We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar da Ponte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Solar da Ponte to your Saves list
Solar da Ponte
Praca das Merces s/n0 | Centro histórico, Tiradentes, State of Minas Gerais 36325-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tiradentes
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we were happy from the moment we arrived (although we landed at the airport in a rainstorm and there were NO taxis-- highly recommend making solid arrangements for hotel transfer ahead of time) we don't speak portuguese and nobody spoke english on the night reception but it all worked out with smiles. the room was lovely. the breakfast delicious and the setting can't be beat. tiradentes i one of my favorite places ever visited. you won't be disappointed for the effort. we enjoyed the hotel and tiradentes far more than ouro preto.

Room Tip: they must all be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newyork
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I am glad we stayed there if only because John helped us solve our car rental issue (our car was leaking and we had to change it but Hertz Brasil on the phone is in portuguese ONLY. So he helped us tremendously.
The hotel is still a construction site and we didn't know about it either, so we couldn't use the pool, and the 2nd floor is a war zone.
BUT the location is great, you can walk to many restaurants, stores and the main square. The staff is really very helpful even if their English is quite limited.
I like the 5 o'clock tea tradition with cakes...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This historic building is beautifully maintained; is in a great location and is truly to be recommended. The late afternoon tea is particularly lovely. We stayed on the third floor, in a two bedroom suite, which has a single bathroom. One bedroom has a queen size bed; the second bedroom has three single beds, perfect for young children. As our children are 8 and 10 (both boys), the accommodations were perfect for us. If I were a couple without children, I would have preferred one of the lower floor rooms. We saw one; and they are beautiful.

The proprietary "John", a native of London who married a local girl and moved to Tiradentes 40 years ago, was a pleasure to speak to and very helpful. He does not, however, currently manage the property. That has been outsourced to his stepson.

Now, for the "quirks": We arrived and the pool house was being demolished (to be replaced...I'm sure into something wonderful) and the second floor was under construction (brick walls were being removed). We were not told this in advance, so you can imagine our disappointment at not at least being told in advance that this would be occurring during our stay. (given that almost no one, other than John, can speak English, this should not be too surprising). But for John's intervention, we would not have been permitted to use the pool at all (which would have been a great disappointment for the boys). The construction certainly diminished what would otherwise have been a fully five star experience. We hesitated, but then complained to the "step son" who is managing the property. To be frank, he was not particularly friendly. That being said, he offered to pay for an alternative hotel. When we were not enthusiastic about moving, he told us that he would not charge us for our three night stay (not bad, considering that our rate was over 800 Reais per night). So, we decided to ignore that less than friendly demeanor and accept the very gracious offer. If you are planning to come to this hotel in the next month or two, you should inquire as to the status of construction in order to avoid any disappointment.

My only other complaint was that there really is no restaurant in the hotel, other than the breakfast and the lovely tea. There's a wonderful bar area, but they kept it closed. I think that this is because we were entering the low season. That being said, they did offer us beer or red wine only. And finally, there are so many wonderful restaurants in this town. No real need to eat at "the inn."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently spent two days with two well-travelled friends from New York at the Solar da Ponte and all agreed that it is among the best of hotel experiences. The house is exquisitely designed and maintained, the rooms extremely comfortable, the hosts (John, Ted and Ana Maria) are fantastically hospital, the breakfast and afternoon tea scrumptious. Tiradentes is a lovely colonial town with splendid churches, good restaurants and lots of souvenirs. The Solar is a fantastic respite and the place to stay in Tiradentes!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are less expensive and very comfortable. A two-bedroom suite with shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the moment you check in you your comfort and pleasure are secure.
However cruising traffic noise and town music is a problem and permeates the property, perhaps why the owners moved to another location. The charming English man who started all this forty years ago was often around to help and advise us and we greatly enjoyed talking with him.
Our four poster ground floor room was excellent , with large shower.
The lounge areas marvellous , so to the huge breakfast/afternoon tea room on the first floor.
Breakfast was excellent, afternoon tea a very Brazilian version and always the same, but with charming service.
The garden is simply fabulous and the pool looked good with inviting seating options.
Some fun bird watching high in the trees.
If only, if only, the traffic and town noise could be turned down.
We thought restaurants/bars rather poor in town. (The Solar had lost its barman, otherwise we may never have stepped outside!)
One evening we enjoyed an excellent organ recital in one of the Baroque churches, never to forget.
A rare stay, total value and pleasure.
Make haste to visit before the creator and his wife decide to retire.

Room Tip: I don't think you need worry, however external noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As other reports mention the owners are an Englishman and his Brazilian wife who have owned and developed this small hotel for 40 years. In design it is very comfortable and provides several large comfortable lounges and even a small bar which was not open when we were there but drinks are available. The public areas display a wealth of local artisanal and antique furniture blended in with beautiful works of art. These lounges and nooks and crannies look onto the most lush and attractive tropical garden in which birds sing merrily and even marmosets can be seen pinching the mangoes from the trees.
Breakfast is excellent with delicious fresh orange juice, fine coffee, and a selection of fresh and sliced fruits along with cereals. Eggs are cooked to order and to perfection. The bakery selection is good. At about 5 pm a form of afternoon tea is served and is included in the room rate.
The room was huge and comfortable with a large comfy 4 poster bed and even a day bed and chair and table. Large powerful shower in the en suite and good quality shampoo etc..
In the garden is a fine pool and sauna and wee gym.
It was a wonderful relaxing stay and our best in Brazil. And the English owner a great help with advice and stories. Some of his staff have just enough English and good local info is handed out at the beginning.

Room Tip: Almost impossible to get away from street noise but room XIV was large and comfortable and looked on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Solar da Ponte is the place to stay when in Tiradentes. It’s right on the outskirts of the small historical city, has pleasant rooms, an incredible garden, stunning decoration and beautiful furniture in common spaces. Plus, great afternoon tea and an excellent breakfast.
The only problem, I think, is John Parsons, the English gentleman who has been the owner of this this beautiful place for almost 40 years and without whom this little jewel would not exist. Staff speak only Portuguese. Mr. Parsons never taught his staff the few English words that can make a difference in communication if your Portuguese is minimal. Mr. Parsons himself has some difficulty with the English word “sorry”. The morning my husband and I were there (beginning of October) breakfast room was still closed some 15 minutes after it should have been open. When it was opened at our insistence, we were a bit surprised to see our English gentleman already sitting at a table, having breakfast with 4 British journalists. On the way out of Solar da Ponte we had a chance to meet him. He asked if everything had been allright with our stay. We said yes, aside from wi-fi, which had not worked for our full stay. He looked surprised, and said it was strange. We insisted that the problem was still with them that morning if he wanted to check. He mumbled something like “maybe we are having a general problem with Internet” and that was it. “Sorry for the inconvenience” was not added.
Aside from that, as I said, a perfect place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar da Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar da Ponte

Address: Praca das Merces s/n0 | Centro histórico, Tiradentes, State of Minas Gerais 36325-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Tiradentes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tiradentes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solar da Ponte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Da Ponte Tiradentes, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar da Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.