We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Night Sleep in 6 Months Travelling in South East Asia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hung Vuong Hotel

Hung Vuong Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hung Vuong Hotel to your Saves list
Hung Vuong Hotel
166 Hung Vuong, Phuong 3-TX, Ben Tre, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ben Tre
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Night Sleep in 6 Months Travelling in South East Asia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night- and for the most part he hotel was fine. The room was large and had a river view. It had good (if not a little dated) facilities (fridge, wifi, T.V, lots of power points) and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

I do have the following complaints however: the room we were in was very noisy and we were woken up several times late at night. The first time when a neighbours T.V was up so loud that it woke us up at around midnight. Fortunately, this interruption ceased, only to be replaced by the T.V of the security guard downstairs. I ended up going down to turn the T.V off at 2am, as the guard had fallen asleep. Next we were woken with somebody knocking and attempting to access our room, probably mistaking it for their own. Once we explained it was not their room, they left.

In addition, we had a number of Mosquitos in our room. It would be helpful if it was sprayed for bugs, or there was some kind of mosquito net provided.

The room was generally clean, although the rubbish bins were not emptied and contained a number of smelly cigarette stubs.

We ate at the restaurant and while the food was fine, the staff were abrupt to the point of rudeness.

Considering this hotel is one of the more expensive we have stayed in while travelling, and one of the worst; I would recommend that you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We arrived here after a bruising bus ride from Ha Tien and stayed a couple of nights over Tet. The hotel is good. Clean, good value, our spacious room had lovely views across the river. The difficulty was with us. We had just crossed from Cambodia, had no idea what we were doing, where we could eat and my husband wasnt well. No one at the hotel could speak English and our Vietnamese isnt up to much. So you get the idea of where we were on the roller coaster of emotion that is travelling! Now we understand the Vietnamese way of doing things more we would probably have stayed longer. So yes, a good place to stay in Ben Tre. In the end we moved to the Oasis, whcih was better for us at the time.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Location was good. Not much to do in town except get on the river. A big room but the shower was a trickle. Quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel, and enjoyed it thoroughly. We showed up without a reservation and had no problem getting a clean room with ensuite bathroom for 370,000 VND. We enjoyed a fun evening eating and drinking at the hotel's own outdoor bar amidst many locals. The staff helped us arrange a bus to Saigon the following day with no hassle.

All you could ask for in Ben Tre, in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Ben tre is pretty quiet- the hotel is in a nice position on the riverside.

We arrives without a reservation and were shown a choice of two rooms- the most expensive (approx. 500000d- £17, and the cheaper 400000d- £14 with breakfast; we went for cheaper since it had a good view of the river & the boats passing.

The room was spacious with a mini bar and cable tv. Bathroom had seen better days and I did avoid washing my hair! But what can you expect for the price!

Breakfast ok, staff were helpful in arranging onward travel (though I think the price is made up since on the night we were told one price and in the morning another member if staff gave a cheaper price- which we took!)

We didn't eat in the restaurant for tea but followed the guide book to the floating restaurant- avoid! Expensive and rubbish with very moody staff!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I haven´t stayed in this hotel, only in their lobby. We had some problems in Ben Tre finding accommodation as everything seemed to be booked. We arrived at this hotel late in the evening and the receptionist turned out to be very helpful making up some calls in different hotels and arranging a night in another hotel which turned to be the best hotel we stayed in Vietnam.

We would like to thank this receptionist for all his help.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hung Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hung Vuong Hotel

Address: 166 Hung Vuong, Phuong 3-TX, Ben Tre, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Ben Tre Province > Ben Tre
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ben Tre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hung Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hung Vuong Hotel Ben Tre, Vietnam - Mekong Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hung Vuong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.