We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Fontelunga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Fontelunga to your Saves list
Villa Fontelunga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Cunicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Heaven on earth for two weeks in Tuscany: A wonderfull, very well kept villa, beautiful garden and olive tree hill with delightfull view, elegant pool, and extremly hospitable, friendly hosts and staff. Absolutely recommendable for "super independent guests" (as we were) as well as for sociable people: hosts, staff and services adopt seamlessly to your individual needs and preferences. An outstanding, just perfect mix between timeless tuscan savoir vivre-feeling, stylish french côté sud-interior and modern urban lounge-mood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Claudia , you are our perfect independent guests !:) thank you for the review , I really appreciate it
we are always very happy when gusts undestand and love our hospitality and our mix interios design between contemporary and classic .
Please come back to visit us again soon .
all the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    10
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
119
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Myself and my fiance recently travelled to Florence to decide on a wedding venue for next year. I had browsed many a website on places to stay that looked chilled, amazing, chic and truly italian and this where I came across Villa Fontelunga. We stayed here for 3 nights over the last May bank holiday and it exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, Paulo greeted us with - what would you like to drink? - Best words you can hear after a long day travelling. Instantly Paulo was brilliant and made us feel at home. It is a truly relaxed family affair here with an honesty bar (take what you want but just note it on a pad and they will charge it to your room).

We arrived on the Friday, and that night they were hosting a dinner for all the guests in the villa, which was optional. We were exhausted so stayed for the dinner and it was amazing!!! Paulo's mum cooked - she is the best cook ever! It was so much fun! We had Prosecco and anti-pasti to begin with outside, then had the main meal indoors! It was brilliant! At dinner we met the 2nd P - Philip!

The villa is elegant and chic, and instantly homely. Our room was lovely, and we learnt that each room has a colour theme. Breakfast is included, best coffee I had in italy that weekend! Plus freshly baked cakes and doughnuts!

The view from the villa is lovely. It is across the olive trees, the swimming pool and jacuzzi - rolling hills and the true tuscany! It is beautiful.

Philip and Paulo (the 2 P's) make this place something extra special. The love and attention that they bring to this is amazing and how they treat everyone is far exceeds the best customer service in top 5* hotels! The fact they remember your name, your history, why you are there, and actually try and generate an instant friendship with you is really special! They are not over the top, they leave you alone whilst being attentive. Truly relaxed!

We have decided to have our wedding somewhere else near Rome now but I actually am upset that we havent chosen here. I would love Paulo and Philip to come to the wedding though!!! P&P - speak to Rossana (our wedding planner extraordinaire!!)

I highly recommend staying here - it is truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Gemma and Mike , thank you very much for the lovely review , both of us are very pleased that you had a good break at Fontelunga.
Sorry you will not have the wedding here in Tuscany but I m sure the property you have decided to book closer to Rome is fantastic and we both wish you all the bst for the future .
Maybe you can come back here for your honeymoon or for destressing after the wedding .
ciao Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is nice, the hosts friendly, the garden and pool are gorgeous. There is some sense for the detail there. Unfortunately this does not include the colourful rooms. They clearly did not live up to our expectations of a comparatively expensive 4star location.
Guests are international and we had a great time with them. They supposedly take this as tuscan style. It is not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review . I m pleased that you think that the pool and garden are gorgeous .
sorry that the rooms are not your cup of tea, it is quite challenging to please everybody .
As you mentioned we do have a very international clientele and usually they love the overall experience including the look of the rooms.
all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Fontelunga provides very pleasant surroundings, friendly and helpful staff and a relaxing environment. It is also a good base from which to explore south eastern Tuscany.

The villa is comfortable with a very pleasant pool and jacuzzi area, a shaded and comfortable cabana and a gravel and lawn outdoor area for meals or just relaxing.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and simply furnished.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is comprehensive information on many activities, including restaurants and sightseeing in the area. Paolo gave us (and all of the guests) his personal attention in planning our stay. His sightseeing advice was good and helpful and his restaurant suggestions were fantastic. The restaurants he recommended were within a few minutes drive of Fontelunga.

Fontelunga is well located as a base for exploring the south eastern corner of Tuscany (naturally you need a car, GPS also helps) and further afield if you are happy to drive greater distances. It is about 30 minutes south of Arezzo and within comfortable driving distance (up to 1 hour) of plenty of great places. In our 3 day stay we visited Siena, Pienza, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Bagno Vignoni (just to look at the old thermal bath), and spent a few hours lounging beside the pool. There were plenty of things to do that we have left for our next visit to Tuscany.

The Villa hosts a dinner party for guests twice a week. It gave us the opportunity to relax and socialise with the other guests and provided a most enjoyable evening. The only downside of the stay was that the price of the dinner party, at 59 euro per person, was not nearly as good value as the excellent nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review , we are pleased that you liked our recommendations for places to visit and local restaurants. Fontelunga is a great base to explore various places in Tuscany and Umbria.
As per our dinner parties I have to say that considering that Prosecco and wine is included in the rate and the amount of food we provide , the rate , at least to me , seems reasonable .
Anyway all the best and thank you for choosing Fontelunga .
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked Villa Fontelunga based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. I work in the travel industry and am all too familiar with luxury hotels and accommodation. I am accustomed to the disappointment of a room or property being misrepresented due to clever photography or solicited reviews. We were happily surprised to find that Villa Fontelunga far surpassed our expectations even based on the abundance of positive reviews.

Villa Fontelunga is the perfect cocktail of postcard-perfect Tuscan countryside, warm but discreet attention from the owners and a design aesthetic that makes you feel like an extra in 'Under the Tuscan Sun'.

I am usually an avid travel researcher with my days well planned in advance. My best advice regarding Villa Fontelunga is to relax, plan nothing and listen to the expert advice of the owner Paolo. Go wherever he tells you, eat at whatever reastaurant he recommends, hell - order the dish per his instructions - I guarantee it will make you want to return again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
thank you so much for the good review .
yesterday i had a bad day ( it does happen in hospitaluty :) ) and reading your review made me feel sooooo much better !
As you know Philip and myslef work very hard to make our guests feel wlecome and hep them out during their stay in Tuscany and Italy in general .
please come back soon !
all the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Alli and I stayed in Villa Galletto, owned by the Hotel Villa Fontelunga for a week in May. Villa Galletto is a tastefully decorated and comfortable one bedroom villa that suited our needs perfectly. We shoped in the local markets and cooked in the kitchen to our hearts content. A couple of times during the week we visited Fontelunga for drinks and dinner and the hospitality of Paulo and Phillip and their team was something special.

The team also had a great reference book in the villa of things to do and see in the area including the market days for each village and some great restaurant recommendations. The local Taxi driver Guido could teach the rest of the worlds drivers a thing or two about service as well.

We will return, Glyn and Alli

Room Tip: These guys know style you won't be disappointed with any room or villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
hello Glyn and Alli , thank you for your review. we are please that you had a good time at Villa Galletto during your holiday in Tuscany .all the best Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovington uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for a week at beginning of May. Can think of very little to fault. Lovely villa and setting. Very hospitable hosts and staff. Divine dogs. It helps if you don't mind being sociable- it's just that sort of place. It was never overbearing though. A good mix of nationalities and ages which is always interesting. Always willing to help with information on restaurants, visits etc. The villa is ideally placed for doing as much or as little as you want.
Would definitely go back again. Perhaps the tennis court needs a bit of updating if I was being picky. Watch out as Lucy the dog is very fond of tennis balls.
ps Paulo makes a mean lemon cake for breakfast. Ask him for the recipe.

Room Tip: Choose a room that gives you a lovely view of olive groves and a big Tuscan view. Most of them will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Villa Fontelunga, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
hello and thank you for the review . we take suggestion very seriously and we have noticed the remark regarding the tennis court : this year we have redone the pool area adding the jacuzzi and the new pool.
next year we will have a go at the tennis court and maybe change the surfice all together from quick 2000 to cement , not sure yet !
all the best and thakn you for choosing Fontelunga for your holiday in Tuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontelunga

Address: via Cunicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Fontelunga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Fontelunga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Villa Fontelunga Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Fontelunga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.