We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa la lodola

Save Saved
You added Villa la lodola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa la lodola
Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

For couples this is a perfect place. The host, Mario and his family, made every effort to make this a great stay. Our room was small but in good condition and with A/C. Surroundings are just magnificent and the breakfast and overall service perfect.
While the closest town, Foiano, is very small you the restaurant at La Lodola is great. The only day the restaurant was closed, Mario took us to Pienza for dinner - just outstanding.

Food, wine, hospitality, surroundings - all top class.

Johan & Erica

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
43
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the third year we have visited La Ladola, previously we have only been to the restaurant which is fabulous. This year we decided to stay too and it did not disappoint, it's a beautiful place full of lovely antiques, the pool is beautiful and peaceful if you need a day off from sightseeing. Most of all staying somewhere where you are welcomed by the whole family is wonderful, they do an amazing job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

La Lodola is one of the best places I have stayed in Italy. We were visiting for a wedding and had 5 out of the 6 bedrooms booked. On arrival we were welcomed by the amazing Mario (an absolute super star)! He takes such pride in this family run house which is styled to perfection, every room being a little bit differenct. Carlo, Mario's son, runs the restaurant and is one of the best chefs in Tuscany in my opinion. The fabulous breakfast, lunch and dinner was to die for. The family are so accommodating - should you feel to eat at any time of the day they will provide a little bit of delicious heaven on the plate.
The house is set in an idyllic location surrounded by rolling hills and an amazing pool, with a view to die for! No words can describe how much I enjoyed this spot.
Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I could not recommend La Lodola more highly. This B&B is one of the best I have ever been too. Mario and his family absolutely spoilt my friends and I and ensure we had an exceptional experience when we stayed there recently for 3 nights. Their service was fabulous, they were friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world. If you stay here I would highly recommend you book a meal at the restaurant and order the duck. The house itself is great, the rooms are cool and nicely decorated, there is air conditioning and wifi. There is also a great pool for you to use over looking the glorious hills of Tuscany. The location is central, though it can be difficult to find as many people think its in Arezzo, however it is just out of town. I really can not recommend this more highly. I have never written a review on trip advisor however thought that this little gem really deserved the support and praise.

Room Tip: I would book a classic room and take the upstairs one. The junior Suite though is seriously good va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

La Lodola is beautiful, thanks to (Super) Mario and all his hard work.
It has so much characture, and has been restored to perfection.
The food is delicious, and the staff (Especially Mario) are great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A wonderful house with a genuine gentlemen at its helm. The house is beautifully furnished and the view from the pool area is stunning. Free wifi a welcome bonus. Above all, the hospitality shown to us by Mario was the absolute highlight of a highly enjoyable stay, and especially his fantastic breakfasts including homemade cakes and jams. Cannot recommend highly enough. Our only regret was that we didn't have an opportunity to enjoy a meal at the onsite Osteria. Next time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I highly recommend this wonderful Tuscan retreat. The interior is is rustic, spacious and beautifully decorated with interesting antiques. The farmhouse is set in pretty and well tended gardens with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside. The pool area is perfect to relax in. Mario and his family were extremely warm and welcoming (they have excellent English), and during our stay of three nights Mario frequently went 'above and beyond' to help us access a local villa where our friends were getting married. The breakfast here is amazing - you are presented with delicious fresh baked cakes alongside a buffet of other tempting foods and great coffee. The restaurant food is also delicious, and extremely good value for the quality you enjoy here. They will also take great care to explain the menu to you (if your Italian is patchy!) and will help you out if you're after a vegetarian option. Everyone is extremely helpful, flexible and keen to put you at your ease. They also have a gorgeous (rather tubby) labrador called Miranda who will let you stroke her belly. It's true the only way to access the villa is by car, but we enjoyed a walk in the near by fields and it's the sort of place you can happily stay put. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite (II) - it was lovely. Quiet with views of the gardens and nearby valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa la lodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa la lodola

Address: Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lodola is an old farmhouse dating back to 1700, restored with attention to detail and period furnishings from the owners Mario and Beatrice. The Villa Lodola, over the years, from a private house has been transformed into a charming B & B, opening to guests five en-suite bedrooms: Basic, Classic I, V Classic, Junior Suites and Suites. Spacious and welcoming, each one has its own personality, so the stay at Villa Lodola will never be the same.The Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the Val di Chiana, with view over the gentle rolling hills, a private horizon that guests can enjoy from the garden of the villa. The B&B is charming with a beautiful swimming pool, a restaurant where the chef prepares delicious Tuscan dishes and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa la lodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Lodola Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa la lodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.