We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Castello di Gargonza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Castello di Gargonza to your Saves list
Il Castello di Gargonza
Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Living the dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This beautiful castle on the top of a hill has been lovingly restored. The pool is lovely and lots of walking/hiking opportunities on the grounds. Great place to relax after touring. The breakfast is delicious with many homemade items. The rooms are a little rustic but quaint, might be why you came there!

Room Tip: There are steps everywhere, if you have lots of luggage maybe a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Judy,

we are very happy you came to visist us in Gargonza and hope you had a good stay with us. Infact we are in the center of tuscany but in the middle of nowhere and this gives certainly the opportunity to do a lot of hiking. Our breakfast as you write very well has home made cakes made every morning by Lucia!

We are truly rustic I would say and also authentic if I may add. So thanks again that you have apreciated our authenticity and hope we can have you again in Gargonza!

Warmest wishes for Thanksgiving and Christmas!

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    42
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
80
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raanana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A nice castle to sleep in. Has very good view. Pastoralic atmosphere. Breakfast is very good and with a nice service. Room was big and equipped. We had a room next to the reception so we also had wifi in our room.
The only thing is the hotel is very rustic which some people might find less appealing.
We didnt try to eat in the restaurant of the hotel but we highly recommend you the one that is just next to 1 klm down hill. The food was very good and cheap.
The only
Thig is

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jimmy,

thank you for your positive review. I see you are an expert contributor and a trusted traveller! I am happy you enjoyed breakfast which is the most important part of a hotel. Wifi is in almost all our rooms and every year we expanded although medieval walls and wifi don't go well together!
We are also rustic that is right but I would add that we are authentic because the restoration of the village was done in order to keep the character given by the former inhabitants of the village.
I am sad you didn't try our restaurant because I would have liked your opinion on that as well so we can maybe leave it for next time.

thanks again for visiting and staying in Gargonza

Kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location & the accommodations are incredible...but there is a sense of lack of interest in the management.
The restaurant is definitely understaffed , not engaging and the food is very average, perhaps because they have a captive audience..definitely no pici as advertised!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your comment regarding Castello di Gargonza and on the same time I was sad not to have met you personally and show you the works that my father and my self did over 40 years of restoration! I respect your comments and hope to do better also for you again in the near future but saving a village from complete ruin and keep it up does not go with the lack of interest in the management you write. We have had so far all compliments from our typical tuscan ktichen and we ceratinly work hard to keep up with the beauty of the village; pasta is home made everyday and meat is all from our grill. I am sad the night you hate at the restaurant did not satisfy you as it does to everybody else. Pici is a typical dish of our region and wild boar and duck come directly from our hunting property.
I hope, nevertheless, to have you again and let you apreciate what did not completely satidfy you this time.
Thank you very much and kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a great time there for a friends wedding. The Count was super helpful and very nice, rooms are lovely and the vibe for a wedding is brillant. The only negatives are that the pool is rather cold but I guess that will always be a problem with an outdoor pool. Perhaps they could do something with solar panels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Friend,

thanks for your words. We put a lot of effort in creating a good atmosphere among us who work here and the fact that this is apreciated makes us more than happy.
I totally agree on the swimming pool. We have many restorations to do but it is certainly something we could do and would improve the chance of having the possibility to use the pool longer. Thanks for the inteligent suggestion.

Kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It's the third year we keep our company sales department meeting in this awesome castle and every single year it'been better than the one before. The castle manager and the personnel are nice and kind and very supporting even if you have the weirdest request. The place do the rest being one of the most beautiful castle i've ever seen. Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It's the third year we keep our company sales department meeting in this awesome castle and every single year it'been better than the one before. The castle manager and the personnel are nice and kind and very supporting even if you have the weirdest request. The place do the rest being one of the most beautiful castle i've ever seen. Absolutely amazing!

Dear Nic,

thanks a million for your interesting revue. We have never had many revues regarding for meeting place and I thank you for this. We have indeed many meetings and some like are happy to return and that is the most important thing. Gargonza is very good for meetings because we are not in the down town New York where people can go off everywhere. Participants stay all together and have time to know each other and to tema building activities together like the one we organize also.
Very honoured for your positive feedback on the assistance we gave you all, I hope to see you for the 4th time!

kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini

thank you and kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding which was amazing.The rooms are lovely with a nice bathroom and a little fridge.The roads are very uneven around the place which was fine for us but not the oldies who were unsteady on their feet.The lemon garden is very pretty and nice place to have an afternoon drink.The breakfast was tasty with plenty to choose from as was the wedding dinner we went to.Thank you for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jai Jai,

thanks a million for your revue and for you postive comments on the breakfast rooms and the rooms. I know Gargonza is a little uneven but hope the oldies could go still explore all stones of the village. It is indeed a little harder for them.
I hope to see you soon and have a glass of prosecco together in the Limonaia Garden.

ciao ciao

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

There's a school of thought that says you should never go back to the places you've enjoyed, well we came here on our honeymoon 25 years ago and loved it so we thought we'd break a rule.
There are two businesses here, the restaurant and the hotel. They are 100 yards apart and stout shoes are beneficial as it is rough going between them. Totter ye not, ladies, you'll have a disaster in heels. If there's the threat of rain, take a brolly. Frankly, it's not a good place if you are unsure on your feet.
Both businesses are outstanding, with provisos. The bathroom in our delightful little suite had a low, sloping ceiling and head banging is easily possible. Everything else was fine, perhaps the bed was a little hard for my liking. Breakfast is excellent.
The food and the service at the restaurant range from very good to outstanding. Order a 700g steak on the bone between two, it's quite arrestingly good.
Now, Gargonza caters for a lot of weddings, so if you're looking for somewhere quiet and intimate, this isn't it. We knew this and were not inconvenienced at any time, in any way.
The service at the hotel is good, from the cleaners up to the owners. The pool is big and clean with lovely chairs and loungers.This is the end of the hard-headed part of the review.
If you want to know how good the hairdryers are, need air conditioning and a lift because you don't like stairs then you'll not understand this place, don't go. The location is nothing short of magical, it's a hilltop village, for Pete's sake, the entire place is the hotel. The terraces, streets and gardens are all accessible and a joy to be in. It is very, very special. We'll not leave it so long before going back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear friends,

A jubilee is a jubilee! Thank you for your Beautiful review full of emotions of coming back after 25 years. Some teachers I heard say that choosing a place to stay is like finding intimately your home, so we are very happy you find your home again after 25 years. Time is not important, 1 month, 1 year, or more. We are very happy for you that you could still find your home after long.
I regret you found maybe a little more confusion but that this didn't disrupt you too much and we appreciate the way you comment our lows: stairs, stone steps, it is exactly like this because it is our sign of history. I hope you had the good walks as well and that there where finally not too many horseflies.
I hope we can see each other again but not after 25 years!

With our warmest wishes,

Neri Guicciardini and all of us at Gargonza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Castello di Gargonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Gargonza

Address: Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monte San Savino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Gargonza is the ideal setting for those who wish a quiet retreat, far from the fast pace of the city and crowded areas, where you may enjoy the pleasure of a good book, strolls amidst nature, and small villages rich with the artistic history of the Tuscan hills, as well as the opportunity to savor the delicacies of traditional Tuscan meals and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Il Castello di Gargonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di Gargonza Hotel Monte San Savino
Il Castello Di Gargonza Italy/Monte San Savino, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Castello di Gargonza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.