We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Fontelunga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Fontelunga to your Saves list
Villa Fontelunga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Cunicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield, Illinois
2 reviews
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I feel very repetative of all the other reviews but I need to add on. My husband and I, along with two friends, spent five wonderful nights at Villa Fontelunga. Paolo, Philip and Rob (along with Lucy and Charlie) made our visit comfortable, relaxing and very special. They were very helpful on providing directions, suggestions, excellent dinner recommendations including reservations and a homey respite after a long day of site seeing.
One night, after long day and no energy to make it to a restaurant, they added on to their own take-out order and set us up with a comfortable dinner in the dining room. It was exactly what we all needed plus it was delicious! It was another one of those kind touches that they all do to make your stay with them extraordinary.
It was a wonderful experience!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    10
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
136
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Villa Galletto (last wk in Sept) which is one of 2 villa's owned by Villa Fontelunga which are located a short drive away from the main villa.. It was our first trip to Tuscany and most certainly not our last! On arrival at Fontelunga we were greeted by Philip and the beautiful dogs Charlie and Lucy, Philip was quick to get us a glass of wine and we chilled out on the seats outside the villa enjoying the spectacular views. The villa Galletto is absolutely stunning our own little house although it felt like you were still in a hotel as the villa was cleaned daily and on our arrival a complimentary hamper was awaiting us even with the olive oil from Fontelungas olive trees. Philip had kindly invited us to the house for drinks in the evenings and we happily accepted his offer. We were greeted by Paulo and Rob (the other owners of the Villa) and we relaxed outside and watched the sun set. All the guests then go mull around and enjoy some drinks outside in a really relaxed and happy atmosphere. The best thing about Villa Fontelunga is the folders that they provide! Honestly leave your guide books at home because this folder is AMAZING! It has exact directions to any of the villages/towns in the area, where to eat and shop it was our bible and came everywhere with us the whole week we were there, and the restaurant recommendations never failed us they were brilliant. I cannot stress how fantastic Villa Fontelunga and its owners are, its such a relaxed and chilled out place to be and a must for anyone heading to the area. Thank you Philip, Paulo and Rob for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself & my husband have just returned from Villa Fontelunga after the most amazing 5 days. The best way to describe the villa & entire experience is to say "it's like staying with friends!". Paolo, Philip & Rob are fantastic hosts & throughout our stay could not have been more helpful. There is so much to do within a short drive and they will make fantastic recommendations and will even have directions left out for you after your delicious breakfast.

The dinner party on the night we arrived was such a great way to start the break & we got to know all of the other guests and their restaurant reccomendations - La Lodola, il Goccino (best lamb cutlets I've ever eaten) & in Cortona Osteria Del Teatro (saffron & porcini risotto - delicious!).

We will most definitely be returning to Villa Fontelunga as soon as possible & can not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I think the reviews on here say it all really. Philip and Paolo with their two gorgeous dogs, Lucy and Charlie, have created a wonderful environment that's both stylish yet incredibly homely and inviting at the same time. Nothing disappointed. Everything exceeded our expectations. We left feeling totally relaxed, knowing we'd got the most out of Tuscany thanks to their incredible knowledge of the area. It's beautiful, brilliantly located, fun, friendly and in our opinion good value for money. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay at Villa Fontelunga exceeded all our expectations. Not only was it the wonderful location and high quality accommodation that we had expected but the atmosphere and ambiance created by Phillip, Paolo and Rob made the whole experience unique and unforgettable.

We enjoyed the leisurely breakfasts and the dinner party was a fantastic way to enjoy some wonderful Tuscan cooking and get to know other guests from all corners of the globe. If you really want to get out and about the villa is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful medieval towns and Paolo, Phillip and Rob were always on hand to offer suggestions and book restaurants for dinner.
We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Villa Fontelunga! Charming, Tuscan retreat away from the hustle and bustle of all the Tuscan villages. This is more of an experience...than just a hotel stay. The owners, Paolo and Philip, make Villa Fontelunga the marvelous respite that it is. As Paolo told me, "Sightseeing can be exhausting!" And the Villa is a haven from all that you think you must see - I agree with other reviewers that you settle in after a day or two and get into "Fontelunga pace" and realize you'd rather be resting at the Villa than bustling about to all the villages.

When I read the reviews of Villa Fontelunga I had high expectations...and to say it surpassed them is an understatement. A very social villa, be prepared to make friends with the other guests.

Unpretentious in its design, the Villa is beautiful, pristine, clean, cozy and a perfect place to slow down after a few days in Rome or Florence. In fact, this was our favorite part of our trip. We stayed in the Oro room and had a lovely view of the olive groves, pool area, and the garden. But you really can't go wrong at Villa Fontelunga - all of the rooms looked lovely. I'm grateful that we learned to take a break from the chaos of sightseeing and stayed for hours just plopped in the living room at the Villa, sipping wine, enjoying good conversation with guests from all over the world. Be sure you toss your well-planned itineraries - after the 1st day I realized I was going to get so much more out of our stay if we went with the flow.

You MUST eat at La Lodola - just a few kilometers from the Villa. Paolo and Philip love this restaurant and send all their guests there. We went back a 2nd time - the best food we had in Italy and the most charming little family kitchen.

I also must give props to Rob - he has been working at the Villa and welcomed us, gave us a fabulous personal tour upon our arrival and we found him to be a great addition to the Villa team.

A few other favorites while staying at Villa Fontelunga:
*Have lunch at Pane e Vino in Cortona
*Sip Cappucino at Caffe Poliziano in Montepuliciano
*Take a drive towards Siena and enjoy a wine tour/lunch at the Castello di Brolio in Gaiole-in-Chianti
*Skip the Prada outlets - not much to see (at least on our visit)
*Enjoy gelato in Cortona at Gelato Ti Amo - delish!
*Try to see some of the even smaller towns closer to the Villa (Luciagno, Marciana, etc)

I've been gushing non-stop since we returned to Texas about Villa Fontelunga. It felt classic. Italian. Restful. Stylish. A true Tuscany treasure you won't want to miss.

Room Tip: The Oro room was fabulous! Great view of the garden, olive groves, on the top floor as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The trouble with Fontelunga is that it makes you question whether you should be scurrying like rabbits around Cortona, Montepulciano, Arezzo.... (you get the picture?) rather than enjoy the easy but delicate charms of Phillip's (Paola was away) brilliant Palazzo. It's everything (and more) reviewed by others: totally loved coming back after a brilliant day, choreographed by Phillip (& the super raconteur Rob) to see lit candles at each table overlooking the valley, a sensible blanket on each chair, the fully stocked bar w/ ice bucket, and them foraging around to find someone to get mildly pissed with. Thanks Phillip--we'll be back....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
11.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Hotel Villa Sassolini
#2 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
11.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
18.8 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
9.2 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fontelunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontelunga

Address: via Cunicchio 5, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Fontelunga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Fontelunga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Villa Fontelunga Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Fontelunga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.