We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & well maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Save Saved
You added Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean & well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a large well operated park with many big powered sites. Unlike many parks the owners don't believe in jamming you in next to your neighbours. There are plenty of trees, a lot of space and well watered grass alleviating the problem of dust and dirt. The neat driveway and clipped hedges are a happy indication of the type of park it is.

Like most caravan parks the amenities blocks need overhauling and updating but they were clean being the most important thing in my book.

The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a large pool and spa and a bar and bistro on site.

Altogether we enjoyed our two nights at this caravan park. If it had been closer to Yellow Waters we would have preferred to spend all four of our nights at this caravan park rather two nights at Gagudju Caravan Park which was grim and two nights at Kakadu Lodge Caravan Park.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Kakadu is a magical place and kakadu lodge is perfectly located in jabiru for a short break. Easy drive to Ubirr and Cooinda (yellow water billabong) & around 3 hrs from Darwin. Great park with plenty of space & shade. Excellent for caravans. Cabins are very basic - our studio barely met requirements. But if you are only needing a bed, fridge & aircon it is ok. Rooms could do with an update. Pool with bar & bistro was fantastic with great variety of food & beverages at very reasonable prices. Service was excellent and made for very enjoyable evenings. We would certainly stay again so long as it was with our van. I think our cabin was over priced for what it was.

Room Tip: Come with your own caravan the park is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are currently in this park. Beautiful green grass, Dan on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Booked our tour for us and we also extended after only 1 hour of arrival. Amenities clean, pool/bar/bistro area well maintained. Had the best nights sleep too. Well priced for peak at $43 pn for 2 adults on powered site. Slide shows with Ranger commentary are held nightly near pool-very informative. Would highly recommend this Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family stayed in the unpowered tent area for two nights. Very happy with the price. The pool was great and the camp kitchen was clean and well equipped. We have stayed here before in the cabins which was quite expensive. Much happier as a tent dweller! Would come again . Bar by the pool was good too!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having left darwin after staying in the worst park ever,what a pleasant surprise this park is,front staff wonderful,large grassed sites,what a pool area and the bistro is just great,have extended two days would have no hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmklodge, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. All of our staff were overjoyed with your positive comments. We are all happy that we were able to compensate for your less that ideal experience in Darwin. We hope that the rest of your travels are filled with positive memories and look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and found this place to be just what we needed. It is huge, but yet so quiet at the same time. We were welcomed at reception by Sue who just beams as you walk through. She was so helpful with the do's & don't do's, booking tours for us as well. There are almost 200 powered sites and loads of non power too. They don't take bookings and I was nervous about this considering we were in school holidays but when you arrive you choose your own site....awesome!! There's many shady sites all with close amenities.
The bistro had beautiful food and well priced too. Pool area was big and lush green and the water was definitely refreshing! What a great place this is

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmklodge, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We value all feedback.
Sue was over the moon that you provided positive comments on her customer service. She is a valued member of our team who all will go the extra mile for our guests. Our chefs also gain inspiration from you positive comments. Thanks for saying it is a great place. We also reckon our place is great.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Long day of travel ending in an oasis in Jabiru. Had a family cabin with queen, bunks and trundle so perfect for us 2 adults and 3 kids. Everything you needed was in the cabin but we wandered over to the bistro for a meal which was tasty, excellent value and served around the pool in what was just a fabulous tranquil and green area. Very relaxing and great end to a day in a magnificent part of the world. Bit expensive but not by much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmklodge, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our bistro staff were happy with your positive comments in relation to your food and our pool area.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
also 286 caravan and camping sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.