. Go to wine tasting at Il Borro and the Frangipanni Giorgami handbag factory. Remember siestas begin at 1:30 pm and end about 4:30 pm. Can't access places at that time.

Room Tip: Staff leaves at 8:30 pm each night so cannot reach them afterwards. (I forgot to obtain the wi-fi c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    57
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
23
154
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked our two night stay through A Travelzoo promotion. Our room was a junior suite and was very nice and big. Villa La Grotta grounds were traditional Tuscany with cypress and olive trees, a pool and picnic area.

Since we did not have car, the Villa owner, Gianluca, came back early for his trip in Florence and took us to dinner at Ostesia. We had a wonderful traditional Tuscany Dinner and the service with excellent from GainCarlo. The breakfast at the Villa was very nice and Simona and Vlad (Villa Keepers) make a great Cappacino. We enjoyed walking down to San Guistino Valdarno (manytimes), soaking up the country side and the olive harvest. Simona drove us to wine taste a IL Borro Winery (highly recommend), we bought a case of wine, a bottle of Grappa and Occhio de Pernice. Gianluca birthday surprise for my wife was a carriage ride. Only problem, the carriage seat was made for two people. This made for a tight ride with the driver, my wife and my wide butt. It was fun. That night we went to dinner with Simona and Vald at La Luna. Amazing Dinner! One of the La Luna owners was our waiter and was very proud of every plate he served.

A couple days before we left for Italy, our family cat died. We were surprised when the Villa La Grotta cat "Leone" came to our door and wanted to come in. As you can see from the attached pictures, he became our cat for two days. My wife just got a new kitten a couple days ago and we named him, "Leone".

Gianluca, Vald and Simona - Thank you for treating us like family. If you are ever in California, please come see us.

Sincerely Tony and Kathy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stumbled onto this delightful villa and the even more charming hosts. We two couples stayed in la Grotta for 6 days in the two bed-room unit upstairs. The location is perfect. All the Tuscan haunts are within driving distance. Luigi and Luca are excellent hosts/proprietors with intimate local knowledge. Their recommendations never failed us. The restaurants recommended are so delightful we ate in both three times each. Morizio of La Luna Nel Pozzo becomes a good friend even though we don't speak each other’s language. The setting is enchanting and the food sublime. Vlad and Simonne are most helpful and accommodating. Their whimsical personalities will carry them far in the hospitality business. Now if you are looking for state-of-the-art furnishing, modern amenities, spacious elevators, uniformed doormen to curry favors and ingratiate themselves to your every whims, then you should stay in the usual 5-star chain hotels and eat the rubbish they recommend. But if you want a home-away-from-home, comfortable atmosphere and convivial “little-while” friends in a foreign country, then this is the place. If you cannot climb the easy steps in the villa, perhaps you should stay home and just watch “Under the Tuscan Sun” or “Tea with Mussolini” on your big screen TV and order in pizza. But if you really want to experience Tuscany, eat the local food and drink what they drink, enjoy and appreciate their leisure attitude in life, then La Grotta will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: You have a variety to choose from, single room, suite, double rooms, cot and mat under the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

nice place!
we have a gr8 stay at villa la grotta ... the villa is very clean and is the best place where you can have a nice holiday ! We had the "Caravaggio" family room wich is a very big appartament ..
2 bathrooms 2 bedrooms and 1 livingroom.... and one of the bedrooms haves fireplace.
also the staff is very friendly.
look forward to come back !

Room Tip: the "caravaggio" family room is a very big and confortable appartament...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked this hotel online through a special, while we only stayed one night and did not take advantage of the beautiful pool area or the wine tour it was definitely worth the money. Breakfast was more robust than at our other hotels, more selection. We arrived late the hosts bent over backwards to help us find the place on a stormy night, select a wine for an evening snack and we woke up to a beautiful clear morning with an amazing view from our balcony. If you are not sure where to stay, you won't be making a mistake coming here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had stay 3 days in this lovely villa situated in a beautiful corner of Tuscany... We had the Michelangelo suite wich haves a big livingroom with fireplace and a nice bedroom also with fireplace
The villa is very beautiful with a nice pool and a big garden where you can stay and have a drink .. or just relax..
The staff (Simona&Vlad) and the landlords Luigi&Gianluca made our stay even more confortable ...
They give us some tips where we can go and take dinner ...some tipical Tuscany restaurants (good food )
I hope one day i can come back here because it was a lovely stay...

Room Tip: Michelangelo suite is very very very beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon during our mini tour of Tuscany, our welcome sentence was "this is your home, not a hotel" and was instantly made to feel so welcome and relaxed, we bought the deal from Travelzoo which we upgraded to a junior suite, we stayed in the Leonardo Devinici room which had a huge wonderful balcony and the room itself was well equipped with everything you need and typically Tuscan. The views were amazing and was lovely to wake up to in the mornings. Vlaad was a wonderful and extremely helpful and friendly host which made it more special. The hotel was in a beautiful area and very peaceful....it is quite remote so a car is advisable. The perfect place to relax. Unfortunately the only downside was the food in the evening, the Travelzoo offer stated a two course lunch or dinner with a cheese and ham platter, when we ordered our dinner on the first night there was no menu to choose from and we were told that we would have dinner brought to our room, this consisted of a cheese and ham platter only! Perfect if it was for lunch but after a long drive we were starving so was a bit disappointed and still hungry! So please note there is a great takeaway pizza place in the village! Apart from that this place was absolutely beautiful, I would definitely return but with the knowledge that there is no evening meal available!
We absolutely loved it here and felt so welcomed and relaxed.
The location is perfect for touring the Chianti hills and nearby cities and of course the local vineyards, although we had a wine tasting evening in the hotel hosted by Vlaad which was very quaint and the wine itself which was the locally produced wine was delicious and very well presented. A lovely little touch to the hotel.
I'm so looking forward to returning to Tuscany and will of course include this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Grotta

Address: Via Per Sercognano 31 | San Giustino Valdarno, 52020 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > San Giustino Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in San Giustino Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Tuscany, along the wine road which leads to Arezzo, in perfect harmony with the surrounding countryside of vineyards, olive groves, ancient hamlets and churches, Villa La Grotta is a typical Tuscan manor house dated late-700, perfectly restored and opened to welcome guests, who wish to taste the genuine hospitality of our territory. Its strategic position allows daily escapes to Siena, Arezzo, Florence and numerous other minor towns of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Grotta Hotel San Giustino Valdarno
Villa La Grotta Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.