We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Castello di Gargonza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Castello di Gargonza to your Saves list
Il Castello di Gargonza
Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was an Alistair Sawday recommendation and that really sums it up. Tasteful, different, charming and off the beaten track. The other reviews say 'magical' and it we cannot disagree. While it is quite a long way off the beaten track, that is what we wanted for this part of our holiday and it is perfect. Within minutes of arrival we were planning a much longer stay here in the future. Great swimming pool, lovely breakfast in the old olive press room and lots and lots of peace and quiet, views galore and smells and sights of Tuscany - perfect. The staff are lovely - kind, knowledgeable and helpful. Our rooms are fantastic although the very steep stairs up and down (think ladders) might not be great for all. The restaurant was lovely and a relief from the rubbish rip offs of the big towns. Good food and well priced in a lovely setting - perfect.

Room Tip: Take your pick - all seem lovely - ask the staff when booking what would suit you best - the whole v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    41
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
76
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We found this place very last minute but was everything that you can ask for! Great food, amazing views, and beautiful well kept estate. Highly recommend it for those looking for a quiet retreat away from Florence or Rome's busy streets and un the heart of Tuscany area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I chose to get married at Gargonza on 9th June 2012. It was the most magical 3 days of our lives. I'm almost lost for words as to how special this place is. If you are looking for something rustic and a little bit different but forsaking nothing with regards to quality then look no further.

The staff from start to finish could not do enough for us and made the whole experience stress free. As soon as we arrived in Italy for the wedding preparations, Michelle, who works at Gargonza, took us under her wing and did all the jobs I thought I would have to do and left myself and my husband to enjoy our pre wedding holiday.

All our guest commented constantly about the quality of the service and food. It was excellent. The staff, from the Management to the Waitresses are friendly and make you feel like Gargonza is your home.

My husband and I went to Venice for our Honeymoon and as lovely as it was we missed the charm, views, food and staff of Gargonza. We will be returning on many an anniversary as will most of our guests.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and different, that is part of the charm. You will not be unhappy with any choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in mid-March for our honeymoon. It was clearly the off-season as we were the only inhabitants. However, we were never made to feel in the way. On the contrary, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. The rooms are simple, but comfortable, and the view from anywhere on the hill is breathtaking. It is rustic, so not a place for someone who needs Egyptian cotton sheets and jacuzzi bathtubs, but it is absolutely magical. I was truly so sad to leave and contemplated cancelling the rest of our trip to just stay there.
The breakfasts were the best we had on our entire honeymoon (two weeks traveling through Tuscany) and the meals in the little restaurant at the bottom of the hill were delectable. Service for both was outstanding. We couldn't recommend this little gem more highly. We are already saving up for a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

I hope that says it all. Gargonza is great value for money and I never fail to stay here once or twice a year. It is Tuscany. Yes, it has minor irritations, such as wonderful log fires instead of dreadful TV. Food is plentiful, even too much, but excellent for the prices. Romantic too

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend as part of a friends wedding. There was about 80 in the party. Have a very enjoyable weekend. The setting is amazing. Staff very friendly and the food was very good. Most of the accomodation consists of converted old vilage houses so me and my partner had our own small two story house. The views out our second floor bedroom over the Tuscan hills were second to none.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Gargonza is literally an old village enclosed in a castle wall. It is secluded, and a 10 minute drive from the nearest sizeable town.

The location is beautiful, and very atmospheric. The staff at reception were very friendly, helping us with local directions etc.

The common areas are very nice, with a small walled-in garden and a sitting area with free wifi access. Plus, with access to the whole village, there are plenty of beautiful places to sit.

The biggest disappointment was the room. Although it had multiple rooms and a modern bathroom, the rooms were dark and looked as though they had the original decorations from the renovations in the 70s. It's a fine line between "character" and "gloomy"!

Breakfast was good, with a decent selection of food.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which was very pleasant. We also ate at the Osteria Cacciatore (a few minutes form the hotel on the main road) which was an excellent "locals" restaurant, and where we were made to feel very welcome, and the food was good.

Gargonza is well worth a stay for the atmosphere, but don't expect the rooms to match the beauty of the castle itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Castello di Gargonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Gargonza

Address: Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monte San Savino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Gargonza is the ideal setting for those who wish a quiet retreat, far from the fast pace of the city and crowded areas, where you may enjoy the pleasure of a good book, strolls amidst nature, and small villages rich with the artistic history of the Tuscan hills, as well as the opportunity to savor the delicacies of traditional Tuscan meals and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Castello di Gargonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di Gargonza Hotel Monte San Savino
Il Castello Di Gargonza Italy/Monte San Savino, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Castello di Gargonza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.