We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff a wealth of local knowledge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Save Saved
You added Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff a wealth of local knowledge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were an excellent source of information to assist with choosing and booking tours suitable for families around Kakadu. We ended up on the Animal Tracks Safari.
The kids loved the large pool. There is a great pool side area for relaxing. Our cabin was basic but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. A lot of effort is put into ensuring staff are trained on our wonderful region. They personally experience all of the tours available and provide feedback to the operators to help to enhance the visitor experience to our valued guests.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent food!! We ate here quite regularly during our stay in Jabiru. Thanks to Donna (reception) and Alice (restaurant/bar) for making it a memorable experience. This place does the best curries outside of India and they don't mind adding a bit of heat upon request.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Donna was pleased to read your positive feedback. We will make Alice aware of you positive comments when she returns from holidays in a couple of months.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin for AUD 200 per night which seems a bit excessive but there are very limited options for accommodation in Kakadu. The cabin was a good size but the bathroom was very small and the sink tiny, so difficult for brushing teeth and washing face. The airconditioner was rattly but since the cabin is concrete and really heats up we had to use the fans and airconditioning. the bedroom is also very small and hardly any space to walk around the bed to the other side. It would be a good idea for the owners to redesign the space and make the living area a bit smaller and increase the seize of bed- and bathroom.
Kakadu Lodge is a good option for a short stay to explore the region, also has a pool and nice bistro with good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We hope you enjoyed visiting all of the attractions that Kakadu has to offer. We are a little confused on your accommodation comments as we do not have any ensuite cabins that are built from concrete.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The lodge is fairly basic - our room (a cabin) with a double bed and two bunk beds was tiny and the bathroom even tinier - but this is probably the best situated place for exploding the region. There aren't many options in Jabiru, so don't expect something inexpensive, but the huge pool, the good and busy cafe, the access to a self-service laundry, the proximity to Kakadu bakery, are all pluses. The staff is friendly in a laid back sort of way and the large number of families makes this particularly kid friendly. Bottom line - reasonably good accommodation, perfectly located. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us. We trust that you enjoyed the wonders that Kakadu has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our cabin was huge. Loved having a kitchen to use. The café there was surprisingly good. Had 2 meals there and enough leftovers to eat a supper in our room. A little hike from town so bring water. Made our stay between tours very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed the food from our poolside bar.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels through Kakadu National Park.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park during the recent trip to Kakadu Park. It's the only budget option in Jabiru with cabins with shared facilities for AUD 90 per night. Jabiru is conveniently located only 30m-1h drive to main Kakadu Park attractions in all directions hence it's the best overnight stop location.
Kakadu Lodge has a bar and restaurant on premises (we have not used them and opted for the local Sports and Social Club instead), good sized pool (the morning swim was great!), clean simple cabins and shared bathroom facilities (not too bad, but toilets could be slightly cleaner). One can't avoid cockroaches being in the middle of the nature - but we spotted only two on the Caravan Park Premises (bathroom and outside).
all in all satisfactory stay, great value and perfect location.

Room Tip: Cabins with shared bathrooms are a good budget option for AUD 90/per cabin per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were amused that you actually counted all of the cockroaches on our 10 hectare property. We were only aware of one cockroach and he can be cheeky. We have tried to train him to stay outside but even he needs to go to the bathroom occasionally.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge.
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in one of the cabins on site. Compact but comfortable. It is self contained however, I ate a the restaurant which, was nice and relaxing beside the pool. Quite convenient place to stay when visiting Kakadu National Park. Although reasonably high in price, it isn't as high as the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
also 286 caravan and camping sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.