We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home is where the Heart is....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa la lodola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa la lodola to your Saves list
Villa la lodola
Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home is where the Heart is....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to stay in a central locale during our visit to Tuscany...and as luck would have it...we chose La Lodola. I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was with Mario and his family. I knew we had chosen the right place, when upon our arrival, Mario took us on a tour of his farm. I had never seen pomegranates growing on trees before, or taken a fig off a tree and popped it into my mouth. Mario is one of the most delightful people I have ever met. There is an Osteria attached to the B&B and we decided to eat there every night, as we felt such a part of the family. The food was outrageously good....the locals all gather there.Mario's son and daughter-in-law, Carlos and Manuela, run the Osteria and they are beyond talented, kind and accomodating. Carlos food is amazing! Breakfast was sublime with Mario's homemade jams and cakes. Our last morning, he brought us into the kitchen to show us how he made his jams. Our room was a Jr. Suite, bath attached on the first floor with a private door into the backyard....if we'd been there in summer we could have popped out of our room and into the pool...but it was a little too cool for that in late October. Miranda, their dog, kept us company as we sat by the fire in the wonderfully comfy common room. And we did day trips as far as Volterra and Assisi...easily. A perfect locale and perfect home in Tuscany. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful little B&B, very centrally located to most Tuscan sites. Mario, the owner and father, is a pure delight. ALways smiling and helpful with regional info. He makes the most delicious cakes for breakfast as well as fresh fruit and his homemade jams. His son Carlo is the chef in the attached Osteria and his wife, Manuela, is a waitress. The food was amazing, reasonbly priced and at the end of the day the place became a small party as the inn's guests ate dinner and shared their days experiences. After ordering the house wine, Manuela showed us where the wine barrel was so we could help ourself. The rooms are spacious and filled with antiques. We stayed in the Junior Suite that has an attached bathroom that is bigger than some bedrooms in Italy!! The family dog, Merenda, lounges around all day and is happy to get a belly rub. There is a lovely pool that we didn't use due to the time of the year. We drove to Lucignano, Cortona, Montepulciano and Montalcino easily from Foiano. You truly will be treated like family here- and what a great family they ALL are. Grazie!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this place. Mario was so attentive without being intrusive. Very helpful in choosing sights to see and in how to get there. Room was very comfortable, B&B was set in the middle of beautiful Tuscan countryside. Ate at the Osteria 4 times, the food was so good. Osteria is small, holds only about 20, so menu is somewhat limited especially on Secundi Piatti. But Chef Carlo is terrific. Best Gnocci I have ever eaten, and I have eaten a lot. Ate there 4 times because of the social experience. Felt like part of the family......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed up the road at Villa Fontelunga and they sent us to La Lodola for dinner. We fell in love with this family restaurant and the food was outstanding. The menu changes every day but think small Italian kitchen, authentic cuisine, personal service. We went back for a 2nd visit before we left. This was a true Italian foodie experience and I'm grateful we stumbled upon it. Ask for the chocolate cake :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

For couples this is a perfect place. The host, Mario and his family, made every effort to make this a great stay. Our room was small but in good condition and with A/C. Surroundings are just magnificent and the breakfast and overall service perfect.
While the closest town, Foiano, is very small you the restaurant at La Lodola is great. The only day the restaurant was closed, Mario took us to Pienza for dinner - just outstanding.

Food, wine, hospitality, surroundings - all top class.

Johan & Erica

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the third year we have visited La Ladola, previously we have only been to the restaurant which is fabulous. This year we decided to stay too and it did not disappoint, it's a beautiful place full of lovely antiques, the pool is beautiful and peaceful if you need a day off from sightseeing. Most of all staying somewhere where you are welcomed by the whole family is wonderful, they do an amazing job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

La Lodola is one of the best places I have stayed in Italy. We were visiting for a wedding and had 5 out of the 6 bedrooms booked. On arrival we were welcomed by the amazing Mario (an absolute super star)! He takes such pride in this family run house which is styled to perfection, every room being a little bit differenct. Carlo, Mario's son, runs the restaurant and is one of the best chefs in Tuscany in my opinion. The fabulous breakfast, lunch and dinner was to die for. The family are so accommodating - should you feel to eat at any time of the day they will provide a little bit of delicious heaven on the plate.
The house is set in an idyllic location surrounded by rolling hills and an amazing pool, with a view to die for! No words can describe how much I enjoyed this spot.
Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa la lodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa la lodola

Address: Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lodola is an old farmhouse dating back to 1700, restored with attention to detail and period furnishings from the owners Mario and Beatrice. The Villa Lodola, over the years, from a private house has been transformed into a charming B & B, opening to guests five en-suite bedrooms: Basic, Classic I, V Classic, Junior Suites and Suites. Spacious and welcoming, each one has its own personality, so the stay at Villa Lodola will never be the same.The Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the Val di Chiana, with view over the gentle rolling hills, a private horizon that guests can enjoy from the garden of the villa. The B&B is charming with a beautiful swimming pool, a restaurant where the chef prepares delicious Tuscan dishes and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa la lodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Lodola Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa la lodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.